Stayed a week with our family recently in their Grand rooms, essentially 2 WOW's interconnecting.
Lets start off by saying this hotel hasn't long been open, Nov 2011 I believe and they are certainly trying their best, but they are not quite there yet. The good news is there are some fantastic deals to be had, we saved 40% off the published rate on their website, so value for money we cannot fault it.
However, it is not quite the 5 star resort they are trying to establish. Will they get there .... not sure .....
There are lots of friendly staff around as other people have commented, but they don't actually do a lot apart from smile and talk to each other. If you speak to Robert (Manager) then things happen.
As mentioned we were staying in what they describe as their family suite, yet there was not a bath, not ideal for small children.
We then had a problem with both of our showers which we discovered on arrival, yet it took 4 days for this to be resolved despite the engineer coming out daily and only then after speaking to Robert.
Another irritant with the family room is you get this nice big balcony but there is a divider in the middle, so you cannot make the full use of it. Not sure if this is only on the lower floor rooms as we did notice some other rooms which did not have this divider across the balcony.
The hotel advertise coffee machines in the room, but they fail to advertise that they charge you 80 baht (£1.60 ish) per coffee you make yourself.
The infinity pool is great, big with fantastic views, however the sun terrace is only on one side of the pool meaning there is limited space for sunbeds. To counter this they have opened up a roof terrace, away from the pool, but with kids, you want to be near the water. Additionally they have put as many sunbeds as possible on the pools sun terrace, but there is literally no space between them and you have to climb over beds to access the pool, or walk to the end by the toilets. The beds are quite big and heavy, meaning they are not easy to move and hence we do not think the sun terrace was cleaned during our weeks stay. The main walkway got washed down with the rain, but around the beds and parasols there was a build up of hair and grime.
The restaurant is OK, breakfast is good with yummy pancakes, the lunch / dinner menu has pizzas plus traditional thai food but is quite expensive, even by Thai hotel standards, charging more than top restaurants / hotels down near Bophut. With only 1 restaurant and the same menu for both lunch and dinner, the food does get a bit repetitive, however the hotel is opening up 2 new restaurants in the near future, so hopefully this will address some of the issue.
The hotel is rather isolated on top of a steep hill, which is nice to get away from it all, but do not think you can walk it, for most people you cannot. The hotel does have shuttle buses to Fishermans villages (nice) and Chewang (avoid), but does leave you restricted to the times of the buses or at the mercy of the expensive taxis. In fairness to Mantra, they do lay on extra buses when demand dictates, like for the street market on a Friday night, but it would have been nice if the hotel had told us about this market rather than having to rely on another hotel telling us during lunch one day!
There is a small kids club, which Mantra are happy to staff during the day and my children enjoyed the 2 hours they spent in the club, wanting to go back for more.
Overall it was a pleasant weeks holiday and very good value for money. If I was paying full price I think I would prefer to stay at one of the resorts on the beach in Bophut for the same price.
All rooms face the sea and have amazing views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16 April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
I would like to thank you for your review!
It is good to read that you have found Mantra to provide Great Value, I could not agree more!
I take pride in the fact that even as a five star hotel - that uses exceptionally high quality poducts - we manage to provide very reasonable prices, about 30% better than our competitors.
I am sorry to read that you have missed the bathroom from you GRAND Family Suite but we clearly state on our website that the room comes with a rainforrest shower.
Until now we have had many happy Families - famillies with older children, families with babies, families with older children and babies and even 3 generation families - staying in our GRAND Family Suites and they have never complained for the lack of bathtub - and we are happy to provide baby tubs for little children on request.
It is good to read that overall you found your holiday at Mantra to be pleasant and I hope you will be back to us again, perhaps in a COZY Suite where we have a huge bathtub. Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC