Tours and Tickets

1 Hour Bow River Ride

By Banff Trail Riders
Enjoy a fun introduction to horseback riding during this excursion through the Banff National Park. Led by a cowboy guide, ride beside the Bow River or Spray River and past natural springs. Experience the beauty and grandeur of this mountainous area while resting your feet and letting the horse do the work. Ideal for first-time riders, as basic riding instruction will be given.
from
S$95.38
per adult
from
S$95.38
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 8-99, max of 12 per group
Duration:1h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
English

Highlights
  • Includes use of safety helmets
  • Learn about the history of Banff from your guide
  • Cover more ground than you would hiking
  • A family-friendly excursion that's ideal for beginners

  • Lead and tail guides
  • Use of horse
  • Helmet (mandatory)
  • Basic horseback riding instruction
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drink
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off


Departure details
  • Banff Trail Riders - Stables, 100 Sundance Rd, Banff, AB T1L 1B9, Canada The meeting point for the Bow River Ride is at Warner Stables, the big red stables located on Sundance Road in Banff.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 12217RIDE

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • All riders must arrive 30 minutes prior to their ride time.
  • Guests participating in horseback riding will need to be 8 years or over and a maximum of 230lbs. Banff Trail Riders is committed to the health of our horses and the safety of our guests, which means that the minimum age and maximum weight requirements are strictly enforced. As part of the check-in process, guests may be required to confirm their current weight on a scale and provide proof of the child’s age. In the event that these requirements are not met, the booking will be forfeited without a refund.
  • Please note that children will not be paired with an adult – they must ride their own horse.
  • For our foreign visitors we require an understanding of basic English for our horseback rides, so that you can understand simple instructions from our guides.
  • Children aged 17 years and under must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
  • For safety purposes helmets are mandatory to be worn by all riders.
  • Riders must wear long pants and sturdy closed toed shoes enclosed to the ankle - no open toe shoes or shoes with big heels.
  • Adults must sign a waiver for all activities, and a waiver must also be completed by the parent or legal guardian of any person under the age of 18 (documentation may be required to confirm the signatory’s authority).
  • Riders must be physically capable of controlling the horse during the ride without assistance and for the health and safety of all riders we regrettably cannot accommodate any disabilities or special needs riders. We recognize that disabled riding is a unique and respected skill set that we at the barns do not have the appropriate equipment or skills to safely execute.
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

How much is 1 Hour Bow River Ride?
1 Hour Bow River Ride price starts from S$96.55. Discover and book 1 Hour Bow River Ride on Tripadvisor
What is the 1 Hour Bow River Ride cancellation policy?
1 Hour Bow River Ride cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book 1 Hour Bow River Ride on Tripadvisor
Which company provides 1 Hour Bow River Ride?
1 Hour Bow River Ride is hosted by Banff Trail Riders. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Banff Trail Riders on Tripadvisor. Discover and book 1 Hour Bow River Ride on Tripadvisor
How much time do I need for 1 Hour Bow River Ride?
On average, this experience will take approximately 1h. Discover and book 1 Hour Bow River Ride on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 12217RIDE

About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

jo26289494
jo26289494
00
Disappointed, lost money
I had booked a private Sleigh Ride for my 5 year wedding anniversary. We received a confirmation email the night be
hannahsmith1981
hannahsmith1981
00
Fantastic. Do it!
This horse riding experience was above and beyond! A gorgeous 1 hour trek on gentle, lovely horses was perfect for
557jeniferr
557jeniferr
00
Beautiful trail ride
The absolute best trail ride I have been on! Horses were well cared for, and well trained. The guides paid attentio
246hollyl
246hollyl
00
Didn’t feel safe and not worth the money
My friends and I booked the 2-hour Sundance Loop. We didn’t have any issues with check-in or initially with the saf
Michael T
Michael T
00
Great views & elk
My wife and I signed up for the 2 hour ride. This location is actually fairly close to the overall downtown area an
Banffmtnmama1
Banffmtnmama1
00
Celebrating a decade with a Sundance adventure
Fantastic trip into Sundance with my 10 year old. Lovely staff, great food but the quality of horses and spectacula
jmasb123
jmasb123
00
A wonderful experience in an incredible setting!
We had such fun on this ride! The staff were wonderful, our guide made the horseback ride so enjoyable. Second week
T9284IDkenb
T9284IDkenb
00
Lovely horses and great food
The horses, Drivers Oliver and Brooklyn were very sweet and knowledgeable. Be prepared for mosquitoes however
Mayrene2
Mayrene2
00
Wagon ride with dinner
Loved the wagon ride. The horse harnesses was demonstrated and explained. Was very interesting. The ride was very
280makramh
280makramh
00
Horrible Service Do Not Book, You may get a Cancellation Call 1 hour before your trip!
I had booked for my Wife's birthday a 3 hour Carriage Ride with my kids about 3 days in Avdance. I was Confirmed an
E2476KXjeanneb
E2476KXjeanneb
00
This is a beautiful horseback experience
The riding is beautiful, the horses well trained, the lodges comfortable, the food excellent. You ride about 5 mil
Tlinkletterr
Tlinkletterr
00
Perfect intro to Banff on horseback!
I’ve gone on multiple trail rides and this has to be my all time favourite! If you love horses this is an awesome i
ninafba
ninafba
00
Happy Horsemen!’
Great ride! Very small group and great horses. Megan made sure we were all safe and happy! Scenery on second part o
horsemamap
horsemamap
00
Amazing experience!
Laying in bed one night, pre-covid, I happened upon a tik tok ad. I was blown away by the photos, and instantly th
NicolaH464
NicolaH464
00
Gently waggon ride into the hills
Relaxing ride with good company and a great cook out. Perfectly cooked steak to order, watch out for the bugs!
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
124 reviews
Excellent
81
Very good
16
Average
9
Poor
5
Terrible
13

Myriam T
1 contribution
Sep 2022
My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the 1 hour Bow River Ride. It was the perfect ride for us as we are both beginners. Both our guides were amazing and they constantly made sure every rider was ok. We felt safe and completely looked after the whole time. Our horses, Timone and Dexter, were gentle and so well behaved. The views of the mountains were absolutely breathtaking and we strongly recommend this experience to anyone looking for a peaceful ride through nature. We had hoped, however, to see more wildlife during our ride, although not seeing wildlife certainly beats coming face to face with a grizzly!! Thank you Banff Trail Riders!
Written 7 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review. Our Bow river ride is a great option for families and beginners! All of our horses are well trained to provide you with the best views of Banff and we are glad you were able to experience that. Hope to see you on more rides soon!
Written 13 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vittoria W
Calgary, Canada6 contributions
Oct 2020
#horsebackbanff. We enjoyed our ride on Oct 5 and would recommend it to anyone who has this on their bucket list, especially in the fall when the leaves are turning golden color. I have never been on a horse, so this is perfect for beginners. The staff at Warner Stables was friendly, professional and followed all Covid rules. The instructions the staff gave us prior to starting our ride made me feel comfortable and confident. Our horses were well trained, obedient and friendly. Our leader was Lindsay, She was very upbeat, experienced and informative. The trail ran through a forest along side the Cave and Basin and the Bow river. Lindsay would at times point out something of interest along the way, such as the bear claws on trees.
Written 13 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Horsebackbanff
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Written 14 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Atahan Y.
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions
Aug 2020
Horse ride was fun but very slow & through a trail with not much to see.

We never stopped to take photos and they did not offer to take out photos either. You are expected to take photos as you are riding the horse. If you are with someone else, make sure to take photos of them before you leave as it can be hard to take photos when riding in a single line.

Felt like the staff was rushing us off at the end.
Written 9 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Horsebackbanff
Thanks for the review, sorry you felt rushed. For safety it is impossible to stop on the trail and take photos for guests.
Written 10 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

NY
1 contribution
Aug 2022
I wish I was writing a positive review, but we sadly our experience was far from positive. We were a group of 6 (4 adults and two children) who were really looking forward to the ride. Due to road circumstances that were out of our hands, we realized we were going to arrive later for the instructions at 4:30 PM but before the ride started at 5 PM. We called at 4:07 PM to let them know we were running late. The person who picked up the phone told us we should go to the stables anyway but we may or may not get on the ride. Fair. So we rushed, hoping for the "may get on the ride" since we had already filled our waivers in advance and since most of us were already horse riders that we could get an abridged version of the instructions and be able to catch up. We arrived about 8 minutes ahead of the ride to be told that we would not get on the ride because we couldn't make 4:30. They told us we that the person we talked to worked for reservations not for the stables and they're not responsible for what they told us. This was surprising since it would make sense that reservations would call the stables (as outlined in several reviews here). We asked for options, they told us the following ride was sold-out, and that the next day was sold out. We argued that when we called to tell them that we wouldn't be able to make 4:30 PM that we weren't told that it's impossible to get on if we weren't exactly on time, we weren't given alternative options or dates. Essentially, you missed it, tough luck! Had we been told that we simply won't be on the ride, at least we would have made alternative plans or visited different spots instead of wasting our time rushing on the highway to be met with such a cold attitude. I'm surprised to read that others were offered different ride types or rebooking at 50% of the cost because we were offered none of that. The next day, the manager calls us back at 2 PM, we told her we couldn't talk since we were just getting into the water for rafting. We returned their call the next day to be told that their policy was 24 hours to deal with a complaint, and that our file was closed, and when we asked them to be more flexible, we were told "we're just not flexible". Translation: Go bang your head against a wall. This 24 hour/complaint policy was never mentioned even once since we expressed our dismay to 5 different individuals. We're deeply disappointed by this poor level of customer service, and certainly would not recommend booking with this company. Their rides could be decent, but customer service makes or breaks an experience, especially when you're traveling, especially when you have children with you, especially when you have out-of-province visitors, and for many other reasons. If there's any chance of you arriving late at the stables for ANY reason, may as well just light your money on fire, it's the same result. Also, no, BTR, when you miss a flight, airlines offer alternatives, so please don't use that as justification for lazy customer service. I hope you use this review to improve your customer service in the future. Thanks.
Written 31 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review. I have spoken to barns and the reservations team in regards to your booking. We have a 24 cancellation policy. We cannot change, rebook or cancel tours within 24 hours of the tour time for a refund. This is stated on the website, the booking confirmation, and must be checked off when creating the booking. We do not have a complaint policy. We are strict with arriving early as that is when we would go through safety instructions. We cannot let riders on without going through a safety demonstration. When you called us about being late, we mentioned that going on the ride may not be possible. This was stated several times during the phone call. Our rides are booked out almost daily so re-booking is not an option. In previous years, we used to offer alternatives for late arrivals but the policy has since changed. I are sorry to hear about your experience and will remind our customer service team to be more empathetic.
Written 1 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TravelerGuro101
1 contribution
This place is a scam. They do not inform you that you must arrive 30 minutes prior and if you are 1-5 mins late due to phone time or loss of service or simply a wrong turn, they will not allow you to ride or accommodate rescheduling. They will charge you the full amount. Their prices are expensive to begin with. If you want to reschedule you have to pay all over again for being 2 minutes late. This is ridiculous. The costumer service is outrageous. They are incredibly rude and act as if they hate their job. I also found them to be a tad racist. Do not go here!! If you plan to book call them over the phone and make sure to ask them ALL the information as they will hide it from you so they get free money and less work to do. Disgusting.
Written 20 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Horsebackbanff
Im sorry but from our side we tell every customer multiple times when to turn up for their ride. It is just not possible to load people who are late as it disrupts everyone else who turns up on time for the rest of the day. We can accommodate people if we have space. If we do not have space we can not reschedule. I also am offended that you can make the judgement that our staff hate their jobs. We have lots of long term staff who would leave if they truly hate their jobs. Also to call them racist is just slanderous. Please read all of our review, for the customers who turn up on time they have an amazing experience.
Written 21 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dreamersball
Orange County157 contributions
We took this tour (1 hour bow trail) with our 2 kids ages 8 and 11 and to be honest, I think we should have tried the spray river trail. While our guides were fine and the horses behaved, the trail itself was not the greatest. It went through a forest trail near the basin that was very muddy, had few views of the river or mountains, and was full of flying bugs. (Bring bug spray as they recommended). My husband got bit through his jeans! The last bit of the trail was better, had some views of the river and mountains. It wasn’t bad but I think being in such a beautiful area, there are probably better trails to ride.
Written 4 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on the 1 hour Bow River Ride. Banff did experience extremely high rainfall levels some weeks ago, and as a result, the trail was muddier than usual at this time of year. We even had to cancel the Spray River Ride for over a week due to the high river levels. Please note that no matter the time of year, we do recommend for all riders to use bug spray, and include this in several pre-ride emails to all guests to make sure they are aware of this before their ride. The Bow River Ride is our most popular ride, but we do also offer longer rides that take you further from town, or several rides with river crossings that may be a good option next time now that the river levels have subsided.
Written 14 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cecelia R
Belfast, UK11 contributions
Sep 2022 • Couples
We had a great ride today.😃 I had never been on a horse before and the team really put me at ease. The trail was lovely with some beautiful views of Bow River and the mountains. The beautiful sunshine made for a perfect ride. A big thank you to all the team and especially to Blue who was the perfect horse for me. I would highly recommend this ride - especially if you have never been on a horse before.
Written 28 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Cheryle F
7 contributions
Aug 2020 • Solo
Riding astride a beautiful roan who responded with immediacy to my gentle moves, we moved along a well traveled trail along the Bow, amidst trees, green & lush with foliage. Care was stressed for our safety by knowledgeable guides. It touched my heart to hear our rides were all rescue horses. I hope I left a kind imprint upon Boundary for he certainly made my day & trip to Banff worthwhile. 😊 I was informed guides wern't taking pictures due to covid, however a friendly Corider stepped up & helped to create an account of the memory. If you have the opportunity, I would highly recommend. Thank you very much Banff Trail Riders.
Written 1 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Horsebackbanff
Your very welcome. We are so pleased you enjoyed your ride. Thank you for the review.
Written 9 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kelly P
1 contribution
Jun 2022 • Couples
My partner and I visited this awesome horse riding stables in Banff!
It was my first time riding a horse and the ladies there were so good with explaining things. Making sure I was okay, comfortable and kept reassuring me while they set me up on the horse.
They kept everyone safe during the whole hour.
The horses were all well behaved but some of the riders weren’t listening at all which confused the horses but the chaperones were quick to help.
I rode on Eli and it was so special! I felt a bond! He was so patient, gentle and calm with me. I kept talking to him and stroking him which I think he liked a lot.
My horse liked to be at the back of the pack which was great. I had a Australian chaperone behind me and she was full of knowledge and interesting facts about horses.
The views were stunning, breathtaking and so peaceful.
My partners horse was Ace and he was pretty cool too! Very beautiful and wasn’t afraid to pose for the camera.
Horses looked healthy and they rest after each trip they go on.
Wear mosquito spray and sensible shoes.

Best experience ever!! Highly recommend!!
If never rode a horse do the hour but I can guarantee you will want to do more.
We will return again soon!
Thank you! Give a kiss to Eli from me! 😘
Written 26 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the day with us and had a wonderful time with our Horse, "Eli" - I'll be sure to pass a message along to the team about this review! We cannot wait to see you back again soon. Cheers!
Written 3 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rose D
Carnforth, UK19 contributions
Oct 2019
Really enjoyed this one hour trail ride. It was wonderful to ride through the fresh snow and to see the mountains and other scenery. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was easy to book. They are strict about your arrival time 30 minutes prior to the start of the ride, as it takes awhile to get everyone geared and mounted, so make sure you heed the warnings. Overall would highly recommend for a memorable experience in the Rockies.
Written 7 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Horsebackbanff
Thank you for taking the time to review your ride. Were glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Written 10 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 115

1 Hour Bow River Ride provided by Banff Trail Riders | Banff, Canada