Tours and Tickets
Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout
4

Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout

By Banff Trail Riders
Experience Banff like the early pioneers did, on this fun trip alongside the Bow River. Travel on horseback or by covered wagon, and be amazed by the beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains. Enjoy a delicious BBQ meal consisting of steak, salad, potatoes and more. Practice your cowboy skills and have fun with your friends or family on this memorable excursion.
from
S$144.98
per adult
from
S$144.98
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 56 per group
Duration:3h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
English

Highlights
  • Horseback riders will be given basic instruction and helmets (and must be at least 8 years old)
  • Dinner and drinks will be provided
  • Experience the wild nature of the Banff National Park
  • A fun, family-friendly activity that everyone will enjoy

  • A 2-hour wagon or horseback ride in Banff National Park (depending on which option you book)
  • Food and drinks
  • Use of horseback-riding equipment
  • Helmets (mandatory for riders)
  • Basic horseback instruction for riders
  • Dinner
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities


Departure details
  • Banff Trail Riders - Stables, 100 Sundance Rd, Banff, AB T1L 1B9, Canada Warner Stables is the big red stables located at the end of Sundance Road in Banff. When you arrive, please check-in for your ride at the office in the east barn which has signs for ‘Warner Stables’ and ‘office’. The stables are located approximately a five minute drive or a 20 minute walk from downtown Banff, and there is plenty of free parking at the site.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 12217P14

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • All guests must arrive 30 minutes prior to their ride time.
  • Guests participating in horseback riding will need to be 8 years or over and a maximum of 230lbs. Banff Trail Riders is committed to the health of our horses and the safety of our guests, which means that the minimum age and maximum weight requirements are strictly enforced. As part of the check-in process, guests may be required to confirm their current weight on a scale and provide proof of the child’s age. In the event that these requirements are not met, the booking will be forfeited without a refund.
  • Please note that children will not be paired with an adult – they must ride their own horse.
  • For our foreign visitors we require an understanding of basic English for our horseback rides, so that you can understand simple instructions from our guides.
  • Children aged 17 years and under must be accompained by a parent or guardian.
  • For safety purposes helmets are mandatory to be worn by all riders.
  • Riders must wear long pants and sturdy closed toed shoes enclosed to the ankle - no open toe shoes or shoes with big heels.
  • Adults must sign a waiver for all activities, and a waiver must also be completed by the parent or legal guardian of any person under the age of 18 (documentation may be required to confirm the signatory’s authority).
  • Riders must be physically capable of controlling the horse during the ride without assistance and for the health and safety of all riders we regrettably cannot accommodate any disabilities or special needs riders. We recognize that disabled riding is a unique and respected skill set that we at the barns do not have the appropriate equipment or skills to safely execute.
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Guests will NOT be able to change their reservation from Wagon to Horseback on the day of the trip. Please make sure you have booked the correct product prior to arriving onsite for the cookout.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 56 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Which attractions will I visit with Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout?
How much is Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout?
Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout price starts from S$139.20. Discover and book Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout on Tripadvisor
What is the Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout cancellation policy?
Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout?
Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout is hosted by Banff Trail Riders. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Banff Trail Riders on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 12217P14

About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

jo26289494
jo26289494
00
Disappointed, lost money
I had booked a private Sleigh Ride for my 5 year wedding anniversary. We received a confirmation email the night be
hannahsmith1981
hannahsmith1981
00
Fantastic. Do it!
This horse riding experience was above and beyond! A gorgeous 1 hour trek on gentle, lovely horses was perfect for
Griggs27
Griggs27
00
Relaxing walk
The horses are all lovely and the scenery is beautiful. Very much for beginners. Just a very gentle plod round a lo
557jeniferr
557jeniferr
00
Beautiful trail ride
The absolute best trail ride I have been on! Horses were well cared for, and well trained. The guides paid attentio
246hollyl
246hollyl
00
Didn’t feel safe and not worth the money
My friends and I booked the 2-hour Sundance Loop. We didn’t have any issues with check-in or initially with the saf
Cecelia R
Cecelia R
00
Fantastic experience
We had a great ride today.😃 I had never been on a horse before and the team really put me at ease. The trail was l
edwardfT9056IF
edwardfT9056IF
00
Great views and a great experience!
First time horseback riding and it was such a great experience. The views were stunning and guides were so friendly
Michael T
Michael T
00
Great views & elk
My wife and I signed up for the 2 hour ride. This location is actually fairly close to the overall downtown area an
Banffmtnmama1
Banffmtnmama1
00
Celebrating a decade with a Sundance adventure
Fantastic trip into Sundance with my 10 year old. Lovely staff, great food but the quality of horses and spectacula
tomr753
tomr753
00
A great ride and efficient friendly staff
A great way to see the wonderful scenery. The cowgirls were attentive, friendly and kept a close watch on our grou
312myriamt
312myriamt
00
A most pleasant experience!
My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the 1 hour Bow River Ride. It was the perfect ride for us as we are both begin
E2476KXjeanneb
E2476KXjeanneb
00
This is a beautiful horseback experience
The riding is beautiful, the horses well trained, the lodges comfortable, the food excellent. You ride about 5 mil
Tlinkletterr
Tlinkletterr
00
Perfect intro to Banff on horseback!
I’ve gone on multiple trail rides and this has to be my all time favourite! If you love horses this is an awesome i
Jocey42
Jocey42
00
Horseback trail ride
The staff were very friendly and paired each of us with the right horse. This included a young 8 year old girl who
Schwizzy
Schwizzy
00
Poor customer service
I wish I was writing a positive review, but we sadly our experience was far from positive. We were a group of 6 (4
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
46 reviews
Excellent
31
Very good
7
Average
1
Poor
2
Terrible
5

Joan L
Mount Sinai, NY7 contributions
We had such fun on this ride! The staff were wonderful, our guide made the horseback ride so enjoyable. Second week in September, we were prepared with bug spray but… no bugs! We finished the ride with a delicious home cooked steak dinner in the big red barn which was charming inside! They greeted us there with hot chocolate, coffee, tea, sodas etc. The views on this ride were incredibly beautiful! We were all weighed on arrival (even our 90 lb daughter) to match us with a horse, so that should be expected. You can’t carry any kind of pack on the horses, but we had our cell phone on a lanyard so that was fine. We received updates daily as our arrival date approached, so we were kept well informed. Overall a wonderful experience! Highly recommend!
Written 13 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Susan K
1 contribution
Sep 2022 • Couples
The horses, Drivers Oliver and Brooklyn were very sweet and knowledgeable. Be prepared for mosquitoes however
Written 13 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mayre
Spokane Valley, WA1 contribution
Loved the wagon ride. The horse harnesses was demonstrated and explained. Was very interesting.
The ride was very nice with lots of beautiful scenery along the river.
The steak dinner could be improved. Flies all over food (could have covered), baked potatoes fresher, biscuits were hard. Steak was good.
Staff was super.
Written 12 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Makram H
1 contribution
Sep 2022 • Family
I had booked for my Wife's birthday a 3 hour Carriage Ride with my kids about 3 days in Avdance. I was Confirmed and for 3 days I recieved both Text Messages and Emails about my trip and if I was excited for the trip.

We live about 6 hours away, on the morning of the booking we got the kids up early to make the time for the Carriage Ride, we were on the road about 4.5 hours when they called us to inform us that our Carriage Ride will not be running and they apologized saying that it was their fault and understood the inconvenience, but did not do anything about it.

They require us to inform 24hours before cancelation but they can call is 1 hour before the Ride and cancel with no repercussion..

Very bad customer service and they are not well organized, They can send emails and text messages for 3 days about the confirmation, but cannot send one message about Cancellation of the trip before hand, and they knew they were not going to operate it well in advance.

I would not Recomend them to anyone as they do not care about their customers.
Written 9 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Makram, We apologize for your experience. Originally, a cookout trip was booked. We have it in our booking terms that "Please note our cookouts require a minimum of 10 participants, please call us 24 hours prior to your tour on 1-877-565-9372 to confirm your booking." When creating a booking, there is a check mark that must be ticked beside "I agree to the booking terms and cancellation policy". Unfortunately, the day of your trip we did not meet the minimum numbers required to run this trip. We were able to offer a private carriage ride instead as compensation. Since the carriage ride was not wanted, we provided a full refund. If you did not receive the refund, please contact us at 403-760-5007. We apologize about the inconvenience and hope the rest of your trip to Banff was still enjoyable.
Written 13 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicola H
Kingston-upon-Hull, UK69 contributions
Aug 2022 • Couples
Relaxing ride with good company and a great cook out. Perfectly cooked steak to order, watch out for the bugs!
Written 22 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey Nicola, We are so glad you enjoyed our cowboy cookout! Steaks always taste better out in nature and around good company. Cheers!
Written 26 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul s
Rickmansworth, UK19 contributions
Super trek through shady valleys and up steep paths through the woods. Great for novices. Beauty’s scenery. My parents also really enjoyed the Wagon ride. Food at the end was super tasty especially the beans .
Written 17 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Yan G
2 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
We had a very good time during the ride. The families shared the same wagon with us were friendly. The staff working there were nice and informative. The dinner was great. I love the steak. We will definitely come back in the winter. I would highly recommend this tour. Kindly reminder, you’d better wear long sleeve shirts and pants if going in summer time. You cannot imagine how many and how big the mosquitoes are 😂
Written 5 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Yan, Thanks for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed the cowboy cookout! This is one of our most popular summer experiences - especially the steak. We look forward to welcoming you back in winter for a horse-drawn sleigh ride.
Written 5 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ben A
Solihull, UK1 contribution
Aug 2022 • Family
Very disappointed. They cancelled the trip the night before giving us no chance to rebook due to insufficient people booking on the trip. We booked this over two months ago and they leave it till the night before to cancel. Whole family disappointed.
Written 4 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Ben, Thanks for taking the time t.o share your feedback with us. All bookings for our rides agree to the terms and conditions at the time of booking, which includes any minimum number requirements. We do try and be very transparent about this, and this booking term for the cowboy cookouts is listed under the 'Booking Terms' tab as well as in the 'Booking Terms' tick box that all guests are required to tick during the booking process. This is also included in the confirmation emails, with a request for all guests to phone us the day prior to confirm that the ride is going ahead. We're sorry to hear that in this instance minimum numbers weren't met, and we hope that you can join us on a ride during your next Banff visit.
Written 5 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Simon B
Sutton, UK46 contributions
Utter disgrace of a business, they are literally cowboys! Cancelled the evening before the ride as they over booked. Arrogant staff and no regard for impact on family as last day in Banff so could not get it rebooked. Do not book with them as they take the sheen off a holiday of a lifetime. Loads of other people experiencing the ineptitude of this business by the looks of it on other reviews.. As I say UTTER COWBOYS & A DISGRACE. Stay away from them at all costs.
Written 20 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DayTrip681715
1 contribution
Jul 2022 • Friends
Start on time! The activity started 20 mins late.
There was a water container & no cups & a vending machine that didn’t work so we had to wait until the ride was over until getting a drink. The meal was back at the stables & water was provided.
All the passengers suffered with mosquitoes. No repellant was offered.
Written 14 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on the cowboy cookout. The Coke machines at the stables are owned and run by Coke, so any machine issues do need to reported directly to Coke as our staff cannot assist in this matter. Drinks are included for the Cowboy Cookout ride, and we're glad that you were able to enjoy the drinks on your return. Unfortunately the mosquitos are out of our control, so we do advise all guests to wear insect repellant in their confirmation email as well as several pre-ride emails. We hope you had a great visit to Banff.
Written 20 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 46

Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout