Tours and Tickets

The Key To The City provided by Walking Talking Tours

Reserve Now & Pay Later

The Key To The City

Save
Share
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Recommended by 91% of travellers
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
'The Key to The City' is the only guide you will need to get the most out of the Cambridge experience. Written by students, with the literature overseen by a university professor, and supporting local independent businesses within Cambridge. Including a self guided college and museum walking tour, local information and secret spots so you don't miss anything, exclusive offers and discounts to select independent businesses across Cambridge for; shops, cycle hire, restaurants and tour experiences, such as punting and walking tours around the University of Cambridge.
Itinerary
  • You’ll have 2 starting options
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    University of Cambridge
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission excluded
    Embark on a self guided tour written by students around the University of Cambridge.
    Read more
  • You'll end at
    St John's College
    St John's College, St John's Street, Cambridge CB2 1TP, UK
    Finishing the tour outside the entrance of St John's, which is referred to as 'The Great Gate'; it follows the contemporary pattern employed at Christ's College and Queens' College.
    See address & details
+
Important Information
Departure Point
Station Rd, Cambridge CB1 2JW, UK Cuckoo Clothing Ltd, 4 St Mary's Passage, Cambridge CB2 3PQ, UK
Duration
1–2 hours
Return Details
St John's College, St John's Street, Cambridge CB2 1TP, UK
Inclusions
Exclusions
  • Entry/Admission - University of Cambridge
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
33Reviews
1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Venrease S wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
The tours were suspended. When we arrived we were told there was no tours happening. We payed extra to climb the tower.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from GoPlaces59544492766, Owner at The Key To The City
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Dear customer, We are sorry to read this feedback on your experience. I am not sure who you talked to about our tours being suspended? This is strange as we do not sell tours, we sell a self guided experience in the form of an A5 brochure for you to explore the colleges and our beautiful city in a COVID safe manner. We were also in operation on this day in three locations across Cambridge. If you look just underneath the company contact number you will see where our main location is which is located at the Cambridge Train station. In total we have three locations across Cambridge for you to collect your copy of our guide, they are: * The Cambridge Train station outside cafe Nero * In the city centre outside The Metro Bank * The bright pink tourist information telephone box near the river at quayside city centre. The fact that you paid extra to climb the tower would imply that you went to Great Saint Mary’s church on Kings Parade which has no affiliation with Walking Talking Tours, it would also imply that you have visited the wrong place to collect your copy of our guide as that is not one of our locations across Cambridge where you can collect a brochure. We have had no email correspondence from yourself regarding not being able to find us, we also do not have any record of you trying to contact us on the day stating your confusion. It is a shame that your experience has cast a bad light on what we do and offer here at Walking Talking Tours. As a gesture of good will, if in the future your decide to return to Cambridge, please come and collect a free copy of our guide from one of the three correct locations. Kind regards, The Walking Talking Tours team
Read more
Luca W wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
The vouchers in the back easily gave me my money back after going out for dinner with a couple of friends. I honestly think we would have missed quite a lot if it wasn't for the guide as it told us all of Cambridge's hidden gems. Would definitely recommend, I'm a happy customer!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
BackPacker734321 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
I’ve travelled all over the world and this is one of the best informed books I’ve had as a tourist. I often find it hard as a student to budget while I’m travelling however the discounts found in the back of the book are super helpful, from restaurants to the iconic punting down
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Taylor A wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a book guide not a tour. We where confused and read it wrong. It would be better if the infromation made it clearer.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GoPlaces59544492766, Owner at The Key To The City
Responded 17 Dec 2019
Dear Mr Taylor,  On behalf of the team here at Walking Talking Tours we are very sorry to read your response to our services and product 'The Key To The City'. Walking Talking Tours prides itself on offering a unique service, and endeavours to go the extra mile for its customers and the visitors of Cambridge because without you we wouldn’t be here in the first place.   In the overview for 'The Key to the City' we have tried to be extremely clear that this is "Written by students" and is "Including a self-guided college & museum walking tour". We have also displayed photos of the individual guidebooks labelled 'The Key to the city' to help aid any confusion.  Overview: "'The Key to The City' is the only guide you will need to get the most out of the Cambridge experience. Written by students, with the literature overseen by a university professor, and supporting local independent businesses within Cambridge. Including a self-guided college & museum walking tour, local information and secret spots so you don't miss anything, exclusive offers and discounts to select independent businesses across Cambridge for; shops, cycle hire, restaurants and tour experiences, such as punting and walking tours around the University of Cambridge." Our product has been designed so instead of paying tour guide which is normally around £15/£20pp, up to 6 people can engage in a self-guided experience for just £9.99 per group and save money by making use of the discounts. For example, if you went punting today the discount for two people alone would have saved you £9.20. I appreciate that some of our reviews talk about a ‘guide’. In Cambridge, most of our visitors are foreign with different English language abilities. I believe that the reason some of our customers have written ‘guide’ is that this is the closest word for them to use to associate their experience with our guide-book. We have previously contacted Trip advisor and asked if they could list our category on their search engine as: ‘Self-guided Tour’ instead of ‘Tour’ however they have said that at this moment in time it isn’t possible.  If you have any feedback for us on how to make this clearer in our overview we would happily welcome it, as customer satisfaction is extremely important to us.  On behalf of the team, we hope that you enjoyed your visit here to Cambridge, and we wish you the best with your travels.  Kind regards Walking Talking Tours 
Read more
David W wrote a review Oct 2019
London6 contributions1 helpful vote
A useful little book with vouchers which offset the price. Good background info about university colleges.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Walking Talking Tours
benedekm2019
00
Perfect.
When we visited Cambridge Jeremy kindly stopped us on arrival and explained us the whole tour within 10 minutes. Sh
Read more
Blissy1712
00
Day out in Cambridge
Had a fantastic day out in Cambridge especially enjoying the punt along the river taking in the beautiful scenery a
Read more
mikex882
00
Kings / Queens tour by steve.
I think I picked the hottest day for my walking tour, it was blisteringly hot - Steve did his very best to keep us
Read more
Lisse_Aerts
00
Wonderful
We had an amazing day in Cambridge. The man at the stand was very kind and gave us some excellent information which
Read more
Jet455307
00
Walking talking tours
Good view, lot of information, so much fun in Cambridge, we learned a lot and walked a lot. We had a wonderful day
Read more
Gundeep S
00
Cambridge day visit
The guide was very knowledgeable about things to do in Cambridge, in particular the walking tour and punting. In ad
Read more
Y3773VAgaryh
00
Punting
Cant say enough about the guys with Walking Talking Tours. Great guide book for the city, do not try to oversell yo
Read more
Sally G
00
Great Guide - Useful Information
We used the guide during our time in Cambridge, it was very informative and interesting with the added benefit of d
Read more
361rk
00
Great times
The guys were really friendly, the brochure information is fantastic and very in-depth. We made great use of the di
Read more
joryder68
00
Highly Recommended!!
We visited Cambridge in April to see our daughter who started university in September. We assumed she would be able
Read more
Wenhao J
00
Recommendation
Highly recommend this guide to all visitors coming to Cambridge. They are really nice guys and the trip is schedule
Read more
499ismailf
00
Friendly Informative Local Tours
Had a great time with guides taking us around the picturesque city of Cambridge divulging the cities history and se
Read more
dizzo8
00
The key to the city
Brilliantly helpful. Really nice guys, very friendly. Go visit, you won't be disappointed. Go meet the dog, gorge
Read more
Deekay L
00
Cambridge one day trip
We met a staff on the street and we got an useful coupon book. It has lots of discount coupon around Cambridge. He
Read more
Robin T
00
The key to the city
Nice book with lots of interesting information about city, a map with hot points and discounts for local shops and
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 1–2 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, Chinese, Chinese
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:800-130-2207