Tours and Tickets

Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London provided by Evan Evans Tours

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London
4.5
Book in advance
from
S$169.09
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
Even if you’ve only got limited time in London, its still possible to escape the city and explore the English countryside. Tick off some of southern England’s top attractions on a day trip that allows you to skip the hassle of car hire and navigation, and transports you to Blenheim Palace and charming Cotswolds villages, including the filming location of hit TV show Downtown Abbey.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Escape the city on a day trip to the countryside
  • An ideal choice for travelers who have already ticked off top London attractions
  • Letting someone else drive allows you to enjoy the scenery
  • Explore places on foot for a more intimate glimpse into the area
What to expect
  • Depart Victoria coach station by comfortable, air-conditioned coach, and travel northwest into scenic Oxfordshire. After approximately 1.5 hours on the road, stop at UNESCO-listed Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir William Churchill. Head inside, put on your audio headsets to hear commentary from your guide, and stroll around the opulent State Rooms of this magnificent stately house, built in the 1700s. Admire the priceless artworks and tapestries that adorn the walls and view the formal gardens on a leisurely walk in the grounds. 
Back aboard your coach, soak up the views of the gorgeous Cotswolds region, where rolling green hills give way to stone-built market towns and thatched villages. Stop in at one of two charming villages: the picture-postcard hamlet of Bibury, to amble past its famous weavers’ cottages, originally built as a wool store in 1380, and the 12th-century St. Mary's Church. 
Or, drive on to idyllic Bourton-on-the-Water, sometimes known as ‘Little Venice’ for the series of handsome low bridges that cross the Windrush River that flows through the village center. Amble through the lanes and admire the lush greens, quaint shops, and stone banks along the riversides. 
Finally, continue to Bampton, the classic English village that doubled as fictional Downton village in the famous TV drama series of Downton Abbey. View the church where Lady Mary and Matthew Crawley were wed and the house that served as Isobel Crawley’s home. Pass the old school that was Downton Hospital and buildings that starred as two village pubs. While you’re here, take the opportunity to relax over lunch (own expense) at a local restaurant or café, and then return to London where your trip finishes at Westminster.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Escape the city on a day trip to the countryside
  • An ideal choice for travelers who have already ticked off top London attractions
  • Letting someone else drive allows you to enjoy the scenery
  • Explore places on foot for a more intimate glimpse into the area
What to expect
  • Depart Victoria coach station by comfortable, air-conditioned coach, and travel northwest into scenic Oxfordshire. After approximately 1.5 hours on the road, stop at UNESCO-listed Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir William Churchill. Head inside, put on your audio headsets to hear commentary from your guide, and stroll around the opulent State Rooms of this magnificent stately house, built in the 1700s. Admire the priceless artworks and tapestries that adorn the walls and view the formal gardens on a leisurely walk in the grounds. 
Back aboard your coach, soak up the views of the gorgeous Cotswolds region, where rolling green hills give way to stone-built market towns and thatched villages. Stop in at one of two charming villages: the picture-postcard hamlet of Bibury, to amble past its famous weavers’ cottages, originally built as a wool store in 1380, and the 12th-century St. Mary's Church. 
Or, drive on to idyllic Bourton-on-the-Water, sometimes known as ‘Little Venice’ for the series of handsome low bridges that cross the Windrush River that flows through the village center. Amble through the lanes and admire the lush greens, quaint shops, and stone banks along the riversides. 
Finally, continue to Bampton, the classic English village that doubled as fictional Downton village in the famous TV drama series of Downton Abbey. View the church where Lady Mary and Matthew Crawley were wed and the house that served as Isobel Crawley’s home. Pass the old school that was Downton Hospital and buildings that starred as two village pubs. While you’re here, take the opportunity to relax over lunch (own expense) at a local restaurant or café, and then return to London where your trip finishes at Westminster.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3858EE019
Call +65 6670 9674
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Free WiFi on coach
  • Vox Headset
  • Blenheim Palace, State Rooms and Gardens
  • Entry/Admission - Blenheim Palace
Exclusions
  • Optional gratuities
  • Food and beverages
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entry/Admission - Bourton on the Water
  • Entry/Admission - Burford Library
Duration
10h
Departure details
  • Victoria Coach Station, London SW1W 9RH, UK Tour departs at 9am (boarding at 8.30am), Victoria Coach Station Gate 1-5
  • Vauxhall Bridge Road, Vauxhall Bridge Rd, Pimlico, London SW1, UK
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please Note: this tour does not visit Highclere Castle
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 51 travellers
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Free WiFi on coach
  • Vox Headset
  • Blenheim Palace, State Rooms and Gardens
  • Entry/Admission - Blenheim Palace
Exclusions
  • Optional gratuities
  • Food and beverages
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entry/Admission - Bourton on the Water
  • Entry/Admission - Burford Library
Departure details
  • Victoria Coach Station, London SW1W 9RH, UK Tour departs at 9am (boarding at 8.30am), Victoria Coach Station Gate 1-5
  • Vauxhall Bridge Road, Vauxhall Bridge Rd, Pimlico, London SW1, UK
Duration
10h
Return details
  • Vauxhall Bridge Road, Vauxhall Bridge Rd, Pimlico, London SW1, UK
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please Note: this tour does not visit Highclere Castle
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 51 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 1 Jul 2020
A note from Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London
Limited vehicle capacity empty seats left next to single travellers & odd numbered groups / Personal audio headsets provided to maintain distancing / Inclusions vetted to ensure they adhere to safety measures / E-tickets only no paper tickets / Staff newly trained in safety measures
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Popular mentions

4.5
51 reviews
Excellent
38
Very good
7
Average
1
Poor
2
Terrible
3

JVS83
Essex, UK21 contributions
Great to visit
Sep 2020
Great to visit even if you are not a Downton Abbey fan, live manor house and grounds to wander around
Written 14 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, thank you for leaving us a 5* review. we appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! best wishes Evan Evans Team
Written 16 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kevin Murk
Sarasota, FL28 contributions
Just the tour we were looking for......
Jul 2019
We had a free day that we hadn’t filled. While awaiting departure at the Evans & Evans offices they had a video of other tours playing. We had considered renting a car to travel to the Cotswolds but this was perfect. As Downton fans it was an additional treat. You see the sets of the post office, the church and Mrs. Crowley’s home. Such a quant village to wander through! Blenheim is incredible. Chrissy was our guide and gave good tutorials and anecdotes. Barry was our driver and we had a relaxing and comfortable ride.
Written 31 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Santiago H
3 contributions
Tony and James
Oct 2019 • Couples
Tony was an excellent tour guide and James was an expert driver. We had a great lunch in the Golden Pheasant pub in Burford.
Written 28 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jason G
62 contributions
Excellent tour made exceptional by Rodney, the Evan Evans guide
Oct 2019
Despite heavy rain, the tour was excellent and our guide (Rodney) was superb. My 16-year old son noted that Rodney has a very soothing voice and was a pleasure to listen to. Throughout the trip, he provided interesting facts about the villages we passed, historic buildings, and English history.

The tour began with the trip out of London to Bampton, where scenes from Downton Abbey were filmed. A very cute village. We spend about 30-45 minutes at the village. The building that served as the clinic in Downton Abbey is actually the village library and had a small souvenir stand open to visitors.

Next, we visited Bourton on the Water in the Cotswolds. A very pretty village that had the foresight to construct a large bus parking lot to cash in on the tourist trade. We spent a couple hours here for lunch and exploring the many shops, restaurants, and the cute church.

Next was Blenheim Palace. It was a very large building, but I thought it was quite cold and uninviting. I would definitely NOT want to live there!!! You see perhaps 1/4 of the building, which includes the library, drawing rooms, and a room containing the bed on which Winston Churchill was born. We toured the gardens in the pouring rain. Quite lively landscaping, though most of the flowers were gone by the time we visited in mid-October.

One annoying aspect of Blenheim Palace is that after purchasing something to eat at the food stand, our change was given in old British bills that are no longer accepted by merchants. We only found this out the next day, and you can only exchange them for the correct notes at the Bank of England, which did not have branch near our hotel. So, beware. Perhaps the Duke of Marlborough discovered a cache of old notes in the floorboards and figured it was easier to pass them off to unaware tourists instead of having to report the newfound income!

We returned to Victoria Station at about 6:30pm, driving into London along a different route from the way we left in the morning, giving our guide more opportunity to discuss historic buildings and neighborhoods.

I purchased this tour unaware that it did not include admission into Blenheim Palace, but we were able to buy tickets enroute. (The guide purchases everyone's tickets upon arrival). So, be aware that there are a couple tours - one that includes admission to Blenheim Palace and one that only includes the coach travel.

I would definitely book this tour again with Evan Evans. The tour bus was comfortable and the route was quite lovely. We considered ourselves quite lucky to have Rodney as our guide and will inquire about his availability for future tours when we return to London.
Written 27 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joy
1 contribution
Perfect day trip, almost!
Oct 2019
This was my first tour around UK and it lived up to all my expectations, particularly the amazing countryside and the continuous wet weather! The surprise additions were the knowledgeable and engaging crew, Kevin our guide and Mark the pilot.

While the Blenheim palace itself was a bit too formal and rigid for my taste, more so because of the close up views that we got, their very approachable staff, souvenir shop and cafeteria kind of made up for the ceremonious and overweight interiors. The wet weather, unfortunately didnt encourage us to check out the outdoors.

I thinks perhaps the Blenheim administration realise this, and regularly organise some wonderful modern exhibitions around the palace which make the visit worth it. In our case, it was Maurizio Catellan's highly entertaining installations spoofing the high&mighty, which put a shine to the snobby dullness of the palace.

The stop at Bampton village, which serves as the setting for Downton Abbey, was very pleasant. Even though we were warned that the abbey would be out of bounds, the stroll around the village center and church brought memories from different scenes in DA and the lovely post office (which serves as the hospital in DA), also contains an exhibition of Bampton's history as also images of shootings and sets from DA.

And finally, the little town of Bourton on Water, which was such a delightful blend of country-side heritage and modernity, and provides a wide variety of options for the famished as well as for retail therapy!
Written 27 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there , Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're delighted to see that you had a great time on your Blenheim Palace,Downton Abbey Village and the Cotswolds tour. We are pleased to hear the additional installations at Blenheim Palace added to your visit there. If you find yourself in London again we would like to host you on another Evan Evans tour in the future. Thanks again and kind regards, Evan Evans team
Written 1 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Camper189584
Seattle, WA2 contributions
Tour
Oct 2019 • Family
Excellent. Great tour guide and driver. Enjoyed seeing the countryside, villages, and palace. The views were lovely and the timing of village lunch and shopping as well as the return to London were prompt.
Written 19 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lisacmaryland
West Friendship, MD78 contributions
Enjoyed very much! Great opportunity to see the countryside
Sep 2019
Our tour went off without a hitch; we were blessed with god weather. the "Downton Abbey" town was delightful to see but realize that it's not a touristy place--it's a village where people live and work--so we were fortunate to see the places the show was shot for exterior shots. We did get to see the inside of the church--inside was a statue of St John the Baptist from the 1200's which had blown off the roof in a gale in 1990. then on to the Cotswolds, which is touristy, but still a lot of fun with quaint shops and restaurants. Lastly we saw Blenheim Palace. The grounds and the palace itself were stunning.
We were doing a week of sightseeing in London and this tour allowed us to see the countryside and some spectacular places. Please note that by the time you are making the return trip from Blenheim back to London you are looking at a 1.5 hour long trip. Best to bring along a book. Our guide was I believe named Inga? Great trip!
Written 7 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bobanddorothy
Gambrills, MD60 contributions
OK day trip
Sep 2019 • Couples
We were a bit disappointed that the visit to the “Downton Abbey Village” didn’t allow entry to the church. A few buildings were familiar.
The visit to another village and Blenheim Castle was fine.
Bus and crew were competent.
They were nice enough to drop us by our hotel in Kensington, rather than going to Victoria.
Written 30 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there , Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're delighted to see that you had a great time on your Blenheim Palace,Downton Abbey Village and the Cotswolds tour. We understand that you were disappointed with a certain aspect of the tour.Thank you for bringing this to our attention we will pass this onto our product team. If you find yourself in London again we would like to host you on another Evan Evans tour in the future. Thanks again and kind regards, Evan Evans team
Written 5 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Todd D
Pittsboro, NC11 contributions
Fantastic time!
Sep 2019
Our guide, Debra was not only very entertaining and thoughtful, but incredibly knowledgeable about the history of England. She added so many interesting historical tidbits to the places we were visiting and driving past, as well as giving us a chance to snooze. Mark, our driver, was great too. Very accommodating and patient with some of us stragglers.

Our only wish was more time at Bourton-on-the-water. What an adorable village! I recommend not wasting time at a sit down restaurant, and instead grabbing something at the bakery or deli for takeaway. In this way, the hour will be enough time to check out the little shops.

Kudos to Debra! We had a wonderful time today!
Written 22 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

kat_ca85
Canada4 contributions
Big Letdown by Even Evans Tour
Sep 2019
Departure point was confusing, mixed with bus departure. When gate opened for bus travelers, some people dashed out by mistake. The Even Evans tour organizers were laughing, quite offensive. Had there been proper signage, a line would have been formed and problem avoided.

When the bus finally loaded at 9am, the organizer pressured single passengers to switch seats for “couples”, quite inappropriate to ask single passengers who boarded early to give up their chosen seats for later boarded “couples”. We were then told tour guide was stuck in traffic! It is ironic that 50 passengers from all over the world can maneuver foreign city and make on time but the local guide cannot. We finally picked her up at 9:30am, wasting an hour before leaving London.

We had 30 mins in Bampton. The guide pointed to a couple of houses where Downton Abbey was shot and led us to a place where people were stuck in a tiny room with two elderly ladies selling souvenirs. At Bourton-on-the-Water, we only had time to eat lunch. The town was crowded with tourists.

Blenheim Palace -the only worthy stop, ticketing wasted 20 minutes so we had barely an hour, very rushed. When we returned to the bus, we had to wait in the heat for additional 20 minutes because two passengers were missing.

We arrived in London Victoria station at 7:30pm, 45 minutes later than scheduled, ruined my plan to see a show starting at 7:30pm. This tour was very poorly organized, not worthy the price at all, very disappointed.
Written 20 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time out to provide us with feedback on your tour - it truly is invaluable as it gives us an idea of what our guests enjoy most, and what hasn't quite worked which allows us to continually improve our services and products - providing our guests with memorable, once in a life time experiences are what we pride ourselves on here at Evan Evans Tours. We're really sorry to hear that your experience with the coach station was so negative and we apologies for the lateness of the guide this is a very rare occurrence. At the beginning of the tour a rough approximate is given in regard to the time you will arrive back to London;However we need to take into consideration traffic and road closures on the day . In regards to the air con thanks for bringing this to our attention we will let the coaching department know. The guide waited 20 minutes for guests as we always try to ensure that we leave with all guests on-board. When boarding as a courtesy we always try to seat people who are traveling together next to each other. We hope this experience will not hinder you from taking another one of our Evan Evans tours in the future. Kind Regards, Evan Evans Team
Written 22 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 49
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Evan Evans Tours
ethylic
ethylic
00
Memorable experience with a great tour guide
Having Mel as our tour guide and Bosco as driver led to a great experience! Mel is funny and memorable. He was also
800vickie
800vickie
00
A informative experience!
It was a day full of adventure and history! Barry was a dependable driver and Leslie was the best tour guide, makin
LCHolt12
LCHolt12
00
Highly recommend!!!
Fantastic day! Shelia was a ton of fun, full of lots of great information and made the day run smoothly which made
gracluvzen
gracluvzen
00
Great taster for bath, windsor, and there is also stonehenge
First, i like the fact that we had enough time on each stop. Just enough to explore the castle, stonehenge, and rom
AndyC0099
AndyC0099
00
Nice food but poor service.
We had afternoon tea with the bottomless champagne offer on a recent Saturday afternoon for my birthday. We arrived
Heather B
Heather B
00
Worth it... with a few annoyances!
This was a great day packed with so many incredible sites (and sights). Kevin has an exceptional knowledge base and
Flyer64625873478
Flyer64625873478
00
Relaxing and enjoyable
My partner and I did the London by night tour last night and couldn’t recommend it enough. The guide John was fanta
danhG2475FI
danhG2475FI
00
What a trip!
Amazing tour of course the locations are great but Kevin is personable, funny, highly knowledgeable.
sarahjanel_91
sarahjanel_91
00
A Packed and Interesting Day Out.
It was a very straightforward way to visit three interesting places. The guide was informative and friendly, the dr
G4058TLdanielg
G4058TLdanielg
00
Canceled on us - bad itinerary anyway
Do NOT book this tour if you want to be sure you're on a tour that will run. Despite gimmicks on booking website t
marklH3690OF
marklH3690OF
00
Amazing!!!! Must see for any potter fans
Got the shuttle bus from Watford junction station. Originally I thought The studio tour was expensive when we pre
493rodj
493rodj
00
Totally recommend it! Amazing spots to visit
Be prepared to prioritize, as it is a lot of amazingness in one day. However, it is 100% worth it! Thumbs up. And N
R3741LQvijayv
R3741LQvijayv
00
Fun
The experience was great fun. Our guide and driver Mel and Joe were fun and kept the trip entertaining. Would defin
monideepad
monideepad
00
Traveling through time with History and Heritage
My son and I were very disappointed when our tour to Warwick Castle, Oxford, Stratford upon Avon and Cotswold was c
Krrrfox
Krrrfox
00
If you only take one tour…make it this.
I️’m not going to lie - I️ was originally very concerned this would be too ambitious for one day and we would drop
Frequently Asked Questions about Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London will start at 9:00 AM. Discover and book Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London on Tripadvisor


Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London price starts from S$168.86. Discover and book Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London on Tripadvisor

Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London on Tripadvisor