Tours and Tickets

Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience provided by Red Bus Bistro

Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience

Save
Share
View all photos (95)
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$49.79
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Waterloo Place
Waterloo Pl, Edinburgh, UKStand F, is located at the East End of Princes Street at the bottom of Carlton Hill.
See address & details
  • Pass by Scott Monument
    Pass by Edinburgh Castle
    Pass by The Meadows
    Pass by Greyfriars Bobby
    Pass by Grassmarket
    Pass by Arthur's Seat
    Pass by Palace of Holyroodhouse
    Pass by The Scottish Parliament
You'll end at
Waterloo Place
Waterloo Pl, Edinburgh, UKStand F, is located at the East End of Princes Street at the bottom of Carlton Hill.
See address & details
Important Information
Departure Point
Waterloo Place, Waterloo Pl, Edinburgh, UK
Duration
1h 30m
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Handmade Sandwich selections
  • Home baked warm scone with cream, jam and strawberry garnish
  • Selection of Petit Fours
  • Sumptuous cupcakes
  • Complimentary Soft Drink
  • Bottled water
  • Coffee and/or Tea
Exclusions
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
  • Souvenir drinks cup
Show More
Additional Info
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • We do not offer live or recorded guide commentary on our buses. We are a dining Experience whilst touring Edinburgh or Glasgow.
  • Red Bus Bistro Bookings are only valid for the date and time stated.
  • Patrons should expect to share a table especially on our busier weekend tours. If patrons would rather not share a table we can try and accommodate them on a quieter tour.
  • Patrons are requested to arrive 5 – 10 minutes before departure at Stance ZF, Waterloo Place, Edinburgh. Unfortunately we cannot wait for late comers as we only have a limited time on stand. Refunds will not be offered to latecomers.
  • We offer gluten free or vegetarian options. Our Products may contain nuts. Please specify requirements upon reservation.
  • No tickets are issued for the tour.
  • Your Surname is passed to the Bus Manager prior to your tour, this will be requested upon arrival at the bus, you can print this email out purely for your own information.
  • Please be prepared to redeem any Gift Voucher you may have used for payment to the bus on the day of the tour.
  • If you have booked using an Itison voucher, we may ask to see your voucher on your phone.
  • The tour is not suitable for 6 year Old’s and under
  • Anyone under the age of 14 must be accompanied by an adult
  • No refunds will be given less than the 4 weeks prior to the date of booking.
  • For groups of 12 and above we require 50% of the total bill as down payment which is non-refundable, the balance is then due 3 weeks before the tour date.
  • There may be occasions where the tour has to be cancelled without advance notice, in the event of a cancellation patrons will be refunded in full or transferred onto another tour date.
  • If the tour is cancelled after the first half an hours commencement, we will then offer availability on another tour.
  • Smoking is not permitted on the Bus at any time.
  • Red Bus Bistro does not take any responsibility for the loss, damage or theft of personal belongings while on the Bus.
  • Conditions of carriage are subject to legislation set out by the Public Passenger Vehicles Act 1981; all details can be given by the Red Bus Bistro head office.
  • We would like to point out that we operate Vintage Routemaster Buses, and although we keep our vehicles in the best possible maintenance condition there will be times that unforeseen maintenance issues may arise and result in a disruption to the tours, or cancellation; however we will endeavour to do everything in our power to avoid any disruption.
  • Red Bus Bistro Company reserves the right to refuse carriage of patrons who are intoxicated, or displaying threatening or abusive behaviour, no refunds will be given under these circumstances. We also ask that a reasonable standard of behaviour is adhered to while on the tour, as there are other passengers to consider.
  • Red Bus Bistro is not responsible for any damage caused by breaking the rules.
  • RED BUS BISTRO COMPANY LIMITED ACCESS POLICIES
  • It is not the policy of Red Bus Bistro Company Ltd to discriminate in any way against employees or passengers regarding disability, gender, race, sexual orientation or religious beliefs.
  • Red Bus Bistro’s Bus was registered in 1966; it consists of Drivers Cab, upper deck, lower deck, and will always have at least 4 staff on board. The bus seats 12 downstairs and 28 upstairs; unfortunately due to the age and design of the Bus we cannot accommodate wheelchair passengers. Red Bus Bistro can reserve seating in advance for the lower deck for those with mobility concerns. As per above, patrons should otherwise be prepared to share a table, where the patrons would rather be seated alone we can try and accommodate them on a quieter tour however not guaranteed,
  • There is no toilet on board.
  • The tour will last between 70-90 minutes dependant on conditions, in which time our patrons will be served with an Afternoon Tea or Gin Tour. For private hire all requests are considered.
  • Red Bus Bistro Company Limited will go out of its way to cater for as diverse and audience as possible within the physical confines of the bus, and will follow the DDA Legislation guidelines at all times.
  • All information gained from Patrons will never be given to any third parties; Red Bus Bistro Company Limited is responsible for all online transactions.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
115Reviews
4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 13
  • 10
  • 6
  • 10
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Paula A wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We loved every minute of it. The 90 minutes felt like 30! It was so much fun! Great food, fantastic staff who were so helpful and friendly. The route around Edinburgh was perfect, we saw loads. It really is a stunning city. This is definitely one of the best experiences we’ve
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from RedBusBistro, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience
Responded today
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Red Bus Bistro! We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience onboard!
Read more
Bettina K wrote a review Mar 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom21 contributions12 helpful votes
Tried this Red Bus Bistro experience in Edinburgh. Not for the touristy sights (we are residents) but because we thought it would be nicer to do an afternoon tea not in a hotel or restaurant environment. And we were right. It's different but good different. The sandwiches and
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RedBusBistro, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Red Bus Bistro! We are glad you had a great time and that your husband had a lovely birthday! Hip hip hooray!
Read more
Linda M wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We were really excited about our red bus afternoon tea as it was a Christmas present from lovely family. When we arrived we were seated on a rather cramped and narrow bench seat and discovered that we were table sharing. We had to sit on our coats and handbags were placed on
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RedBusBistro, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Hello, we are disappointed to read this review as we want everyone to have the best time possible onboard Red Bus Bistro. We would like to know if you let the staff on the tour know of your disappointments so that they could have done their best to rectify the situation onboard. If you could please email us on info@redbusbistro.co.uk with the booking name, tour date and time we will look into this further.
Read more
Harriet L wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
It was absolutely perfect. It was our first day in Edinburgh and the weather was awful so it couldn't have been better timing. It was a great way to see the city to then work out where we wanted to visit during our time there!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RedBusBistro, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Red Bus Bistro :)
Read more
nocera1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom410 contributions218 helpful votes
Friend and I had front seats on the top deck of the bus. Not a lot of room at table for two people but a great trip. Staff were very good and a lot of banter going on and a sing a long! Nice glasses with the Prosecco and reusable cups for the coffee and tea to save any hot
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RedBusBistro, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Red Bus Bistro! We are delighted you had a great time onboard. 😃
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Red Bus Bistro
Z8572ZTfionak
00
Fantastic
Recieved vouchers for our Christmas and got to enjoy the tour on Sat 8th Aug the lunch was delicious and fresh and
Read more
jimb402016
00
Superb from start to finish
Being from Glasgow, we decided to take this amazing experience and so glad we did. This was due to Ricky, Gary and
Read more
Catherine1904
00
Glasgow Red Bus Bistro
Bus was comfortable, staff friendly and attentive. Food was fresh and plentiful; gin pot was lovely. More informati
Read more
roseannem471
00
A magical evening
Had a great experience on this tour. Staff were superb, really went out of their way to look after everyone and ens
Read more
BERTM236
00
Fantastic
Fantastic day ! Would highly recommend for a treat! Staff were great & really looked after us , cakes were delightf
Read more
veemcbee2016
00
Excellent gift idea, had a fab time
Had a fab time on Saturday for afternoon tea on the top deck of an old traditional double decker whilst touring the
Read more
clodaghd188
00
Unique experience and had lots of fun
Booked the gin tea in Glasgow for myself and 3 friends yesterday - was a lovely experience, luckily we had beautifu
Read more
lorrainemC6738DP
00
Glasgow Afternoon Tea
I'm writing this on behalf of my auntie and uncle, who did the tour this afternoon - they had a great time. They sa
Read more
MariaCBTraveler
00
Great Experience for Potter Fans
We had a lovely time on our Harry Potter Bus Tour. We had reserved two tables in the top of the bus, were right in
Read more
KDJDSDLD
00
Harry Potter Themed Red Bus Tour
We booked this tour for my daughters 12th Birthday in March and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Fresh pizza was plent
Read more
lachlanm270
00
Edinburgh Gin Tea
A Christmas present for my wife, this was a great experience. We had the front seat upstairs. The sandwiches, savou
Read more
141fionag
00
Excellent
Had a lovely afternoon everyone very friendly and precious to going I advised I was booking for my friends 40th bir
Read more
laurelkait
00
So much fun!!
A British double-decker bus, driving through the streets of Edinburgh past Harry Potter points of interest, eating
Read more
yv113
00
Quirky and dab
Really enjoyed our gin tea experience on Sunday .The bus is super cute and the afternoon tea was very enjoyable .co
Read more
609heatherr
00
Birthday celebration
My daughter and I were given a voucher for a joint birthday and it was an amazing afternoon, the staff were amazing
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:800-130-2207
Frequently Asked Questions about Edinburgh Afternoon Tea Experience