Tours and Tickets

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide provided by WorldTours

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
Date
0 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
18Reviews
4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
AlexM120984 wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
According to the website upon booking we would’ve had ear pieces to hear the guide. This did not happen. There was no communication on the bus and the tour operator did not point out any sites on the bus. Another guest asked about ear pieces and the guide said “the group size is
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
dbart65 wrote a review Jul 2019
Fairfield, New Jersey5 contributions
Thanks to Tony Belardo and the team of drivers who helped us from the airport to Pompei to Amalfi and Rome with perfect timing and professionalism. We were a group of eight arriving at different times, dealing with changing flights and struggling with lost luggage, but Tony was
Read more
Helpful
katrina154 wrote a review Oct 2018
Cardiff, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great tour guide Francesca, very patient, polite and an encyclopaedia of information. Would highly recommend this tour company and Francesca.
Read more
Helpful
Bren T wrote a review Aug 2018
2 contributions7 helpful votes
Whatever you do, do NOT go on this tour. It is an absolute waste of money! First off, they were late picking us up, then they had us waiting in the souvenir shop/restaurant area for about 30 minutes before we got into Pompeii. The tour guide they provided could barely speak
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
Helpful
Response from Worldtours21, Staff at Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
Responded 29 Aug 2018
Dear Bren, My name is Mafalda and I work in the WT staff. I am writing to reply to your review, saying first of all that we were very sorry that you did not appreciate the ruins of Pompeii and that you did not like our tour, one of the best sellers along with that of the Amalfi Coast. The first thing that catches my eye when I'm reading the review is not only that you did not like the tour but that something important happened that annoyed you. - Regarding the delays if there were any, they certainly do not depend on the company but on our customers, they are on holiday! Is a group tour and we go to take all the customers in the hotels and if someone leaves late, we wait for him but obviously we will be late for the next pick up. - Our guides are all qualified and qualified by the Italian Government, it is unthinkable that a guide does not speak English but what I can think is that perhaps there were many people in the excavations and then maybe you could not listen well to the guide but it would have been enough to get closer to understand better the history of Pompeii. - talking about the elderly couple who lost themselves in the excavations I can say Welcome to Pompeii, it is very famous to get lost in the ruins and you are always looking for someone or because they are elderly or because they are adventurers, but I repeat, it's a group tour and at that moment we are like a family, if someone gets lost the guide looks for him and the rest of the group has some time to take pictures. - Is the guide useless? I assure you that the guide in the excavations of Pompeii is not useless. I will repeat it to infinity, Pompeii is a whole city 64 to 67 ha. (170 acres) (660,000 square meters), wandering the ruins alone without an itinerary is not advisable, with a guide you can see the main things, the most important, the most significant. - After leaving the excavations we always give free time, customers are asking for it (you can imagine that time is money for a company would be better to return and end the tour) But our guests want to buy souvenirs, books, and especially go to the bathroom or take a bottle of water, eat something. Meanwhile, the guide calls the bus to get it in front of the ruins, because the parking areas you see in front of the excavations are not parking areas, are only for pick up and dropp off, means that we can only leave customers and go to resume them. Would you imagine a parking area right outside the ruins? This year the site had 3.4 million visitors, August 450,000 per day, you can not have buses and cars out of the ruins for this the bus must be called to come and pick you up. But this point is only for the benefit of our agency because many other agencies make their customers walk under the sun to reach the parking areas, we give free time and we come to pick you up under the excavations not a meter more. And with this I reconnect to the other point - free time can be spent as you wish but we also show you one of the historical shops of the site where you can make some free tasting of limoncello and liqueurs, enter and go out easy. Even the demonstration of the carving of the cameo and the processing of coral what she called stupid trinkets is one of the oldest working traditions of our region known all over the world and absolutely in line with the Pompeian culture. The live demonstration of these carvings is something really precious to see but is not forced to observe it at all. They are ideas (limoncello or coral) for the free time you have after visiting the ruins, nothing more. - you can choose to arrive in Pompeii with a private tour, with a taxi (they are quite expensive) or as you suggest you can take the red bus but clearly would not have the guide included (120.00 euros institutional fee for the guide only), would not have the skip the line to enter the excavations (she mentions having paid the ticket for entry, which is normal in my opinion) but the guide did give the ticket upon arrival in the excavations, you did not have to put in row and I remember 450,000 visitors a day, maybe get in line for an hour or more and wait to buy the ticket, that would have been a waste of time. I am still sorry that you did not take full advantage of the Pompeii site. We are always available for further clarification.
Read more
drj08 wrote a review Aug 2018
here2 contributions1 helpful vote
The bus was almost 30 minutes late to our departure site. Once we arrived, we waited for 30-40 minutes for two minors to get their tickets. Our guide, Lara, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. However, the trip was very short and we did not feel that we saw everything we
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
Helpful
Response from Worldtours21, Staff Worldtours at Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
Responded 10 Nov 2018
Hello, thanks for your review, I do not know why you said the bus was late because we are always on time maybe you had to wait other guests that they going out of the hotels but this is somethig different because in a tour group you suppose to wait a little bit the others. Also when a guide buy tickets for children has always the skip the line so is really strange wait for 30-40 minutes. Anyway I hope you enjoyed Pompei with our guide Laura. Worldtours staff.
Read more
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 Support