Tours and Tickets

Small Group Northern Lights Tour provided by Trips

Small Group Northern Lights Tour

Small Group Northern Lights Tour
4.5
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
About
Explore beyond Reykjavik in search of the Northern Lights during a small-group evening tour into the Icelandic countryside. Set out to see Aurora Borealis, nature’s colorful light show, against a pitch-black night sky. Learn about the Northern Lights from your guide and visit top viewing points during the tour. Hotel pick-up and drop-off in Reykjavik are included.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Travel beyond Reykjavik in search of the Northern Lights
  • Learn about Aurora Borealis and visit top viewing points
  • Escape the crowds during a small-group evening tour
  • Round-trip transportation on a heated minibus is included
What to expect
  • Begin your guided Northern Lights Hunt from Reykjavik with pick-up from your central hotel, then head out of the city to hunt down the best viewing points. Learn more about nature’s dazzling lightshow from your guide as you soak up the scenery of Iceland by night. Stop at prime viewing points along the way and if you’re lucky, get chance to witness the spectacular Aurora Borealis and take some unforgettable photos. Best of all, enjoy an intimate, small-group experience, free from the crowds, and travel on-board a heated minibus (warm clothes still recommended). Please note: the exact itinerary depends on the aurora forecast and sightings cannot be guaranteed.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Travel beyond Reykjavik in search of the Northern Lights
  • Learn about Aurora Borealis and visit top viewing points
  • Escape the crowds during a small-group evening tour
  • Round-trip transportation on a heated minibus is included
What to expect
  • Begin your guided Northern Lights Hunt from Reykjavik with pick-up from your central hotel, then head out of the city to hunt down the best viewing points. Learn more about nature’s dazzling lightshow from your guide as you soak up the scenery of Iceland by night. Stop at prime viewing points along the way and if you’re lucky, get chance to witness the spectacular Aurora Borealis and take some unforgettable photos. Best of all, enjoy an intimate, small-group experience, free from the crowds, and travel on-board a heated minibus (warm clothes still recommended). Please note: the exact itinerary depends on the aurora forecast and sightings cannot be guaranteed.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 24204P5
Call +65 6670 9674
Important information
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Kerid Crater
  • Entry/Admission - Blue Lagoon
Duration
3h
Departure details
  • Reykjavík, Iceland TRIPS offers a complementary pick-up and drop-off service from Reykjavik Bus Stops, there are 14 Bus Stops throughout the town and they are within a walking distance from all hotels. Please consult with your reception desk to find out which is the closest Bus Stop.
  • Bus stop #1 - Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstræti 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 1 The guide will come and call your name
  • Tjörnin, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 2 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #3 Lækjargata, Lækjargata 4, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 3 The guide will come and call your name
  • Miðbakki, Geirsgata, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 4 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus stop #5 Harpa, Sculpture & Shore Walk 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 5 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #6 - Safnahúsið The Culture House, Ingólfsstræti 1, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 6 The guide will come and call your name
  • Hallgrimskirkja, Hallgrímstorg 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 8 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #9 Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 9 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus stop #10 Hlemmur Square, Laugavegur, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 10 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus stop #11 Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 11 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #12 Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 12 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #13 Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 13 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #14 - Skúlagata, Klapparstígur 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 14 The guide will come and call your name
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Rebooking due to no Sighting. If no Northern Lights are found travellers are able to rebook the tour on any given date after the initial tour date free of charge.
  • Rebooking is available as long as seats are available. If a tour is booked in a minibus we reserve the rights to rebook on a regular bus or any available vehicle.
  • Infant seats available upon request
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • The Northern Lights tour are a natural phenomenon and sightings are not guaranteed
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Kerid Crater
  • Entry/Admission - Blue Lagoon
Departure details
  • Reykjavík, Iceland TRIPS offers a complementary pick-up and drop-off service from Reykjavik Bus Stops, there are 14 Bus Stops throughout the town and they are within a walking distance from all hotels. Please consult with your reception desk to find out which is the closest Bus Stop.
  • Bus stop #1 - Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstræti 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 1 The guide will come and call your name
  • Tjörnin, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 2 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #3 Lækjargata, Lækjargata 4, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 3 The guide will come and call your name
  • Miðbakki, Geirsgata, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 4 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus stop #5 Harpa, Sculpture & Shore Walk 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 5 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #6 - Safnahúsið The Culture House, Ingólfsstræti 1, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 6 The guide will come and call your name
  • Hallgrimskirkja, Hallgrímstorg 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 8 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #9 Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 9 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus stop #10 Hlemmur Square, Laugavegur, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 10 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus stop #11 Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 11 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #12 Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6, Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 12 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #13 Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 13 The guide will come and call your name
  • Bus Stop #14 - Skúlagata, Klapparstígur 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Please wait at Bus Stop 14 The guide will come and call your name
Duration
3h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Rebooking due to no Sighting. If no Northern Lights are found travellers are able to rebook the tour on any given date after the initial tour date free of charge.
  • Rebooking is available as long as seats are available. If a tour is booked in a minibus we reserve the rights to rebook on a regular bus or any available vehicle.
  • Infant seats available upon request
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • The Northern Lights tour are a natural phenomenon and sightings are not guaranteed
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Itinerary
  • You’ll have 14 starting options
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Thingvellir National Park
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Kerid Crater
    Stop: 30 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 3
    Blue Lagoon
    Stop: 30 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

4.5
55 reviews
Excellent
39
Very good
5
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
6

Ursina
Zurich, Switzerland3 contributions
a bag of luck & a bag of patience
Feb 2020 • Couples
we didnt expect much, and it even started snowing.. but our guide managed to find some clear sky and even s glimpse of the northern lights..
it is definiteky worth driving with an experienced guide, also for the fact that the snow and wind can get quite rough
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear Ursina, Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us! Best Regards TRIPS Powered by SkyBus
Written 23 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

culliard
Belfast, UK5 contributions
Amazing northern lights
Northern lights was top of the list and it seemed things were falling into place (18th feb) good aurora forecast, an area not too far from Reykavik with no cloud. The driver picked us up in a comfy minibus and went straight to that place. We stayed for an hour or so photographing the northern lights - amazing!!

Our kids (8 and 11) did get a little bored and cold so went back to the minibus and the driver kindly gave them hot chocolate and biscuits; that was their highlight!

Some constructive feedback to help improve the experience.
- we were starting to think bus wouldn't show as the it took longer than 35 mins (maybe 40 or 45) to arrive at BSI bus station (the last stop).
- check the mic/speakers in the bus as it was hard to hear in the back
Written 19 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear Culliard, We really appreciate your review and we are very proud to know that your experience was up to your expectations and our goal, worth a 5 Stars Review! About your feedback, we are already working on it to give a better experience during the pick-up, and we are also replacing all our old microphones (this depends on the guide to tell us if is needed or not). Thank you so much for your review and hope to see you again soon! Best Regards TRIPS Powered by SkyBus
Written 21 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

baymontsvp
West Bend, WI277 contributions
The Northern Lights Were At The Top Of Our List!
Oct 2019
The guide was great, the small bus comfortable and the mountain top very dark... but don't go on nights where there is a full moon! We had fun, but sadly the lights did not come out. :-(
Written 5 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear Guest, thank you for your review! we are sorry that you didn't had the full experience. Unfortunately the Northern Lights are a Natural phenomenon and even that we try to predict with much data as possible sometimes we have unpleasant surprises. With that we always let you reschedule until you have a successful tour! thank you for your understanding :) Best Regards TRIPS Powered by SkyBus
Written 14 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Aisha
1 contribution
Where’s my refund
Dec 2019 • Couples
Do not book this tour. They will cancel on the day and ignore your emails. Still due my refund from December!
Written 28 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear 145aishas, We are sorry to know that your experience wasn't the one we effort to provide. We never failed with our refund policy. Please send us an email (trips@trips.is) with your booking reference so we can revise your situation. When we cancel our tour is because unfortunately, we don't collect enough conditions to provide our guests the chance to view the Northern Lights, please understand. Best Regards TRIPS Skybus
Written 29 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Krystina H
Sheffield, UK11 contributions
Great trip
Jan 2020 • Couples
We were lucky enough to see the lights but I think that was because our guide G was very enthusiastic and drove around to different places to try and find them. Even stopped when we were supposed to be on our way back because they suddenly appeared. Definitely worth booking with a smaller group and would highly recommend these guys
Written 21 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear Krystin, Thank you so much for your Review! We are very pleased to know that you had such an amazing experience with us! Last but not least, thank you for your support and your kind words about your driver/guide! Best Regards TRIPS Powered by Skybus
Written 28 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

J Ruma
1 contribution
Terrible experience
Dec 2019 • Friends
Let's start with the fact that we were guaranteed (in writing) that the excursion would have 19 or fewer guests on a small bus and there were more than 60 people on a very large bus.

Our bus driver provided a lot of depressing facts as we drove out to the "spot", which was located on the side of a highway. There were several other large buses at the "spot", which made it feel super touristy.

It was clear after 15 minutes that we weren't going to see the Northern Lights (not an issue, we were aware that might be the case); however, we sat on the bus for nearly 2 hours waiting for the last couple of hopefuls to rejoin the group. We then waited another 30 minutes while our bus driver walked up and down the aisles with a thermos of hot chocolate and a Tupperware of biscuits to share with the large group.

This experience was miserable and I wouldn't recommend this tour to anyone. We had so many other amazing excursions that were much more enjoyable (south coast waterfalls and glacier hike, blue lagoon, secret lagoon, golden circle).
Written 30 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear Guest, We are really sad to know that your experience wasn't the one you were expecting. We always try to give ur costumers the best experience possible and every time we provide our tour is based on a specialized forecast so we can collect all the conditions for our guests to see this so-known Nature Show. However, everything will depend on Nature to have a successful tour, and on that, if our guests don't see the Northern Lights during their tour we always offer to reschedule free of charge until they have a successful tour (up to 2 years validity on the booking voucher!). Besides that, we have 2 tours, one on a BigBus up to 53 passengers and a miniBus with a smaller group maximum of 19 passengers. Being this last one the most expensive one, if we provide a change on our guests' booking is always an upgrade and never a downgrade, so in your case, i can only assume that there was some missed information and we are really sorry that wasn't clearer enough. Best Regards TRIPS Powered by Skybus
Written 28 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

giovanniwecker
Rome, Italy3 contributions
Frustrating experience
Dec 2019 • Friends
Unfair business for unpredictable and rare event

I fully understand that auroras are a natural event and that tourism is a business but you cannot make a business out of a statistically rare event in December in Reykjavik. I don’t think it is fair not to get the money back because I don’t have time to reschedule.
Written 29 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear Guest, We are really sorry to read such a downgraded experience/review. Unfortunately, from the point you participate in one of our tours we can't provide a refund because of all the logistics behind. As you know, Northern Lights are a Natural phenomenon that can only be predicted and impossible to be assured and with that we do our best to predict it and collect all the necessary conditions to have a successful tour but Nature's unpredictability also pays along with us. As you participated on our tour, even if unsuccessfully, you have to have in mind that Our Best doesn't always mean that you are able to see the Northern Lights, however, if unsuccessful, we always give you the chance to join us again free of charge until you have a successful tour (up to 2 years validity on your voucher). Please understand. Best Regards TRIPS Powered by Skybus
Written 28 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Camis698
Merrick, NY6 contributions
Hunt for northern lights
Dec 2019 • Family
Let me say it upfront that although we didn’t get to see the lights due to weather conditions, our tour guide was extremely helpful and did his best for 4 hours to locate them. It is inherently difficult and unpredictable to be able to see the northern lights. It is partly due to luck. But I would definitely recommend this tour.
Written 28 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review! Really happy to know you had a great time with us even if unsuccessful for the Northern Lights! Best Regards TRIPS Powered by Skybus
Written 28 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ness_956
Dubai, United Arab Emirates47 contributions
Worth seeing
If you want to see the northern lights, worth booking with these people. It's a small group, around 16 people. They try their best to find the northern lights and if you dont see, you can book again for free. Make sure you book this tour on your first night in iceland. Unfortunately we didnt see them on our first night even though the forecast said it was pretty good. The next available time we could go was 2 days later. We managed to see them then although it was very faint. The trip lasts around 4 hours. It is extremely cold outside during this time, so make sure your wrap up. I had full ski gear on and it was perfect.
Written 22 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arinbjorn M
Dear guest, Thank you s much for your review and for your appreciation on our effort to provide the best possible Northern Lights tour! Best Regards TRIPS Skybus
Written 29 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lenny
4 contributions
Great way to visit the highlights
Dec 2019 • Solo
I loved the tour, enough time to walk and have a break. Loved the choice for the secret lagoon which was not overcrowded.
Written 21 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 53
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Trips
Alberto M
Alberto M
00
GET OUT OF HERE
Very very bad experience. September 26 , 3° degree , and we waited for a long time (One hour) to the bus stop of ha
Katie G
Katie G
00
No show tour company
Tour bus company no showed after an hour of waiting at a bus stop and did they communicate DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR
V228VBkathrynb
V228VBkathrynb
00
Terrible
Terrible experience. Waited in the cold for over 30 minutes and the bus never came to pick us up. Had reached out t
lisamU3636
lisamU3636
00
A Must Do Adventure
Iceland is a must do for everyone who is an active adventurer. Awesome! See the Waterfalls, Diamond Beach, Fjords
J9192TXjulieb
J9192TXjulieb
00
Northern Lights
Was a great evening and we did get to see the lights. Make sure you wrap up warm and if possible take a decent came
Peter D
Peter D
00
Amazing
Our guide made sure we were able to see the best of the Northern lights on display for the night. He was willing to
D-DiLeo
D-DiLeo
00
Amazing Site
This is a must do if you're there at the right time of year. Our guide was very knowledgable and would let us hang
kutugen
kutugen
00
Thank you for the unforgettable memories
I had an amasing night to take the small group Northern lights tour.I was able to see Northen lights 3times at one
Lib W
Lib W
00
Excellent tour company - went above and beyond!
This tour was great! I actually went twice as we didn’t see lights in the first outing, but on the second there was
Dr-Julius
Dr-Julius
00
Aurora
We enjoyed very much our Northern Lights Tour. Our guide was fun and was able to captivate the group attention with
Laurencss
Laurencss
00
Northern Lights minibus tour
We went on Trips Northern Lights Minibus Tour last night and we were very disappointed. Not because we didn't see t
mandy r
mandy r
00
Fantastic hunt for Northern Lights
Brilliant, first outing was with Maria, who drove as far as she could, (minibus was a little cramped and hot), in s
wong h
wong h
00
Hunting for the Aurora
We had a good time to see some excellent northern light, with some historical information about Iceland from our lo
ada177
ada177
00
Small Group Northern Lights
We booked from Germany for our first night there but trip was cancelled due to bad forecast. Very friendly email wi
MIArun
MIArun
00
Hunting for the Northern Lights!
We had a great time with Trips and hunting for the northern lights. Our guide was knowledgeable, funny, and eager t