Tours and Tickets

Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns provided by Fitzroy Island Adventures

Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns
4.5
Book in advance
from
S$78.07
per adult
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Scenic round-trip ferry ride to Fitzroy Island
Duration:
8h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
100
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
The beaches and coral reefs of Fitzroy Island are part of the UNESCO-listed Great Barrier Reef and lie less than an hour's boat ride from Cairns. With this tour, opt for round-trip ferry tickets and explore the island at your own pace, or upgrade to include an activity pass Plus Lunch including a picnic lunch, glass-bottom boat cruise, and water sports.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Self-guided tour: spend the day on the island’s beaches
  • Swim and snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Self-guided tour: spend the day on the island’s beaches
  • Swim and snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5641FITZROY
Important information
Inclusions
  • Use of snorkel gear (if option selected)
  • Use of stinger suit (if option selected)
  • Glass-bottom boat tour (if option selected)
  • (If option selected)
  • Entry/Admission - Fitzroy Island Adventures
  • Entry/Admission - Fitzroy Island National Park
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • All Fees and Taxes
Duration
8h 30m
Departure details
  • 1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia Please meet us at the vessel at Marlin Wharf as check-in will be there, check in at 8:15am, the boat will depart at 8.45am sharp. Half day customers check in from 10.15am, the boat will depart at 10.45am sharp.
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stinger suits are included in the Activity Pass 2 and can be collected at the beach hire hut upon collection of your snorkel equipment. Suits must be returned to the beach hire hut prior to departure ex Fitzroy Island
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please bring sandals/reef shoes as beach is covered in old coral
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers
Inclusions
  • Use of snorkel gear (if option selected)
  • Use of stinger suit (if option selected)
  • Glass-bottom boat tour (if option selected)
  • (If option selected)
  • Entry/Admission - Fitzroy Island Adventures
  • Entry/Admission - Fitzroy Island National Park
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • All Fees and Taxes
Departure details
  • 1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia Please meet us at the vessel at Marlin Wharf as check-in will be there, check in at 8:15am, the boat will depart at 8.45am sharp. Half day customers check in from 10.15am, the boat will depart at 10.45am sharp.
Duration
8h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stinger suits are included in the Activity Pass 2 and can be collected at the beach hire hut upon collection of your snorkel equipment. Suits must be returned to the beach hire hut prior to departure ex Fitzroy Island
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please bring sandals/reef shoes as beach is covered in old coral
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 12 Apr 2021
A note from Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns
Covid Procedures: High levels of signage about distance and hygiene, we will have hand sanitizers around the vessel
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    1 Spence St
    1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia
    Please meet us at the vessel at Marlin Wharf as check-in will be there, check in at 8:15am, the boat will depart at 8.45am sharp. Half day customers check in from 10.15am, the boat will depart at 10.45am sharp.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Fitzroy Island Adventures
    Stop: 7 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Fitzroy Island National Park
    Stop: 7 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
162 reviews
Excellent
94
Very good
40
Average
12
Poor
8
Terrible
8

Sim
1 contribution
May 2022 • Friends
Another awesome visit to this little piece of paradise today. Tried the snorkelling tour for the first time. The part of the reef we visited was in good shape. I brought my own snorkelling gear and lost my snorkel to the depths soon after getting into the water. Tim, our snorkelling guide & rescue diver, expertly rescued it no time. Thanks a million Tim! We were allowed snorkel free-range rather than follow along in a group, but felt safe knowing we were being monitored. Safety was obviously paramount. Great driving by Captain Louis too. My friend and I, who are both seasick prone did not feel sick at all.
Written 15 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Simone, Thank you for your feedback and review. Sorry we were unable to make it 5 stars on this occasion. We are glad to hear you had a positive experience on our charter to Fitzroy and with the crew :) Hopefully we will be able to come back and visit soon.
Written 16 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Glenda Bateson
Cairns, Australia13 contributions
May 2022 • Couples
We just had the best day ever on Fitzroy Island. The beginners snorkel was fantastic for us as we have never done this before. Tania made us oldies feel at ease and we had a great time. The glass bottom boat driver gave us such great information and the view was very clear. The turtle rehab centre talk, by Tania again, was fantastic and we met Tommy the turtle up close and learnt lots about them. Wonderful day.
Written 16 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey Glen, Great to hear you had an awesome experience with us. Thank you for the feedback and 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Hopefully we will see you on another adventure soon :)
Written 23 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

J Martinsen
4 contributions
Jan 2020
When in Cairns, there are many options for day trips to explore Queensland. Spending just 4 nights in Cairns, we looked for excursions that were close by while we stayed in town. Fitzroy Island was a perfect way to spend the day. We purchased the Activity Pass 2, which included all activities, lunch, and ferry ride. We had beautiful weather and first decided to start our day with a hike to the summit of the island. The hike was beautiful, steep, and scenic. It took about 1 1/2 hours for us to hike to the summit. We then checked out our snorkel gear and stinger suits from the activity center (which was very simple) and enjoyed our lunch on the beach before heading out to snorkel. The reef was beautiful and very easy to get to. Although we are both experienced swimmers, we also got life jackets to be able to take our time and enjoy all we could see - which included many fish, coral, a small squid, and a few jelly fish.
The bathroom situation was a bit inconvenient, but I wasn't surprised since we read the views ahead of time. We simply purchased a day pass that allowed us unlimited use of the closer bathrooms (right at the dock) rather than needing to head over to the camp ground (only about a 5 minute walk). They charged us $10, but gave a credit for $5 at the restaurant that we used at the end of the day after we finished snorkeling and waited for the ferry. I felt it was the perfect length of time on the island and was very happy with the entire experience. Yes, the trampoline was broken on our visit, but there were so many other activities to enjoy it didn't bother us.
Written 15 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dana B
Bacchus Marsh, Australia4 contributions
Apr 2022 • Couples
Took the trip to Fitzroy Island today in the torrential rain. Despite the weather, we still enjoyed snorkelling and were able to see a turtle and plenty of fish. What was strange though is that although we had prepaid and booked for snorkelling equipment, we were told when we arrived that we had to leave a cash "deposit" for gear that we would get back upon returning our gear. As this is 2022, lots of people didn't have cash so had to leave a "deposit" of their Medicare card or drivers licence instead.

Upon disembarking the vessel in the pouring rain we made our way over to Foxy's Bar. Within 5 minutes of arriving part of the restaurant had been flooded out. All lockers were booked out so we just had to leave our belongings under cover at Foxy's when we went snorkelling and hope for the best.

Toilet facilities near Foxy's became muddier and muddier as the day went on. Had to get changed in a muddy toilet cubicle as there wasn't any changing facilities.

The glass bottom boat was not worth it. We got out to the reef just around the corner and had a look at some coral. The driver said "now, you may notice there's not many fish around. That's because it's not deep enough for them here."

"Oh that's alright," I thought to myself, "I bet we will go out a bit deeper to see the fish. Nope, instead we turned around and went back to shore. A bit disappointing to go on a Glass Bottom boat and not see any fish. I saw the same coral on the boat as I did snorkelling close to the shore.
Written 21 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey there, Thanks so much for your review - we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the facilities on Fitzroy Island. Unfortunately we have no control over the resort, restaurants or weather on the island, as we are the transfer operator. If you feel like updating your review to reflect the experience you had with our transfer service & staff, that would be much appreciated :)
Written 26 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lsrgirl
Brisbane, Australia46 contributions
We took Fitzroy Day trip as wanted to do the scenic walk. The staff on the boat were awesome and very friendly considering rough seas and overcast weather. Definitely do the walk first thing off the boat as it is very steep and took us about two hours. We then went and had lunch at foxys which was okay. We ended up taking 2pm boat back as if you are not snorkelling then not very welcoming to day trippers with no where to sit comfortably when weather bad. The resort looks quite run down to be honest. There was a school group so half restaurant tables blocked off so no where to sit and enjoy lunch/drinks to relax and enjoy the view and the guy who was singing who was awesome but again not enough seats. Definitely go there when weather is sunny as you are out in the elements. Green island had better set up for day trippers in my opinion.
Written 21 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey there, Thanks so much for your review - we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear that you struggled to find space to enjoy yourselves on Fitzroy Island. Unfortunately we have no control over the resort or the restaurants on the island, but we are very happy to hear that our staff were awesome. If you feel like updating your review to reflect the experience you had with our transfer service & staff, that would be much appreciated :)
Written 30 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gunner do
Newcastle, Australia565 contributions
Jun 2022
This is a hyped up expensive ferry ride to Fitzroy Island. There is no adventure on the island just coral beaches which are impossible to walk on. The brochure is suggestive of lots of extras which do not exist.
True there are glass bottom boat tours at extra cost!
The trip to the Island is at a fast pace, bouncing from wave to wave. Unfortunately the safety talk inside the cabin is delivered at a rapid pace with unintelligible words strung together. Should there be a problem no one would have any idea on what to do.
I was unimpressed with this so called "Tour" and amazed at the lack of sincerity in their safety procedures.
Written 30 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Gunnerdo, Sorry to read of your disappointment. You are correct in suggesting we offer a ferry service to the island, this is how it's advertised and can confirm the price is similar if not better than other companies travelling to the Island on a transfer only basis. You are correct in suggesting we offer a number of extras, as per the brochure and the website, these are optional at an extra cost if required. I am unsure what you are referring to when you suggest a number of these don't exist ? The Snorkel equipment hire, the snorkel tours, the GBB tours and the picnic lunch options all exist ? Bouncing from wave to wave would very much depend on weather conditions and I can assure you we take safety procedures extremely seriously for both our passengers and crew members. If you'd like to email me and point out what inaccuracies we have in a brochure, I'd be more than happy to follow these up for you, my email address is c.koscielny@experienceco.com Regards, Chris
Written 5 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Loudy
2 contributions
Gorgeous island, bit of a tricky path to Nudey Beach but worth it. Snorkelling was stunning with experienced divers finding new things to see. Wear shoes with grip as there are a few rocks to clamber across to get to the beach. The family group were 60 years to six months old including a toddler.
Written 18 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback and 5 star review. We are please to hear that you had such a good experience with us and enjoyed Fitzroy Island. Hopefully you will be able to come back for another adventure some time :)
Written 20 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rochelle C
Sydney, Australia11 contributions
Jan 2022
Overcrowded on boat, most of our party of 12 didn’t get seats on the trip there.
Four of our snorkels leaked so we couldn’t snorkel together and no apology was received and no refund offered. Snorkelling was the whole point of the trip so this was a lot of money for a crowded ferry to Fitzroy Island.
Written 15 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Rochelle, Thank you for your feedback. We take these comments very seriously and we'd like to follow up with you to get a better understanding of your experience. If you would like to discuss this further, please email c.koscielny@experienceco.comwith your full name and booking reference at your earliest convenience. Thank you in advance!
Written 14 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Holly O
3 contributions
Dec 2020 • Couples
The island itself has a beautiful reef and the snorkelling is good. However, the beach is uncomfortable with no where to sit beside on rough coral.

The biggest problem were the boats we travelled on. To begin with the first boat had engine failure and we had to move to a different boat and then on the way home the boat we came on also had engine failure which resulted in an hour delay which we were only informed of when we went to board. After 7 hours in the sun this was extremely frustrating.

Unless you are an avid diver/snorkeler I would not recommend coming to this island. We certainly will not be back.

On a positive note the turtle rescue centre is heartwarming.
Written 28 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Holly, Sorry to read of your disappointment. I appreciate we had mechanical issues that day which doesn't help with a positive experience, however I did read on another review platform from a customer who travelled on the same departure and they we're impressed how we handled this so professionally. It's disappointing to read you wouldn't recommend the Island when we have so many 5 star reviews of it. We do appreciate your feedback though Holly and apologise for any time lost. Regards, Chris
Written 28 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

funkyhughes23
Melbourne, Australia314 contributions
Jan 2020
I preface this by saying I visited Fitzroy Island a few years back and promptly named it my favourite place on Earth. I was dying to get back there and got the opportunity again recently, but was left a bit flat. The prices to get out there had increased significantly, the coral that was once able to be enjoyed from literally a metre off the beach seems to have been lost/destroyed and as a consequence there was nowhere near as many fish to enjoy. Also, the resort has become very precious about you using their facilities - they actually have a security guard outside the toilets to make sure people who have not paid to use them don't go in! The glass bottomed boat allowed us to see two sea turtles, which was great, and certainly more coral than snorkelling allowed. The turtle rehab centre was great too. There weren't as many butterflies etc. as last time so the island has lost some of its lustre. If you have never experienced the coral reefs etc. I would still recommend it, but if you've been before and are trying to recreate the experience I would steer clear as it's not what it once was.
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Funkyhughes, Thanks for your feedback and sorry to read you think the Island has lost some sparkle. There are some amazing coral patches and marine life at Fitzroy, these will be highlighted in a forthcoming video we've just shot there last week. The Island does offer free toilet facilities, however the resort do charge for use of theirs unless you are using the services of the bar or restaurant. Thanks and regards, Chris
Written 10 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 154
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Fitzroy Island Adventures
Christine c
Christine c
00
Definitely worth a visit.
We opted to do a half day tour leaving around 11 am and retiring on the 2 pm boat. In our case this was a mistake
Warren T
Warren T
00
Great half day tour.
Just have to say WOW. What a great experience we had today. Sailed at 11am. Returned on the 2pm ferry. Enough time
sydneylovestotravel
sydneylovestotravel
00
Half day trip not worth it
Although the website promises 2h on the island it was past 12.30 when we arrived and so we only spent just over an
Meredith F
Meredith F
00
A great day
Well worth the trip. You can snorkel very safely by yourselves and see an array of fish and coral very close to the
david_mary-ann
david_mary-ann
00
Great day out
We took a trip out to Fitzroy Island for the day to do a bit of snorkelling on the beach. It was a bit rainy, but t
MissFlavour
MissFlavour
00
A great trip to the stunning Fitzroy Island.
The staff are lovely, all very professional and friendly. Safety tips covered well with a little humour which was a
andreaabradley
andreaabradley
00
Great Day at Fitzroy Island w/ Raging Thunder.
We had a wonderful day. Lots of good snorkeling - nice reefs toward the rocks, a lot of fish at Nudey beach. We enj
ruben d
ruben d
00
Fitzroy Island - Great day out
we went to Fitzroy Island with the family for the first time. only 45min ferry trip from Cairns its a great option
LirazS231
LirazS231
00
Great experience
Beautiful place, the staff was very kind, excellent snorkeling gear and beach gear (kayaks and saps), good lunch, h
Sam753
Sam753
00
it was ok
Fitzroy island is a beautiful place for photos etc but we did need the full stinger suit, snorkelling near the pier
b0bz80
b0bz80
00
A fantastic family day out!
We regularly visit Fitzroy Island as it is one of our favourite places for a family day out! The boat, food and sta
Yvonne S
Yvonne S
00
Not as great as I'd hoped
What a beautiful place but to find theres no toilet that's not guarded by a security guard really sucked! Maybe you
LaurenH9818
LaurenH9818
00
Baby Sharks, Turtles, and Stingrays!
My husband and I had a great time at Fitzroy Island. We were there in stinger season, so we had to wear full lycra
TJK6
TJK6
00
Tropic thunder
Fitzroy island is a stunning place, crystal clear water plenty of marine life including black tip reef sharks. Real
284carolinen
284carolinen
00
Worst day ever
Lucky we purchased the full day tour (well not really... wanted to get off that island as quick as possible) 45 min
Frequently Asked Questions about Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns price starts from S$79.05. Discover and book Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns on Tripadvisor

Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns on Tripadvisor

Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns is hosted by Fitzroy Island Adventures. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Fitzroy Island Adventures on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns on Tripadvisor