Tours and Tickets

Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise

By Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari
Recommended by 92% of travellers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Search for whales, dolphins, and seabirds during a tour of the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park—it’s just a short boat ride from Auckland city’s Viaduct Harbour. You’ll board a luxury catamaran, custom-built as a marine mammal research vessel, and learn from the expertise of your crew. Enjoy an interactive half-day cruise.
from
S$147.21
per adult
from
S$147.21
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 99 per group
Duration:4h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
German, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, French, Spanish

Highlights
  • Half-day whale watching cruise in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park
  • Learn from experts on board working to protect marine mammals
  • Each passenger contributes to important conservation efforts
  • Catamaran departs Viaduct Harbour in central Auckland

  • Local guide
  • Every ticket purchased contributes directly to Marine Mammal Conservation
  • Expert commentary/Interaction with our onboard Marine Research Scientists
What's not included
  • Food and drinks (available to purchase)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off


Departure details
  • New Zealand Maritime Museum, Corner of Quay and Hobson Street, Auckland CBD, Auckland 1140, New Zealand Please arrive at least 15min prior to departure
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6608AWDS

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Advisable to dress in warm layers and weatherproof gear as weather can be unpredictable
  • Advisable to bring sun hat (with chin strap to secure it), sunscreen, sunglasses, camera, binoculars and flat-soled shoes
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • IMPORTANT: Check in closes 15 minutes prior to stated departure time. Those passengers who are late risk losing their allocated seats.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise?
How much is Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise?
Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise price starts from S$144.08. Discover and book Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise on Tripadvisor
What is the Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise cancellation policy?
Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise?
Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise is hosted by Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6608AWDS

About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

Taylor_Rathie
Taylor_Rathie
00
Memorable
We had an absolutely wonderful time on the whale and dolphin watching tour! We saw, penguins, a New Zealand fur sea
KayMac87
KayMac87
00
Awesome experience
Crew were awesome, full of information, happy to be asked questions, were welcoming and friendly. Saw dolphins whic
454545hfhgghhhhkelqb
454545hfhgghhhhkelqb
00
Fantastic day and great company to support
Fantastic day on the boat! The crew was super knowledgeable and giving great information about the research they’ve
F3738SIjoer
F3738SIjoer
00
Great trip
Awesome day on the water out in beautiful Hauraki Gulf. Great team. Seen birds, dolphins, whales and even American
johnfindlay1958
johnfindlay1958
00
Fantastic afternoon
My wife and I enjoyed a beautiful afternoon out on the water. The boat was clean, fast and totally fit for purpose.
RadiomaninLaos
RadiomaninLaos
00
Great Value for Money
Remember this is nature and whatever your expectations are remember that you are a visitor in the Dolphins, Whales
ravinderksethi
ravinderksethi
00
Thanks
Very nice trip Seen dolphins in life first time Cruise speed was excited and dolphins plays with it.
kylemillar33
kylemillar33
00
Awesome experience
We had a wonderful trip with a very informative crew. I highly recommend this trip to people of any age.
nigelvedder
nigelvedder
00
Taupo Outing
We had a great time. Skipper and Crew were excellent, skipper very entertaining on putting things across. Boat was
515dee
515dee
00
Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari
We have had excellent service from the team. We attended on Sunday the 1st of March and saw an amazing pod of over
Dreamer21078034878
Dreamer21078034878
00
Whale & Dolphins
After 2 attempt re-scheduled due to bad weather we were fortunate to be on the lucky one. Plenty dolphins and a wha
11Nicknick
11Nicknick
00
Excellent experience
Far exceeded expectations.Well put together tour, very informative and knowledgeable staff made the experience a fu
johnS6473LA
johnS6473LA
00
simply amazing
love it and anyone considering going. you definitely should. it’s very educational too. the dolphins are super cute
HapppyTony
HapppyTony
00
A Great morning trip out with this knowledgeable team
I am late with a big “Thank You” for Whale and dolphin Watching – my wife and I had a really great time and saw a
jd732019
jd732019
00
Awesome experience
We were lucky to see a huge pod of dolphins and a bryde whale. The staff were lovely and offered great education ab
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
1,099 reviews
Excellent
881
Very good
141
Average
37
Poor
12
Terrible
28

Liztills
Jackson Hole, WY9 contributions
We went with this company today and they truly are wonderful. We came to Auckland on a last minute trip and needed to find things to do last minute. I highly recommend this tour because the guides are all so knowledgeable on board and you can really see how much they care. We got to see dolphins, a Pygmy blue whale, and a penguin! This tour was wonderful and I definitely recommend booking this trip early so you can experience a trip you’ll never forget.
Written 4 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Glenn T
Auckland Central, New Zealand39 contributions
Feb 2021 • Family
Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari THANK YOU once again. Today (7th Feb) my family and I boarded the 1:30 outing on a stunning Sunday. Skippered by the knowledgeable Gary and very ably crewed by an equally knowledgeable and passionate Liz, Briar and Kirsty the trip did not disappoint. The passion and engagement of the crews with passengers was outstanding. The announcements informative and lively, even the warning of “don’t sit there you’ll get wet” most ignored, as they always do and yes they got wet ! But that’s a part of the experience. We sailed out into the Gulf and soon found a plethora of dolphins and gannets in their world. Children screamed in delight while Kirsty explained the life of a dolphin. A thousand photos and videos later we’d heard an orca had been spotted and headed for the area. But, this time the orca had escaped our prying eyes so we sailed back after about 4 hours back to our human world. Happy that the money raised from ticket and shop sales goes towards the research AWADS carries out, happy that we’d had an envious glimpse of another world in its natural beauty. Thank you team, an awesome day and safe to say we’ll be back ♥️
Written 7 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Safari56899416608
Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your amazing 5 star review of your time with us last week! Our crew really are passionate about what they do and they enjoy sharing it with our passengers. We can't wait to have you come back out with us again soon!
Written 11 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pippa F
6 contributions
Jul 2022
This was our second trip with Auckland Whale and Dolphin Safari. We had a complimentary voucher from a trip five years ago when we hadn't seen very much. It's great that the company offers this so you can be sure you get to see some whales or dolphins at some point.

It was a stunning winters day and going out on the lovely boat alone was a nice day out. It took a while to find them but eventually we came across gannets feeding which led us to a huge pod of dolphins. They were swimming in front of the boat for ages. It was a such a special experience for our whole family.

The staff on the boat were brilliant and I have to mention George because he was brilliant with my four year old who followed him around asking him questions including can she drive the boat about 50 times.

The trip was also really educational and it was great to learn about all the research that they are doing, My girls really enjoyed helping out with the experiments that were carried out on the boat.

Thank you so much for a brilliant day out.
Written 1 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MikeETG
Kia Ora 339pippaf, thank you for taking the time to write your review and so glad you had a great time viewing the huge pod of dolphins and especially your feedback on Geroge, I will make sure and pass along the feedback to him.
Written 4 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

L K
2 contributions
Aug 2021
I bought 2 tickets to the Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching safari last year and the trip was cancelled due to weather. At the time I could have taken a refund for the tickets. I explained via email it would be very difficult to to go again with that friend on another date. The company ignored this and suggested to get a voucher instead of a refund and I felt that since they had probably been affected by Covid-19 it would be the kinder thing to do. I accepted the vouchers assuming since I had purchased the tickets that I could take another friend on a later date. Now I have gone to use the tickets (purchased at full price) and they refuse to let anyone else use the second ticket. They would rather it went to waste. This is despite it making no difference to them in terms of numbers and despite me having purchased both tickets myself. Other companies do not operate like this, I would expect it from an airline but not from a tourist boat trip. The company was not clear in their communication at the time of cancellation as I would have clearly taken a refund had that been the case. I wish I hadn't tried to support a local business who have been so rude. It now seems both tickets will be wasted.
Written 9 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MikeETG
Good morning IK833. Thank you for your review and feedback regarding the trip you booked. I believe there has been some miscommunication regarding your tickets. You are allowed a full refund on trips purchased that are cancelled due to weather. If you had a "go again for free voucher" because we didn't see marine mammals on your trip this does not qualify as a refund as the voucher is valid for life. If you could please contact us directly and ask for the email to be sent through to Mike we can get this sorted for you.
Written 10 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jan
1 contribution
Mar 2020
I definitely don't recommend you this company. The crew, boat and our cruise was nice but the customer post-service was insufficient and their terms about sighting guarantee are inapplicable for most of the foreigner tourists. I usually don't give a negative rating, but now I had to do exception. I understand that the weather cannot be influenced, but their guarantee is promoted, therefore I would like to notify other travelers about its conditions before theirs experiences. During our watching was bad weather, therefore cruise was shortened and we didn’t see a whale, therefore the crew offered us after cruise a complimentary voucher, that is enable to use only for any following cruise with this company, only in Auckland and only based on verification by the same ID (non-transferable). We explained our situation, that we are only 3 weeks in NZ, and only limited time in Auckland due to our already planned and paid activities in other places. We were able to take only morning cruises, however these were not held during March. Even voucher has no expiry it is unlikely that we will be able visit NZ due to the our very high travel expense. Then we explained the same situation to the customer support and ask for possibility of money refund and revocation of the voucher. There we got confirmation that refund was put through their system now and we will have it all processed on next business day. Based on this confirmation we paid other cruise. Although few days later we got a message that refund is not possible to process due to their terms and conditions, that it was a mistake.
Simply we will never be able to use their voucher and we had to spend extra money for whale watching with different company. It is not standard refund policy, I would like to recommend other NZ company (e.g. in Kaikoura), where is money refund guaranteed.
Nevertheless we really enjoyed the lovely New Zealand and nice people and nature there.
Written 22 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review, racansky_honza. We are pleased that you enjoyed your safari experience exploring Auckland's Hauraki Gulf Marine Park with us. We do apologise for the miscommunication in regards to being able to obtain a refund. As clearly stated on our website and booking conditions, we offer a Sightings Guarantee in the form of complimentary vouchers. We do this in lieu of offering refunds so that, if you are unfortunate enough to be in the <5% of trips that can't locate any marine mammals (in this instance, an inaccurate marine forecast hindered the ability for our crew to locate the wildlife), there is another opportunity to try again which, many of our passengers who receive these vouchers do. There is no expiry date so we always suggest to keep the voucher safe in case you do return to New Zealand. The current record is 13 years in between visits! We do hope that you will visit New Zealand again one day in the future and be able to join us on board.
Written 25 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

callovertheworld
Mandaluyong, Philippines54 contributions
The tour itself was fun and educational. We stayed out in the front of the catamaran. We regreted it though whent he sea became rough. It is nature and we cannot complain. The thing though is with rough waves t is more difficult to do sightings.
We saw around 6 whales of different kinda..toobad though about the waves.
The service of the staff aboard I noticed is excellent because they cared about those who had seasickness.
Written 19 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AnnaS_ETG
Kia ora, Thanks so much for your review. It is a shame that the sea became rough, but like you say - nature controls that part of the cruise! It is great to hear the crew were excellent especially helping with the passengers who became seasick. We appreciate the feedback.
Written 15 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dathanscage
Frederick, CO19 contributions
Worth the trip. We saw dolphin pods, penguins, and lots of other marine birds on our trip. The staff is really knowledgeable about local wildlife, a portion of the ticket fee goes toward NZ conservation, and they even take measurements on the trip to donate to local wildlife studies. Lots of viewing areas on the boat, with a few comfy and warm indoor lounges if standing on the deck isn't your thing. Food is also available to buy on the trip, and a little hot chocolate during the chilly boat ride is a treat.
Written 28 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

dick c
Port d'Alcudia, Spain15 contributions
Don’t go expecting to see whales at this time of year it’s a very expensive dolphin trip. The captain said they rarely see whales in the summer although the booking staff lead you to believe they do. And as long as you see a dolphin you got what you paid for.
A decent trip but do feel cheated as we specifically asked about whales not mammals.
Written 17 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review, icky01. Whilst we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed not to see any whales on this occasion, it does sound like there was a miscommunication in regards to the chances of spotting whales during our summer months. We are extremely fortunate to have both whales and dolphins resident here in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park year-round, including in the summer. In fact, we've just enjoyed a very successful month of whale sightings for the month of January, with 2/3rds of our trips enjoying encounters! What may not have been conveyed effectively, is that the whales are sometimes spread over a larger area during these warmer periods and also spend less time feeding which can make locating them a little harder for us - after all, we cannot control where the wildlife is on any given day. As evidenced by previous reviews, we do place very high standards on our trips. For this reason we have our 'Quality Guarantee' in place. This focuses more on the level of experience as a whole, and provides a return trip completely free of charge if we don't feel like a trip has met these standards, regardless of whether marine-mammals (either whales or dolphins) have been seen. We hope that our response to your review provides a better explanation and hope that we will see you on board again in the future.
Written 19 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Monet R
Philadelphia59 contributions
Jan 2020
What a gorgeous afternoon spent out in the harbor and ocean! Clear blue skies, warm with a chilly breeze. We saw countless dolphins who chased our boat to surf our boat waves. They jumped and delighted us numerous times. The diving gannets and petrels led us to several whales as well. We saw three separate Bryde's Whales feeding and diving during our trip. We also saw two penguins. The staff includes biologists who share the conservation studies and research that the boat assists with for the sea life of New Zealand. They offered a flash drive for purchase with photos they took during the trip in case you either didn't bring your phone or camera or wanted better pics. What a great idea. I recommend sitting in the front up high. If you sit low and front be prepared to get wet as the splash can get high. There is an inside area as well as refreshments for purchase. I would go out again in a heartbeat. It was a fantastic and magical day and I enjoyed every moment.
Written 20 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your 5* review, Monet R! We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your safari experience out in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park with us and that you were able to view plenty of wildlife as well as learn a lot about the marine environment. We hope to see you on board again in the future!
Written 20 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David S
6 contributions
Jan 2020
Absolutely amazing boat trip with an amazing crew. We saw dolphins and a whale - dolphins all around the boat, jumping, having fun. Lovely and entertaining crew provided just the right amount of interesting facts and kept the journey fun. Incredible really and well worth the money. I will recommend to friends visiting Auckland. Thanks!
Written 11 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your 5* review, Dvid! We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your safari experience and were able to view both dolphins and whales whilst learning some new facts about our oceans. We hope to see you on board again in the future.
Written 12 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,086

Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise