Tours and Tickets
Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour
4.5

Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour

By Shaka Guide GPS Driving Tours
About
Shaka Guide's driving tour app works like a tour guide in your car! On this tour drive along beautiful green coastlines, through tropical jungle roads, and go star gazing on the tallest mountain in the world. We've done our research so you will not miss a thing! Just sit back and listen to fun stories along the way. Skip the tour bus & explore Big Island at your own pace for a fraction of the cost with the best self-guided audio GPS tours for Hawaii! Rated the #1 best GPS tour app for Hawaii with over 6,000+ raving reviews and 200,000+ downloads. Why you need it: ✅ You don't need service because you can download the tours & use them offline ✅ Much cheaper than a tour bus at only $19.99 for lifetime access ✅ Save time planning your trip because we have the best stops lined up ✅ Freedom to stop and go as you please, unlike a tour bus where you are confined to the pre-determined route (no fun!) ✅ Hear cool and fun stories along the way
from
S$27.97
per group (up to 15)
Lowest price guaranteeFree cancellation

Ages 0-120
Duration: 2 days
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Audio guide: English
More
Written guide
Print or digital reading material such as a guide, map, brochure, etc.
: English
More


  • 6-8 hours of audio content
  • Offline map of the island
  • Audio that triggers based on location
  • Dozens of interesting stories of the island
  • Perfect itinerary of your entire vacation
  • Turn-by-turn navigation
  • Virtual tour guide
What's not included
  • Crowded group tour
  • Entry/Admission - Waimea Town Market
  • Entry/Admission - Waipio Valley Lookout
  • Entry/Admission - Hamakua Heritage Farm
  • Entry/Admission - Laupahoehoe Beach Park
  • Entry/Admission - Laupahoehoe Train Museum
  • Entry/Admission - Akaka Falls State Park
  • Entry/Admission - Onomea Bay
  • Entry/Admission - Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
  • Entry/Admission - Rainbow Falls
  • Entry/Admission - Boiling Pots
  • Entry/Admission - Kaumana Caves Park
  • Entry/Admission - Naha Stone
  • Entry/Admission - Banyan Drive
  • Entry/Admission - Coconut Island
  • Entry/Admission - Imiloa Astronomy Center
  • Entry/Admission - Saddle Road
  • Entry/Admission - Mauna Kea Observatories
  • Entry/Admission - Big Island Candies
  • Entry/Admission - Mauna Kea Observatories

Start:Multiple meeting point options.
  • Option 1
    Hilo, HI 96720, USA
  • Option 2
    Waikoloa Village, HI, USA
  • Option 3
    Kailua-Kona, HI, USA
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Infant seats available
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 102020P21

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour?
    How much is Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour?
    Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour price starts from S$26.86. Discover and book Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour on Tripadvisor
    What is the Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour cancellation policy?
    Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour?
    Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour is hosted by Shaka Guide GPS Driving Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Shaka Guide GPS Driving Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 102020P21

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    Overview
    Full Map
    20 stops
    Day 1
    North Island Jungle Adventure -...
    Day 2
    North Island Jungle Adventure -...
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Shaka Guide GPS Driving Tours
      331
      Maui, United States
      Joined in October 2018
    • karwalkers
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Drive at your own pace and enjoy!!
      We used Shaka on Oahu for the Grnd Circle Island tour. It was a bit confusing getting out of Waikiki, mainly because there weren’t always street signs and there were occasional lags. But once we got going, it was an excellent ride. Sad that our rental car had to be back in Waikiki by 5 pm, so we had to skip some opportunities to hike or snorkel. We used Shaka Guided tours on The Big Island and on Kauai, and we thought the easiest ones to follow were on Kauai - but ALL of them have spectacular views, tons of great information re places to stop for restrooms or food and of course hikes, other activities, historical sites, waterfalls, you name it. We definitely recommend using Shaka, but advise that you familiarize yourself with the way the app works (he tells you).
      Written 12 April 2024
    • David-from-CT
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Frustrating. We so wanted to love these apps, but...
      I wrote this review for the Kauai bundle, but it stands true for the Big Island bundle as well. First up, the concept is great and when it worked it was fantastic. Loads of useful information, interesting stories - just what you'd hope for from a first rate guide on a private tour. The Shaka Tours narrator is a little hokey (which took a little getting used to) and it was a relief when we figured out how to turn off the background music. There's only so much ukulele music you can take. I have nothing but praise for the information and tales provided. BUT using the apps was a fingers in the eyes, frustrating experience. 1 - Mostly the tours run only one way. So annoying. I feel that this is the makers cheaping out. The content would be the same, it just needs running as a pair of apps. (Manually running the buttons was awful because many steps are a leading on to the next stop so it gets confusing really quickly.) 2 - Where you have crossing or looping tours the app gets confused and will flip you between legs. Wildly confusing as right becomes left and as you are 'trusting' the app you can quickly be baffled. On day one we learned to run Google maps on our other phone so we knew when we'd been sent wrong. The method of previewing the route is awful. Hard to get into, and zooms in and out depending on your activity state. 3 - The turn instructions are really dicey. They rely purely on GPS location (it would seem) so you get something like 'Turn right here" - which if you are on a 50 mph road in busy traffic may not be safe or practical. And keep in mind it will at times flip left with right as it seems to lose track of your direction. And joining the tours (we used 8 in our two week vacation) never worked once. Both these issues would be easily solved by just adding a little more information - it knows where you are - so, saying "Turn right just ahead by the mailbox (or whatever)" or join the tour at a fixed place - "Start the tour outside Safeway (or whatever)" would be so much easier. So, it it worth it. Yes. Would we buy it again. Yes - we bought one as a trial, then the rest of the bundle for a week on Kauai, then bought the Big Island bundle for our second week. Could it be better - oh, boy, it sure could. Bring your patience.
      Written 11 April 2024
    • catherines275
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      ROAD TO HANA
      I love Shaka!!! it is a great app. We learned so much about the area and history of the Hana side!! Did some great hiking up the Bamboo Forest and such. I will say this..... IF YOU HAVE a large vehicle stay off of the Road to Hana. We were pushed off (on the cliff side) by someone in a Suburban because they didn't want to move over. Learn the rules of the road. Mountain side moves over, not the cliff side. AND...The person climbing up the hill always has right away, the person coming down the hill will need to pull over the side or reverse should it be necessary.
      Written 19 March 2024
    • theadventuringsun
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Meh
      It’s nice but honestly had me panicking if I made a wrong turn. The problem was that there was a whole portion of the route that was closed due to construction and the app does not help with that. As a first time solo traveler, it sucked being lost in the mountains and having terrible signal.
      Written 18 March 2024
    • kristindunlap2024
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Awesome travel buddy on the Road to Hana
      We used this for the Road to Hana and we loved it. From clear directions to quick summaries about stops, we thought it was engaging and funny too! The VO was conversational and told us about the history of different areas. When we came upon a stopping place, he let us know if it was worth our time or about how long it would take, if you needed reservations, if it was free or not and if they had restrooms. The app was very detailed and helpful. We wouldn't travel without it!
      Written 8 March 2024
    • lynnsiek2019
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Loved it!
      Wish we knew our guide’s name bc we referred to him often even after our trip! He was entertaining and educational and funny. We learned much more than we knew we needed to about Hawai’i. So easy to use.
      Written 5 March 2024
    • H6758EGalb
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      So-so; not enough content.
      I bought 3 tours individually; Page, Zion, Sedona. Page was pretty good, Sedona was ok, and Zion wasn't very good. There just wasn't enough content, and too much music filler. I didn't pay for music; I have my own if I want to listen to music. Zion in particular had very little content when driving Zion Canyon road. Seems to me, there would be a lot more to talk about there. Additionally, I had some trouble getting it to work when I didn't start at their starting point. Once, it thought I was at the end, so it didn't say anything as I went through the waypoints, since it thought I already went through them in the opposite direction. It didn't seem to work very well if you didn't stay on their intended route.
      Written 5 March 2024
    • kennedylois1
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Disappointed
      My phone didn't want to work well with the app. Couldn't get it to work with the vehicle. Didn't know where to turn until past the place to turn. May try again with the new phone.
      Written 22 February 2024
    • Trippin213
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Well worth it and never expires
      I have used the Shaka guide on Kauai and on the Big Island. I like that you get a little history, they never expire so you can keep them and use them when you go back and that take you to places you may miss if you are trying to explore on your own. You can jump on anywhere and go clockwise or counter clockwise and skip any stops that you are not interested in seeing. You can also pause and pick up at a later date or time. I highly recommend this driving tour.
      Written 22 February 2024
    • 280jacquelynh
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Awesome but would be even better with updates
      App is awesome when the timing is correct. We bought the bundle of 5 and seemed to have started a 10-12 hour tour when our intent was the 4-6 hour. Development should create it as a choose your own adventure style and put in your hours available and starting point then direction, and provide the stop options so it can be selected in advance. We have the bundle of 5 and they overlap so we didn’t have the most productive use of 12+ hours and missed many stops. These updates Would take it to the next level. Definitely worth the money but the bundle is confusing.
      Written 8 February 2024
    • Tdub0110
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Would not Activate
      Code would not activate on the app. Called during business hours and message stated they were closed. Ended up successfully downloading in the Shaka app and liked the tour however it was twice as expensive.
      Written 2 February 2024
    • 415kend
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A tour guide in your backseat!
      We used this app in Oahu and Kauai . We rented cars and the app provided navigation guidance, narrated the highlights and history. It provides info for scenic stops, beaches, cultural, and local fare for a snack or lunch.
      Written 21 January 2024
    • armska01
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Download now!
      We used Shaka Guide on Hawaii’s Big Island. IT WAS THE BEST!!! So helpful, informative, and fun. We were able to just relax and enjoy the ride. All while finding the best local spots. It made our vacation perfect. We learned a ton of history as well. We are so happy to see they have tours outside Hawaii and cannot wait to try them in the future. Thanks Shaka Guide for being our tour guide, it was the best trip!
      Written 31 December 2023
    • baldmoore
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great travel guide. Worth the money spent.
      bought the bundle which included road to Hana and Hauleakula crater. Don’t go without this guide. We saw more and learned more had we not had this informative and entertaining guide.
      Written 25 December 2023
    • K530SRchristinec
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Hawaii Adventures
      Loved these!!! We bought the 5 pack for the big island of Hawaii and used three as we had already driven two of the areas without the audio--sure wish I had ordered and downloaded earlier so we could have had the commentary for those as well. Really worth it!!
      Written 5 December 2023
    See all 331 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles6 reviews
    Excellent
    3
    Very good
    2
    Average
    1
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    0

    Debra S
    3 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2023
    We definitely went to some incredibly beautiful places on the north shore that we wouldn’t have found on our own, so the tour was definitely worth the $20. I found navigating the audio somewhat difficult, even after I got the hang of it. He often repeated himself. There were so many stops on the tour that we couldn’t possibly do them all! A great idea but needs some work!
    Written 3 April 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any confusion or inconvenience you may have had while you were on your Shaka Guide tour. We'd greatly appreciate it if you can email us at aloha@shakaguide.com and tell us more about your experience especially those ones that were repeated while you were on tour. We look forward to hearing from you. Mahalo!
    Written 3 May 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Phyllis K
    24 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2019
    We actucally purchased the tour to Hilo- but it is all similar. It was a good investment. Four of us took off early in the morning. The tour took us past many interesting things off the beaten path. We saw a huge lava cave that you could enter, ancient fisheries, great eating spots, coffee planttions, the list goes on. Along the way, the narrator tells ancient tales of the area. It was a good day.
    Written 12 November 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    So happy to hear you enjoyed your Shaka Guide tour. Mahalo for your review and hope to see you on more Shaka Guide adventures! 🤙🤙🤙
    Written 18 November 2019
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jpal
    Seattle, WA5 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2022 • Couples
    Excellent tour and we saw things, places we likely would have missed. Also let us stay covid safe with guided tour
    Written 13 January 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Big Island - North Island Jungle Driving Tour provided by Shaka Guide GPS Driving Tours

    All Island of Hawaii HotelsIsland of Hawaii Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Island of Hawaii
    All things to do in Island of Hawaii
    Day Trips in Island of Hawaii
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire