Tours and Tickets
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem
4.5

Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

By Bein Harim Tourism Services
About
Enjoy two of Israel’s top sights on this full-day tour from Jerusalem, all without transportation hassles or overlooking any details or places of interest en route. Hear about passing sights such as the Qumran Caves, catch a cable car at Masada to explore with a guide, and get ample time to enjoy the Dead Sea. Included entrance fees and central hotel pickup and drop-off make everything super-smooth and convenient.
from
S$155.29
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 4-99, max of 40 per group
Duration: 9h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: German, English, French, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Hassle-free day trip to Masada and Dead Sea from Jerusalem by coach
  • Tour Masada’s ruins with a guide to learn about its past
  • Unrushed visit to Dead Sea to relax in its waters and mineral mud
  • Extra convenient: includes entry fees, guide, and central hotel transfers

  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Cable Car up to Masada
  • Entrance fees
  • Entry/Admission - Masada National Park
  • Entry/Admission - Dead Sea
What's not included
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities

Depart your central Jerusalem hotel or other city-center location by air-conditioned coach and journey to Masada, where a crumbled ancient fortress covers a mountaintop. Along the way, listen as your guide points out places of interest, including the site of the bible’s Good Samaritan parable. Nearing Masada, experience panoramic views of the Dead Sea before riding the cable car for a guided tour of the 2,000-year-old mountain fortress and its relics. View and learn about the must-sees and hear about the mass suicide of Jewish zealots here in AD 74. Then, pass Ein Gedi and the Qumran Caves, where the Dead Sea Scrolls were found, and visit the Dead Sea, situated at the Earth’s lowest point. Enjoy ample time to wallow in the salt waters and mineral-rich mud before traveling back to Jerusalem past Jericho and ending your trip at the original starting point.

Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
    Pickup details
    • Please note that our pickup/drop-off is available from a few central hotels only. Please select the hotel closest to your address from the drop-down menu on the tour page. If you are not sure which of the listed hotels is a good fit, please choose the option “I don’t see my pickup location” and insert enter your accommodation address. After the booking is approved by the local tour operator, a confirmation email from Bein Harim will be sent to you mentioning the final pickup point closest to your address. Please read the email with the attached booking confirmation carefully to make sure you are waiting for the pickup at the correct location. Please make sure to wait for the pickup at the hotel entrance.
    Hotel pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
      End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

        • Not wheelchair accessible
        • Near public transportation
        If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5209MASDSJ

        • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
        • Recommended to bring hats, bathing suit, towels, sun protection.
        • Most travellers can participate
        • Please note this tour is not suitable for children under the age of 4
        • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
        • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers

        • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

        Which attractions will I visit with Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem?
        How much is Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem?
        Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem price starts from S$149.30. Discover and book Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem on Tripadvisor
        What is the Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem cancellation policy?
        Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem on Tripadvisor
        Which company provides Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem?
        Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem is hosted by Bein Harim Tourism Services. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Bein Harim Tourism Services on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem on Tripadvisor

        If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5209MASDSJ

        Reserve your spot
        Itinerary
        • You'll get picked up
          See departure details
        • 1
          Harei Yehuda
          Stop: 60 minutes
          See details
          Pass by
          Khan Al-Hatruri - The Good Samaritan Inn
        • 2
          Masada National Park
          Stop: 75 minutes - Admission included
          See details
        • 3
          Herod's Palace (Herodium)
          Stop: 60 minutes
          See details
          Pass by
          En Gedi Nature Reserve
          Qumran Caves
        • 4
          Dead Sea
          Stop: 90 minutes - Admission included
          See details
        • You'll return to the starting point

        Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

        Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

        Popular mentions

        4.5
        4.5 of 5 bubbles402 reviews
        Excellent
        290
        Very good
        63
        Average
        15
        Poor
        12
        Terrible
        22

        lehlioman
        Singapore, Singapore7 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jan 2023
        The good:
        Masada was a breathtaking sight. Wish we had a longer time there.
        Our tour guide Dan was entertaining and shared a lot of stories with us.
        Our group went to the dead sea before Masada, which seems like a better sequence as we got to see a quieter Masada against a setting sun.

        The not-so-good:
        The cumbersome pickup process. All Ben Harim tours to different destinations were picked up at David Citadel and brought to another location before the tourists waited at a cafe and were directed to different buses. This transfer process took over an hour. We hurried through breakfast to reach the pickup point at 750am and then waited more than an hour before getting onto our actual bus going to our destination, and this was not stated on the itinerary. What a waste of time.

        Poor customer service. I wrote to Ben Harim the day before the tour to ask about the lunch arrangement and the items to bring along for the dead sea. Did not receive any response. Only found out on the bus itself that towels need to be bought or rented from the resort we are heading to.

        Dead Sea. If you are not keen to soak in the water, not much else to do or see at the resort.

        The lunch venue. We were brought to the restaurant at Qumran National Park. Overpriced tourist place. If you brought your own food, you are not allowed to eat inside the restaurant, even though it was 10 degrees outside and there isn't a comfortable space for us to sit down and eat.

        On the whole, the tour was just alright, thanks mainly to Masada and a friendly guide.
        Written 11 January 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks for this detailed and sincere report of our services We are open to hearing such feedback in order to improve our services Jerusalem pickup system however much we try and understand is in need of improvement. It is certainly not a direct hop-on bus and embarks on tour procedure. (much of the logistics are complex as we operate free hotel pickups!! to save time and budget for travelers. Traffic and light rail closures etc are all contributors and the human factor. But indeed it is most irritating to have to wait. We do clearly state this is a pickup service before embarking on the actual tour. We intend to state this more clearly on tour confirmation to avoid misunderstanding It is a logistic we contend with daily. The Dead Sea region was hard hit during covid and restaurants are far and few to come by in order to serve volumes of travelers and groups. Kumaran is the only one! option in the northern Dead Sea area. (we cannot travel 50 km to the hotel district in the south just to eat..)Shore Beaches with facilities are really scarce ( 4 others didn't reopen due to the SInkhole phenomena in the region!!) You certainly can bring your own food, and we recommend this to those traveling here, The guide should direct you to an area where you can sit and eat. The Dead sea float is a unique swimming experience phenomenon rarely experienced anywhere else on the planet. For most this is awesome
        Written 14 January 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Pálma VD
        Milan, Italy7 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2020
        My husband and I participated at the Masada and Dead Sea tour on February 16. Our guide was Eric and we'd like to thank him again for the wonderful tour! He is simply great, it's easy to see that he loves his job and is enthusiast about sharing his knowledge. He speaks perfect English and Spanish and managed the tour perfectly in two languages. He is always ready to answer questions about history and culture, we learned a lot from him. Masada is a unique experience and we highly recommend to visit it with this organized tour because you will go back home with the feeling that you haven't just seen places but you also learned about them.
        The bus was clean and comfortable, pick-up and drop-off times and places were respected, the timing was just perfect. Really recommended!
        Written 18 February 2020
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        WOW!! thanks very much for this rave 5-star review of our tour and your guide Eric. He is most worthy of this favorable complimentary posting for his professionalism, wealth of knowledge and his fabulous engaging persona. He is highly skilled bilingually, managing capably guiding in both Spanish and English mother tongue, As u mention our travelers did not in any way feel compromised, not on information provided and not on quantity and quality of the day. As you wrote the locations visited were indeed spectacular, and it is great to read you came away with a meaningful and highly memorable tour experience to cherish. Your kind and sincere recommendation of our services is much appreciated by all at Bein Harim tourism. Hope to see you sometime soon again travel with us.
        Written 19 February 2020
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        G1992M
        1 contribution
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Apr 2022
        The day started quite early in Tel Aviv, but from the moment everyone was on the bus the overall mood was quite lively. We drove to Jerusalem to collect a few more riders, in addition to our incredible tour guide for the day, Dan. We made our way out of Jerusalem and towards Masada, with Dan providing an insightful commentary skillfully interwoven with historical facts, cultural observations, and a decent amount of humour. Masada itself was breathtaking, lunch was tasty, and the 1hr dip into the Dead Sea was definitely a memorable / once in a lifetime experience. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Israel who wants to experience the country off the beaten path, but who also appreciate history and geographical wonders—Also, aim for Dan to be your guide (:
        Written 17 April 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks so much for sharing your satisfaction with our guide dan and the whole tour management. Dan sure deserves your complements for his efforts and informative, indepth commentary. We are so happy you came away with a meaningful enjoyable and memorable tour experience with Bein Harim.
        Written 18 April 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        hannasofiastark
        Gothenburg, Sweden1 contribution
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jul 2023
        This was the perfect day trip into the desert! We had around 1,5 hours to spend on top of Masada and you could chose to go alone or with your guide. I’ll say go with the guide since they will provide you with unvaluable knowledge. Our guide Dan had great knowledge of general history, Masada, the area around the Dead Sea and also current history and events. He spoke clearly and always made sure the full group was gathered. Bring sun screen, water, a hat/cap and good walking shoes, or at least sneakers and not flip-flops to Masada. The lunch restaurant at Masada offers many options, such as a buffet with around five different mains + five different side dishes, such as fried rice, roasted potatoes etc, and a large sallad buffet. They also have burgers, falafel and fries. Vegan options among the sides and sallads but not the mains.

        The 1,5 hour stay at the Dead Sea is just enough since you can’t stay there for too long due to the heat (it was 43 degrees Celsius when we were there…) so I wouldn’t recommend taking a tour that let you stay there for many hours.

        NOTE: despite it saying on the map we were going to the south part of the Dead Sea, to Ein Bokek, we ended up going to the north, to Kalia Beach. You will still experience the strangeness of floating in the Dead Sea, and Kalia Beach has facilities such as two bars, restaurant, changing rooms, showers and restrooms. It was a bit of a disappointment for us since we were prepared to go to Ein Bokek since that is bigger and apparently cleaner but Kalia Beach was after all still okay.

        We are very happy with this tour and would recommend you to take it!
        Written 4 July 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thank you for sharing your feedback about your perfect day tour and the great guide, Dan Porges. We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience exploring the desert. However, we would like to address your comment about the destination discrepancy. You mentioned that it stated on the map that you were going to the south part of the Dead Sea, specifically Ein Bokek. We apologize for any confusion caused by this information. To ensure accuracy and improve our future tours, could you please let us know where you saw this reference to Ein Bokek? This will help us correct any misleading information and ensure that future travelers are properly informed.
        Written 5 July 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Mitch N
        Ra'anana, Israel1 contribution
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        This was the first time my nephew visited Israel.
        The tour guide was great, but although we were picked up on time (7:50), we were taken to a Cafe place and waited for about an hour and a half because one person had not shown up. Due to this, our visit to Masada was cut short.
        It wasn't the tour guides fault and she was upset about it, but mostly everyone waiting was not happy.
        Otherwise, the bus was great, but I was surprised it didn't have wi-fi. The bus driver was great.
        The wait at the coffee shop for so long, when I woke up early and gave up a breakfast at the hotel (that I paid extra for) so I can be on time , was annoying.
        Overall, my nephew enjoyed the sites.
        Written 30 June 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear Mitch, thanks for this feedback from which we must learn as well as investigate fully. Delays occur, but this is not usual to wait for a single traveler, certainly not 1.5 hrs as you have reported. The coffee shop wait doesn't seem to coincide with the tour schedule, not as you write. We'll look into this via the driver. It is indeed annoying to have to wait. Glad that you were satisfied with our guide and driver. Apologies from Ben Harim that you had to go through this. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
        Written 12 July 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Noelle M
        38 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        We booked 3 tours on 3 consecutive days as shore excursions from a Royal Carribean Cruise.
        First day Jerusalem & Bethlehem: long story short, it was horrible. They take you to a store that stuff is triple the price of the on street vendor and then they don’t give you time to shop. No time to see the important stuff just a quick run through. Very stressful, packed and guides most likely get kick back from places they force you to go to .

        Second day : Massad & Dead sea- Massad is a waste of time, the lines to get in are horrendous, takes forever and you are packed in like sardines. Its alot of walking and just boring and mundane information. It is better seen from a distance rather than wasting time going up. Dead sea was only 20 minutes. Barely enough time to get in. Don’t recommend the massad. I recommend going to spend the day at a resort on the dead sea. Wish I had more time at the dead sea, less time at the massad.

        Third day was in Haifa- again, everything is rushed. They only want to show you what they want and skip over important stuff.

        Food on all three days was HORRIBLE. Pack a snack because you will go 6 hours without eating. When you finally do go to a restaurant the food is terrible and expensive.

        💯 do NOT recommend this tour.
        Written 4 November 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear noellem218, We are most regretful to learn that this was the nature of your experience. When booking a group tour, you must understand that you are submitted to a tighter and more complex schedule. The businesses we work with are chosen carefully in order to provide warranty (stores, for example) and to serve large groups (restaurants, for another example). To be the master of your itinerary and schedule ,we recommend to book a private tour. We don't have control over lines in national parks and other touristic sites. The "important stuff" is your subjective perspective. All our guides are government licensed and professional and are given the credit and judgment to decide what's important.
        Written 6 November 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Gingerwizard5
        Cambridge, UK10 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        May 2022 • Couples
        Masada is without doubt a “must see” spectacular site. The Dead Sea is an unforgettable experience. However beware that this is a very long day tour of 9hrs: taking into account the 1.5hrs set aside to visit Masada and 1.5hrs for the Dead Sea the remaining 6 hours was inefficiently used; 3hours 20 minutes driving time but 3 hours was lost on pickups and logistics. You will most likely be picked up in a minibus and transferred to a larger bus near the University. There were 40 people on our tour which was too large a group. The lunch stop time would have been better used for more time at Masada or the Dead Sea where there were other (and less pricey) lunch options.
        The tour guide was ‘efficient’ with her explanations but we were very uncomfortable listening to personal opinions regarding the current tensions in Israel which weren’t helpful, and we didn’t think benefited the tour.
        Written 22 May 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear Ginger, Thanks for this review. Indeed tour and time management is an important skill for all our guides. You can understand in high season (especially after Covid and lockdown of 2 years) when there is demand then tours are certainly run as large groups. This does not in any way deter from the locations visited in the commentary provided. Lunch stops are very few in this deserted region. We stop where it is convenient to cater to groups. We cannot go without a lunch stop and certainly cannot fit into a schedule a drive only for lunch but rather a restaurant on the way. We certainly will reiterate the manner and non-voicing of personal opinions. This is not acceptable. Sincerely; Bein Harim team
        Written 24 May 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Paul H
        2 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2023
        A great trip guided by Itamar. Very clear prior information send to me about where and when to meet the tour bus which arrived bang on time.
        Some faffing around at the site (a cafe with a great city view but far too few toilets) where all the tour buses converge to then place people onto the specific bus for the tour, but although the instructions were pretty clear some people still didn't do as asked so our poor tour guide wasted around 20 minutes trying to find a few passengers.
        Itamar gave us lots of information on the coach about the history of the area which was all fascinating.
        Masada was really interesting and a great visit. The palace is an utter ruin but Itamar tried to bring it to life with his historical stories. The mountain is really high and the desert and Dead Sea views are breathtaking.
        Then a stop for lunch at a truly awful and thoroughly crowded 'eating factory' (again with far few toilets for the masses of people there). The nearly 2 hours there was far too long. I'd suggest you just tell everyone to bring a packed lunch of their own and avoid this hell-hole.
        Then to the Dead Sea where the 1.5 hours we had allocated actually went by really fast when you take into account the changing and a bit of a walk to the shore. I was rocky underfoot as you first get into the water so you have to walk carefully although there is soft mud then in most of the water. It was great fun to float there - a real life time experience and a great view across the Sea to Jordan.
        Then back to the hotels in Jerusalem.
        Well done Itamar - a very good and well organised tour. And you kept your calm so well when some of the people on the tour did not do as you asked (your instructions were really clear!) and you had to search for them at cabled car at Masada.
        Written 7 March 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks so much for such a detailed in depth review. of your tour experience. It will certainly paint a vivid picture for others who read this! Itamar is most worthy of your compliments for his pleasant engaging manner and skillful tour management.
        Written 9 March 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Nuno Paiva
        Kingston, Canada48 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2023 • Couples
        Masada is a very interesting place to visit and to know its history. We were lucky to have a brilliant storyteller that explained in detail what happened there 2000 years ago. Incredible view of the Dead Sea. The restaurant could be better but you can have a quick and nice meal there for an affordable price.
        The Dead Sea was a must have experience, funny and unique. Remember to take water shoes (going in with no shoes can be painful, you can buy them for $25) and towels, and just sit in that warm water and relax. Use the mud, our skin was shinny and so soft after using it. There’s a shower there that quickly removes the mud.
        The trip was smooth and well organized and the bus was comfortable. Highly recommended.
        Written 17 February 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks very much for sharing this info as well as your satisfaction with your tour guide and with our services. We could pass it on if you would mention his name. and your recommendation to bring aqua shoes for the sharp rocks, and towels. The Masada and the Dead Sea are indeed unique areas with incredible views. Glad it was an enjoyable tour and itinerary to cherish.
        Written 19 February 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        garit32
        New York City, NY88 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2023
        My wife and I joined this tour. Our tour guide was Dan P. and he was informative and well organized. You start the tour by being picked up at a designated spot. You then go to an overlook point situated above Jerusalem (nice view). Once the rest of the group arrives (both the Tel Aviv and Jerusalem tours meet at this overlook point), you then board a bus and go to Masada via the West Bank. The scenery is beautiful. Masada is impressive. At the end of the trip you visit a beach on the Dead Sea with basic locker facilities. You can rent a towel (I *believe* you can also purchase a bathing suit, but I am not sure as we brought our own). You then return to Jerusalem and are dropped off at the same designated spot where you were collected that morning. It is good value overall - it is not a private tour, so you will likely be travelling with 15-25 other people (which was totally fine with us).
        Written 18 February 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Glad you had a great tour experience with Dan. He sure deserves your favorable feedback for his efforts. Your detailed description of the tour schedule is most helpful to those reading this. many thanks.
        Written 20 February 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Showing results 1-10 of 348

        Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem provided by Bein Harim Tourism Services

        All Jerusalem HotelsJerusalem Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Jerusalem
        All things to do in Jerusalem
        Day Trips in Jerusalem
        RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire