Tours and Tickets

Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito provided by Latin Adventures

Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito

Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito
5
Book in advance
from
S$112.98
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
96% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Spend a hassle-free day exploring the Quilotoa region from Quito
Duration:
10h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Visit the Quilotoa Lagoon, one of the region’s most popular destinations, during a hassle-free day trip from Quito. Don’t worry about time-consuming public transport routes; instead, benefit from round-trip transportation. Plus, enjoy the chance to interact with indigenous communities you might not get if traveling independently and an included menu lunch.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Highlights
  • Learn about indigenous life with members of an indigenous community
  • Having someone else drive lets you soak up the spectacular views along the way
  • Convenient hotel pickup and drop-off from city center hotels is included
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Learn about indigenous life with members of an indigenous community
  • Having someone else drive lets you soak up the spectacular views along the way
  • Convenient hotel pickup and drop-off from city center hotels is included
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 10512P7
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Menu lunch (only in private service)
  • Saquisilí Indigenous Market (only Thursday)
  • Entrance ticket
  • Guided activities
  • Entry/Admission - Laguna Quilotoa
Exclusions
  • Mule ride ($10.00USD, subject to change)
  • Kayak rental ($3.00USD, subject to change)
  • Meals
  • Tips
Duration
10h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Please, let us know the name of your hotel, hostel or Airbnb for the pickup. Note: Hotels outside of the city have an extra charge, you will arrange directly with us.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Menu lunch (only in private service)
  • Saquisilí Indigenous Market (only Thursday)
  • Entrance ticket
  • Guided activities
  • Entry/Admission - Laguna Quilotoa
Exclusions
  • Mule ride ($10.00USD, subject to change)
  • Kayak rental ($3.00USD, subject to change)
  • Meals
  • Tips
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Please, let us know the name of your hotel, hostel or Airbnb for the pickup. Note: Hotels outside of the city have an extra charge, you will arrange directly with us.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
10h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks provided for travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Laguna Quilotoa
    Stop: 4 hours - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by
    Mira Andes Ecuador
  • 2
    Tigua
    Stop: 45 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
29 reviews
Excellent
26
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Cbethlynn
Bogota, Colombia650 contributions
We had a fantastic experience. Oscar was our guide and he was so friendly and shared lots of great information throughout the day. The drive was beautiful- it’s a bit far but we really enjoyed it. We stopped for coffee on the way and attended a local market. We hiked down into the lagoon and kayaked the lake which we highly recommend. We then took a mule ride up for $10. On the way back, we visited an indigenous family and also stopped for ice cream. It was a great day!
Written 29 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Camila Farias Amorim
Quito, Ecuador6 contributions
Sep 2020
I came to Quito to work remotely for a month. I absolutely didn't know what to expect from Ecuador in general. I got this tour last week, just because I wanted to do something different on the weekend, and it blew my mind! The tour was private for me because Latin Adventures couldn't gather more people for the day. For that, I paid just a bit extra, and worth it all. I started contacting them via Whatsapp as soon as I purchased the ticket, and they responded very quickly. During the whole week before the trip, they gave me clothing advice and arranged the pick up in the Airbnb ap that I'm renting. My guide was Diego, and I couldn't be happier. He was terrific, had all the exciting information and cool facts, sometimes personal stories that were even more interesting.
We stopped a few times on the way to the Lagoon, went to the bathroom, bought trip supplies, and visited a small store (@sinchi_toaquiza) and Maria and Julian's indigenous house. The later ones were the highlights for me. I loved to get intimate contact with real people from the place, and this was it. They spoke Quichua, that was special. I bought with them a beautiful scarf made of sheep fur. About this topic, for the ones who like shopping, bring cash cause there are many beautiful goods.
Once at the top of the Lagoon, I couldn't describe the magnitude of the beauty in words. It's majestic. Diego knew the best paths to hike down and helped me with good pictures. It was a bit crowded, and that made me a bit uncomfortable, especially during the pandemic when I was trying to avoid gatherings, but the majority of the people were wearing masks, which was good enough. At the bottom, I rented a kayak for 20min. Hiking up, I "hired" a mule to bring me back because I was concerned that my physical abilities wouldn't be good enough. The altitude played a tool. But in the end, I regretted because I could have all the breaks I wanted.
On our way back, I had lots of conversations with Diego, about our lives, the details of the parts that I liked, and even philosophized about how small we are in the big world. I'd recommend Latin adventures for everyone who asks me Ecuador. It was an unforgettable experience!
Written 20 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatinAdventures
Camila thank you for your excellent comment! I appreciate it too much. It is really important because other people will know about our service. Thank you again!
Written 22 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ManjaK
Frankfurt, Germany141 contributions
The drive is very long but the sight of the lagoon is definitely worth it! The water is very blue and the whole landscape surrounding this lagoon and also on the drive to the lagoon is so beautiful. Jennifer was our Guide and Carlos our driver. Both took really good care of us on the way down to the lagoon. Going down is not so easy because it is very steep and the ground is not always very firm but we made it. For the way up you have two options, you walk all the way up which will take you about one hour and is of course very hard because of the steep climb or you take a horse or mule that will take you up which costs $10. Either way the whole experience is lovely and definitely worth it. We had a great time in our group and got a lot of information about the area from Jennifer and Carlos. Even with some clouds that we had the views were spectacular! Thank you for the great day to Jennifer and Carlos!
Written 11 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Daniel L
20 contributions
Dec 2020
Fabian was our driver/guide and provided an excellent day excursion to the Lagoon. He picked us up on time at our hotel and provide a great narrative of the country as we drove three hours from Quito. Upon arrival to Lagoon we were able to hike to lagoon. Hike down too, 35 minutes and hike back up took 55minutes. After hiking we were treated to a wonderful Ecuadorian lunch and then returned back to Quito. Once again Fabian was very informative about his country. Highly recommend this day trip from Quito and hope that you get Fabian as your guide, you wont be disappointed. All COVID safety protocols were in place, mask were worn when appropriate, hand sanitizer was readily available.
Written 26 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Daniel, thank you so much for your nice and detailed review. We are happy to know you had a great experience with us. Hope to see you soon again, we will make sure you have an amazing time!
Written 3 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

mhwies
Toronto, Canada5 contributions
Mar 2020
From reading other reviews, the trip is highly consistent which to me is a great indication of reputability. The pick up was slightly behind 6:15 for me, but I was the last one to be picked up so that makes sense. Communication and confirmation ahead of time were great, the guides took ownership of accounting for all passengers and informing passengers about logistics. There are a few exchanges of passengers since the Quilotoa, Banos and Cotapaxi day tours and multiple day tours share buses and the process was very well organized. Overall, this Quilotoa day tour is a really great way to see some beautiful countryside and natural landmarks for anyone looking for the express experience. If you have a night or two, it's likely worth looking into the cotapaxi or banos multi-day tours.
Written 8 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear customer, thank you so much for your nice review. It is really important to us because other people will know about our services. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope you can come back for another adventure with us!
Written 3 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Zu D
San Diego, CA7 contributions
Jan 2020
The trip to the Quilotoa lagoon was amazing. The ride is a little bit long (approximately 3 hours from Quito) and gets quite curvy, but well worth it. It was only me and another couple on the tour that day. We briefly stopped at the house of an indigenous family. They were very nice to show us their house. I couldn't believe the guinea pigs were just running around the house all over. When we finally got to the lagoon, even though the weather was gorgeous (sunny and clear), it was quite cold and windy (higher altitude than Quito). So make sure you dress appropriately. I decided to hike down to the lake. It took me about 35 minutes or so. I really wanted to do the kayaking but I did not know how long it would take me to hike up, so I opted not to (I was not going to do the horses). I had some snacks in my bag so I fed some of the stray dogs hanging out by the lake. One of them even snacked on my orange. The hike up was quite challenging. It took me about 50 minutes or so, walking slowly. I've hiked in high altitudes before so I know what to expect. The trail is quite dusty (when dry), so I was covered in dirt by the time I hiked up. So dress for more of a hike than jeans etc. The lunch at the restaurant (after the lagoon) was tasty. They gave us soup, main dish and also a dessert. There are plenty of restaurants in that area and also a small market for souvenir shopping. Seems like the ride back to Quito was faster. Our guide that day was just OK. He didn't talk much and he didn't hike with us. I guess we were supposed to stop at some other market too, but we didn't. Overall, if you want to see the lagoon, I recommend this tour. I initially wanted to book Cotopaxi and Quilotoa for the same day, but I am glad I decided not to.
Written 22 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear customer, thank you so much for your nice and detailed review. We appreciate it so much. It is really important to us because other people will know about our service. We are happy to know you had a great experience with us. Hope to see you soon again, we will make sure you have an amazing time!
Written 3 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dmhatche
16 contributions
I had an incredible time on this visit! My guide Diego was incredibly helpful and accommodating. I visited during COVID and all health protocols were followed, I felt very safe. I highly recommend this day trip, the drive is beautiful and the lagoon is a must see.
Written 1 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dante1222
Thank you for your comment! We take all the health protocols so that our customers fell safe while traveling with us. All the best,
Written 1 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

N_Why
New York City, NY41 contributions
My friend and I had an amazing day with Caro, our guide, and Gabriel, our driver. There was another group of women with us on the tour and they were wonderful as well.

We were picked up at our hotel which was very convenient. The drive was long but Caro had so much information to share with us and answered all of the questions that I had for her. I learned so much on that drive. And the views are amazing.

Along the way we stopped at a market and got some fruits for the family that we were going to visit. I also got some yummy bean dish. We were also able to use the bathroom ($0.15).

We visited the home of a local family. They were very welcoming and shared some information about the foods that they grow and the guinea pigs. We bought a beautiful alpaca scarf from them.

It is very windy at the top of Quilotoa and a bit chilly. So bring a jacket with a hood or a hat. Once you start trekking down, you won’t feel the cold or wind as much. It is pretty steep and a bit slippery because it is the dry season so the sand is dry. Wear hiking boots if possible. You will get very dusty, so wear a bandanna or scarf around your face and sun glasses.

There are so many awesome view points. Take it all in as you go down.

Once at the bottom you can rent a kayak for $3/30min. If you have time take advantage.

I was determined to hike back up myself because I feel badly for the mules and wanted to lish myself. But, quickly learned that between the altitude and the steepness, I couldn’t make it up in the time I needed to...despite me being a fit and active person. So, after a short trek up I hired a mule ($10). They are stationed at the bottom but I grabbed one as it was coming back down. That was the best decision I made. The kid that was handling the mule did not stop the whole way up! Amazing. He also said they only do 2 trips a day which made me feel better. My friend decided to walk it. I never caught up to her the whole way. She is faster than a mule! Lol. So, it can be done.

Lunch at the top was very good with an amazing view. They also have some souvenirs and you can fill up your water bottles for $0.50 or purchase water bottles. Stay hydrated!

Cotopaxi Volcano was visible on our way back. They stop to let us take pics.

We had a great informative day full of adventure. I would recommend to everyone.

Written 13 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear customer, thank you so much for your nice and detailed review. We appreciate it as other people will know about our services. We are really happy you enjoyed your visit to Quilotoa! Hope you can come back for another adventure!
Written 4 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Claudia D
1 contribution
Aug 2018 • Friends
This was a great experience with fantastic customer service.

I'm just going to share a few details/logistics that I think are good to know:
Once the trip is purchased, they will send you an email telling you to call (there's a Whatsapp number) to confirm where you want them to pick you up.
They picked us up on time. As we were in the car on the way, we chatted about needing a taxi from the hotel to the airport the next day and they offered to take us. It was at 4am! But again they arrived on time and it was nice knowing we had a ride there. Plus they wrote a receipt for us ahead of time which was good to have.
The drive to Quilotoa from Quito is about 3 hours. On the way we heard about the towns and their history. We could see Cotopaxi from the car.
We stopped by a local family's home. It's expected you tip them for showing you their home. They also have a few things for you to purchase if interested, like bracelets or scarves.
Our guide/driver let us stop to take a photo of an alpaca on the side of the road. :)
Quilotoa, of course, was breathtaking. Going down the crater takes about 20 minutes, coming back took about 1 hour and 20 minutes. Due to altitude, it is important to take lots of breaks as you walk up. You can also purchase a donkey/mule ride back up the crater for $10. Wear layers as it is can be quite windy and cold.
On the way back to the city, I was so tired from the walk back up that I slept for about half the car ride.
Great experience - would highly recommend!
Written 13 September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Claudia, Thank you so much for your nice comments and your very informative feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the Quilotoa Lagoon trip and our customer service. We will be glad to welcome you on one of our other trips in the future. All the best! LA team
Written 8 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Barbara M
Raleigh, NC39 contributions
Guide Diego was very informative and enjoyed the family visit, would have liked to hear more from the family Lunch was wonderful but guide seemed concerned about getting home. We completely skipped the sasquisili market We chose Thursday because we were interested in the market as well as the crater so that was disappointing
Written 27 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your comment, the tour on Wednesdays does include the market, we appreciate your opinion to improve our services. We hope to travel again with you soon.
Written 15 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 24
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Latin Adventures
Christine F
Christine F
00
Quito City tour, Antisana, and Papallacta Hot Springs
After our tours were cancelled by another company we ended up jumping on a last minute city tour of Quito with Lati
745sam
745sam
00
Definitely recommend!
Our guide Oscar was amazing! It ended up being a private tour for my husband and I, and it was everything we could'
lewis s
lewis s
00
Quito day trip
Would like to express my gratitude for your help in accommodating us in last minute request for a full day tour of
L1898LOterryl
L1898LOterryl
00
Our 4 days in the Andes.
We loved the trip. Diego was our guide and he provided a lot of insight on local culture and customs. There were
ManjaK
ManjaK
00
Covers a lot of what you need to see in Quito in 1 day
The tour is great for seeing most of the must-sees in Quito. Our guide Oscar provided a lot of information on Quito
hcarlson01
hcarlson01
00
Comfortable, Safe, Fun!
Thanks for a great experience! As a solo traveler, I felt much safer traveling around the city in the comfort of th
Live_to_travel56
Live_to_travel56
00
An excellent experience!!
We loved our guide for our full day Quito tour! Renan was great! Very personable and great at describing the histor
balletomaneja
balletomaneja
00
Mindo Maravilloso
My husband and I had a fantastic time touring Mindo with our guide Óscar and our driver Bolívar. Our main objective
balletomaneja
balletomaneja
00
A perfect day in Quito
My husband and I had a delightful experience touring Quito with Ángel on 5.24.22. Ángel is incredibly knowledgeable
Jonathan H
Jonathan H
00
Worth every Dollar
This was a really great experience, in one hand you will discover all the wonders of Quito in an unique way, in th
Hector E
Hector E
00
Awesome Quito full day tour!
An excellent tour, highly recommended! We had a great time, and were blessed with a sunny and clear day on top of t
Pathfinder10496
Pathfinder10496
00
Let the buyer beware
We booked a full day tour in advance with Latin Adventures and paid with a credit card. Because of confusion in the
traveltheworld5555
traveltheworld5555
00
Best tour in Quito
A really good and nice tour. The tourguide Diego was really nice, give us such good informations and looked so good
krithikam2021
krithikam2021
00
Awesome day out to Cotopaxi national park
We had an incredible day at Cotopaxi National Park with our guide Oscar. During the drive, he explained the geograp
irishquints
irishquints
00
Great experience
Our tour guide, Oscar, was pleasant and knowledgeable. An excellent way to spend a day in Quito. Even with the inco
Frequently Asked Questions about Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito

Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito price starts from S$110.29. Discover and book Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito on Tripadvisor

Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito on Tripadvisor

Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito is hosted by Latin Adventures. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Latin Adventures on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Quilotoa Lagoon,Volcanoes Avenue, Local People Full-Day Tour from Quito on Tripadvisor