Tours and Tickets
Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia
4.5

Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia

By Traventuria
Recommended by 92% of travellers
92% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
Lift your sights beyond Sofia to visit two of Bulgaria’s historical must-sees in one day—quite a feat to achieve independently. See Bulgaria’s countryside on a drive south, and tour the medieval Rila Monastery with a guide to do its history and treasures justice. Then return to Sofia’s outskirts to visit and learn about the fresco-filled Boyana Church. Choose from a transport-only, audio guide, or English live-guided tour to suit your group.
from
S$37.14
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 5-99, max of 40 per group
Duration: 8h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English, Italian, Spanish
More
Audio guide: German, Russian, English, Italian, French, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Visit two of Bulgaria’s must-see sights on an easy day trip from Sofia
  • Travel through bucolic countryside to the UNESCO-listed Rila Monastery
  • Explore the painted monastery and colonnades, and learn their rich history
  • Visit the medieval Boyana Church and admire its remarkable frescoes
  • Hassle-free air-conditioned travel without using public transportation

  • Driver/Tour guide in English
  • Transport by air-conditioned minibus
  • Parking Fees
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Admission to Boyana Church (approx. 5 euros per person) and Rila Monastery Museum (approx. 4 euros per person)
  • Audio guide in Spanish, Italian, German, Russian or English (approx. 5 euros per person)
  • Food and drinks
  • Entry/Admission - Boyana Church

Greet your guide in central Sofia and see Bulgaria’s countryside, forests, and villages on a drive into the Rila Mountains. Here the remarkable UNESCO World Heritage–listed Rila Monastery—one of Bulgaria’s most famous Eastern Orthodox monasteries—sits on pine-coated slopes. Learn all about the legend-shrouded monastery, whose origins date to 927 AD, and enter (at your own expense) for a guided tour. Marvel at the fresco-covered colonnades, wooden icons, and tomb of Bulgaria’s last monarch, Boris III. Opt to explore the monastery’s artifact-filled museum (own expense), and then enjoy free time for lunch at a local restaurant before journeying to the medieval Boyana Church, another UNESCO-listed site. Head inside (own expense) and view the well-preserved 10th-century frescoes that adorn the interior. Admire the depictions of angels, apostles, and sinners, and hear the full background on their painting, styles, and significance. Finally, end your tour with a convenient drop-off in central Sofia.

Start:
  • Patriarchal Cathedral of St. Alexander Nevsky, Sofia Center, pl. "Sveti Aleksandar Nevski", 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria
    IMPORTANT: The meeting point is BEHIND Alexander Nevski Cathedral (opposite La Cattedrale restaurant) | Google Maps link: https://goo.gl/maps/KY3uaHDALKjDJukQA | GPS coordinates: 42.695601, 23.333790 | Please, be there 15 min. in advance! | This tour is not suitable for children under the age of 5.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6992RILA

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Due to uneven surfaces, this tour is not recommended for those with walking disabilities
    • Not wheelchair accessible or stroller friendly
    • Comfortable walking shoes recommended
    • Exceptions to the standard program:
    • Boyana church will NOT be visited on the following days: 1st of January (the tour starts at 11 AM on that day only); The day of Orthodox Easter; 24th and 25th December.
    • Hand disinfectant will be provided for free throughout the tour.
    • Most travellers can participate
    • All touch points in the vehicles will be cleaned frequently.
    • Minimum traveler age is 5 years old
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia?
    How much is Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia?
    Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia price starts from S$37.12. Discover and book Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia on Tripadvisor
    What is the Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia cancellation policy?
    Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia?
    Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia is hosted by Traventuria. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Traventuria on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6992RILA

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Patriarchal Cathedral of St. Alexander Nevsky
      Sofia Center, pl. "Sveti Aleksandar Nevski", 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria
      IMPORTANT: The meeting point is BEHIND Alexander Nevski Cathedral (opposite La Cattedrale restaurant) | Google Maps link: https://goo.gl/maps/KY3uaHDALKjDJukQA | GPS coordinates: 42.695601, 23.333790 | Please, be there 15 min. in advance! | This tour is not suitable for children under the age of 5.
      See address & details
    • 1
      St. Alexander Nevski Cathedral
      Stop: 15 minutes
      See details
    • 2
      Boyana Church
      Stop: 45 minutes - Admission excluded
      See details
    • 3
      Rila Monastery
      Stop: 2 hours
      See details
      Pass by
      St. Alexander Nevski Cathedral
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Traventuria
      1,594
      Sofia, Bulgaria
      Joined in March 2011
    • Destination694400
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent
      Hired equipment and has lessons with this company. Service was excellent for equipment, used there lockers which meant didn't have to carry them back to hotel which was useful. Lessons were good.
      Written 1 April 2024
    • scql96
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Day tour to Plovdiv
      Booked a tour in English but the group has many Spanish speaking tourists. The guide prioritised explanation/ speaking in Spanish throughout the tour even though the other half spoke English. Sometimes, he switched between english and Spanish in one sentence, making it difficult to understand. In addition, we didn't enter the Museum, the tour just consisted of walking around the Plovdiv old town and shopping areas
      Written 29 March 2024
    • Yekatetina
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      릴라수도원과 보야나교회 일일투어
      The bus was comfortable as it was a large bus, and the driver and guide were punctual and gave good explanations. I would like to recommend it to other people as well.
      Written 28 March 2024
    • ReneBeers
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Do not trust the knowledge and service of this company
      When you go into the mountains you like to trust the ski material and the local knowledge of the company you rent from and their ski instructors. In my situation I rented cross country ski material on internet. Arriving in the shop in Bansko they could not find this reservation in their computer. It took a hour to solve this.. When they solved their mistake I asked a simple question how do you connect the shoe to the ski. It took 15 minutes and 4 employees to connect the shoe to the ski. They even did not have this simple knowledge of the materials they rent. Dangerous when you are in the mountains with this kind proffessionals. This people suppose to know the local situation imagine a sudden weather change. They do not know the minimum. In my case they rented the equipment I arrived in the mountains and the cross country loupe was closed for preparation of a competition the next day. When I brought back the equipment and i told them even then a bell did not ring. I spend rental cost a pass for the lift and parking ( all together 40 euro ) I wrote a letter to the head office of Traventuria and a reminder and guess what no reply. This is the way they solve their mistakes
      Written 28 March 2024
    • Bhbarak
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      very good an nice driver. from bansko to sofia.
      very good an nice driver. A very comfortable ride. We left relatively on time. fair price. recommend. The trip was pleasant and the car was clean and in good condition.
      Written 27 March 2024
    • Z6046AUkennethb
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Never again with Traventuria
      Day 1 Ulen did not greet us, we arrived at 09:45 and were left waiting until 10:30 until someone finally took us to an instructor. It's like they had never heard of Traventuria. The Ulen instructor was incredibly rude, impatient and totally disinterested as an instructor. At 11:30, after an hour (we had a 2 hour session booked) he told us that the lesson was over, and that he could give us a special price if we wanted to keep going with another lesson!! When I argued with him that we were booked for two hours, he told me "if you don't like it you can go find another school" and started waving our vouchers in the air as if to mock us. Then he put them back in his pocket and left with our vouchers. We never got our vouchers back. We then continued for an hour with another instructor who was much better, but at this point it was too late and we learned very little in just one hour. In the evening I went to the Traventuria shop to complain about Ulen and asked if they needed to re-issue our vouchers. The man at the shop told me that “the problem is that you booked online, otherwise we would have put you with someone better”. Traventuria seem to take zero responsibility for the school they choose to do busoiness with. Day 2 Once again, we arrived at the meeting point and they had no record of us, and asked us for our vouchers!!! I had to re-explain everything, that this was our 2nd day, that their instructor kept our vouchers yesterday etc. and after 5 minutes of arguing we were taken to the class with a completely different group who were doing the complete beginner Day 1 routine!! When we told the instructor that we had already done that class the previous day he told us to go back and talk to the supervisor!!! The supervisor then found us another instructor and we did a lesson with another group. The lesson was very poor, we learned nothing new and the instructor showed very little interest in what he was doing. I abandoned the class after an hour most of which was spent in the queue. Day 3 Once again we arrived at the meeting point and they had no record of us and I had ro re-explain everything!!!!!! At least this time, the Ulen man in charge listened politely and immediately found us an instructor for our level. We returned the equipment in the evening. I asked for a receipt to have a record that we returned the equipment, and they said they cannot do that because it is "in the system". I asked the man at the counter to write it manually and sign on my contract copy and he obliged. Never again with Traventuria.
      Written 12 March 2024
    • JavierArandalopez
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Well organized, you must perform if you want to knonw Bulgaria
      Amazing and very interesting places. The guide show you and explain with Deep details. Confortable transporte and on time.
      Written 10 March 2024
    • 352miriamh
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Night time airport transfer
      Great, reliable and cheaper way to get to the airport. I needed the transfer in the middle of the night and a taxi would have cost 120 euro. It was great to find tranventuria for a cheaper, comfortable way to get to the airport
      Written 28 February 2024
    • Bamber_06
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nothing like the description ...
      I booked this after the description seemed good and was what i was looking for. My mum and i are both experienced riders however we were kept on lead rein the whole time, it was just a walk in some woods and fields, the 2 guys who took us spoke no english and so we could not ask them any questions. The helmet selection was poor and most of them were broken too. The horses did also not seem in the best condition. Very disappointed and would not reccomend.
      Written 28 February 2024
    • A7876CWjakej
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Poor transfers
      Terrible transfer service turned up 35 minutes late then proceeded to drive like a madman to Sofia. Where we then drove around the city for an extra 30mins dropping off another local he’d sorted out for a cash job!
      Written 21 February 2024
    • Eppiee2022
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Communication could be a lot better
      Although the actual journey was fine, there are just a couple of points to mention. On my return from Bansko to Sofia airport the bus was 2 hours late, the communication was very poor and I couldn't get a response from the WhatsApp group of the telephone number provided on the ticket, and the tracking link didn't work so I felt a bit stranded, it was only when I flagged down another Traventuria bus that the driver was very helpful and was able to contact the bus to find out what was going on. Also, if your flight is delayed, Traventuria will not move you to the next bus, even if requested 12 hours in advance, you have to book a whole new ticket (I booked a transfer from Sofia airport to Bansko). You have to purchase the ticket in advance so it all becomes quite expensive and tricky.
      Written 5 February 2024
    • Mert Ö
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      No refund for duplicate ticket !!!
      By mistakenly bought duplicate transfer ticket from Bansko to Sofia airport, they did not refund the ticket that never used even for prior notice
      Written 1 February 2024
    • 204gracep
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Unethical Business Practices – Failure to Honor Agreed Pricing
      I am writing to express my deep dissatisfaction with the service provided by Traventuria Ltd despite agreeing on a certain pricing structure and providing a deposit, I was shocked to discover that they increased the pricing after collecting my deposit. This deceptive practice is not only unprofessional but also a clear violation of our agreement. I feel betrayed as a customer, and this experience has eroded my trust in Traventuria. I strongly urge them to rectify this situation promptly and honor the originally agreed-upon pricing. Such unethical behavior tarnishes the reputation of the company and harms the relationship with its customers. I expect a timely and fair resolution to this matter, and I hope that [Service Operator] takes immediate action to address their lapse in integrity.
      Written 31 January 2024
    • U1932AFcintiar
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Bansko-sofía
      Radoslav Padarev amazing driver !!!! kind, on time. polite... great service in general. we will repite next time and surely book some other tours
      Written 28 January 2024
    • LindseyA450
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Not recommended
      Very unhelpful and miserable staff. Came across as very rude. Would definitely not recommend using them, as there are so many others in Bulgaria. Also used them for a transfer and the driver was liability, not sure how we made it alive
      Written 27 January 2024
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles414 reviews
    Excellent
    318
    Very good
    64
    Average
    18
    Poor
    2
    Terrible
    12

    Sofia C
    37 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2023 • Friends
    The two sites are both amazing and definitely worth the long journey. It is nice to have a guide who can give context and details, but going with such a large group (50+ people, a full bus) is pretty inefficient and doesn't allow you to explore the area as well as you could do by yourself.
    For example to visit the Boyana Church you need first to queue to buy your tickets and then to wait as only 10 people at a time are allowed to go in. Our guide tried to organise it as efficiently as he could, but it would have been more practical if the tour provider could just buy the tickets for the group and include them in the price.
    The area around the monastery is beautiful and we would have loved to go for a walk in the woods or a short hike but with just 1-1.5 hour of free time you cannot do that. It would have been better maybe leaving earlier or coming back later and have more time to enjoy the place.
    I think overall I would recommend to go there with a shuttle service or by car to have more freedom and flexibility.
    Written 10 April 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Sofia! Thank you for your feedback! Please take in mind that it is a cultural tour,not a hiking one. We always strive to be the best and we keep on investing time, money and knowledge in improving our service, so it will be great if you give us another chance to impress you, this time with 5 out of 5 stars! Come again! Kind regards, Maria kamenova
    Written 15 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Sairah79
    Essex, UK47 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2022 • Couples
    This is a place worth visiting, no doubt. But I'd only recommend this if you have more than four days in Sofia as there's plenty to do in the city centre, and this is one of those excursions where you spend longer driving in an uncomfortable bus than you do at the destination itself.

    City Tours organised this day trip and the two guides we had were very nice, but lacklustre and not very engaging in their tours. The restaurant we stopped at was freezing cold and lacked vegetarian menu options.

    I would recommend this tour but perhaps go with another operator.
    Written 1 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Sairah, Note that we are Traventuria, not City Tour. We are two different companies. Please, be kind to remove that review and submit it at the right place. We are doing our best to always provide new, comfortable buses. All our guides are licensed and well trained. We never stop at any restaurants along the way. We advise our guests to bring their own snacks so they could have more time at the Monastery where there are also 2 restaurants and 1 bakery. Kind Regards, Lubo
    Written 3 October 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    MLandiu
    Cork, Ireland90 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2021
    This was a good day trip in a comfortable and safe vehicle. Heading off early in the morning from central Sofia, the tour takes you towards the mountains and you will have a brief visit to Boyana Church - it is a UNESCO WH Site and only 5 people are allowed to enter the church for 10 minutes at a time, After the guide will drive you to Rila monastery. It is really up to the tour group how they want to use this transit time. Our guide Martin suggested different music we could listen to, but was also open to answering questions as I thought of them, and on the way back most of the group was sleeping. I chose to have a guided tour of Rila with Martin. This was good but he was trying to cover a lot and so we rushed through the cathedral and the museum a bit too quickly for my liking. I think I would choose to have free time if I had the chance to do the tour again. I am really interested in religious culutre, popular religion and comparative Christianity, however, when I said I wasn't raised as Orthodox (I was raised as Catholic) I think Martin took it for granted that I wouldn't really be interested in the pilgrimage, hagiographic or prayer aspects of visiting Rila. Overall it was a good tour, I think it is a little expensive because there aren't many competitor operators. In other European cities I would expect a complimentary museum entrance or coffee or something extra included in the ticket price.
    Written 26 August 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for the review! During these hard times, it's really important to heаr good feedback from our customers. This gives us the will to keep on working and improving despite the hard situation that tourism is in right now! I hope you'll be back one day when the situation is back to normal so we can show you more of the beauties in Bulgaria! Stay safe! Kind regards, Maria Kamenova
    Written 22 September 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    TeddyLuProductions
    Seville, Spain22 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We enjoyed a full day of intriguing Bulgarian history and some delightful surprises with our guide and driver Ana. She is very knowledgable and has a terrific sense of humor—the best possible combination for a guide! The Rila Monastery was quite astounding in person, much more impressive than in the photographs. Ana accommodated our wish to visit the National Museum of History with a short detour there and her narration regarding artifacts over 2000 years old!
    Written 27 September 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Teddy! Thank you for rating us for a second time! Ana is one of our best guides and we are really happy she was above and beyond your expectations! We have an amazing team, for whom it will be a pleasure to host you again for a longer time in order to show you the beauty of Bulgarian history and nature! Safe travels, Maria Kamenova
    Written 29 September 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    DesertDuneStarGazer
    Riyadh, Saudi Arabia197 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    This was the second guided tour I signed up with Traventuria. I signed up for this tour at 6 pm on the evening prior to the tour. The website has the number of availability on the tour and have immediate confirmation upon payment of the tour online. The instructions on where to meet and the name of the guide etc was sent via email and clear cut.
    The meeting point was central and the bus was clean. We left even earlier to beat the traffic once everyone was on board.
    Martin our guide was knowledgeable, informative and enthusiastic with a sense of humour.
    He managed to arrange our schedule such that we arrive at the Rila Monastery before it gets too busy. Martin also gave us tips for food options (your own packed lunch, monastery donut or the sole restaurant.) I managed to try the trout at the restaurant and made it back in time to the bus and was quite pleased. Martin also had good knowledge of the toilet conditions at the monastery which is very useful.
    We also made it in good time to the Boyana Church and skipped the queu to get a brisk tour of the church.
    There is an additional charge of EUR5 for the Boyana Church which I purchased online together with my tour ticket so I didn’t have to purchase on arrival.
    I enjoyed my experience on this tour and would recommend it.
    Written 20 July 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you once again for your lovely review and feedback. We greatly appreciate it. Martin was very happy with your kind words, too. Looking forward to having you again on a tour with us next time you visit Bulgaria. With best regards, Nora Dobrinska (Traventuria Team)
    Written 26 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    javie c
    Madrid, Spain3 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    The trip with Traventuria was good, they are helpful and kind, and they provide you with a lot of knowledge about Bulgaria and its monuments, but in my opinon, they should the possibility to offer just a trip to Rila Monastery (for those people who are not interested in Boyana Church) and another trip to both places.
    Also, I think they should not segregate the people who paid for the guidance from the people who didn’t ( in my opinon, they could just charge everyone a little more, like 2.5€, and offer guidance to everyone to not split the groups)
    In general I recommend traventuria to everyone coming to Bulgaria. The trip was worth it!
    Written 12 November 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Friend! Thank you for reviewing our service! You could have booked a tour to the Rila Monastery only. It starts at 10 am. Many of our clients are non-English speakers and they prefer to book a transport-only tour, and many others just prefer to pay for transport and explore the sights on their own. We want everybody to have a choice. Kind regards Maria Kamenova
    Written 22 November 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Marina_Moscow_Russia
    Moscow, Russia205 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2024 • Solo
    Rila Monastery is a great spot in Bulgaria. An amazing place, a gorgeous view of the mountains. Nice guide from Traventuria gave us a lot of interesting information about the monastery and the history of the country. Our group was small, only 7 people, we traveled in a comfortable minivan
    1.5 hours of free time turned out to be too little for me to take a leisurely walk around the monastery, go to the church and museum, go outside the wall to look at souvenirs and have lunch. In the museum, I recommend paying attention to the Rafail's Cross, a stunningly beautiful work
    After the monastery, we went up to the cave of St. Ivan, it was a pleasant walk through the forest before the returning to the city. There is a small church next to the cave, and there is a spring nearby
    The monastery is located at an altitude of 1100m, and it is ~5 degrees colder there than in Sofia
    Written 27 March 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    ariel
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2021 • Solo
    I had a great experience in this tour. The guide, Lubo, is super professional, knowledgeable, and an excellent driver. He can talk about the history of Bulgaria and the Balkans freely and with excitement.
    The Boyana church and the monastery are both very interesting, and you can see a lot of the legacy of Bulgaria condensed in those two places.
    The way is beautiful, going through mountains and woods, what makes the trip enjoyable as well.
    I truly recommend this tour.
    Written 7 May 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear, Thank you for the nice review. Such words give us the courage to keep going in these difficult times. We are happy that you have enjoyed the trip, and we wish you to come to the Balkans once again someday, as there is a lot more to explore! Kind Regards Lubomir Botev (another Lubo)
    Written 8 May 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    The Truth
    London, UK138 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2022
    Joined a minibus near the Cathedral Cafe in Sofia
    There was a group of about 10 people.
    About an hour drive to Boyana Church , very old , small and atmospheric.
    Not allowed to take photos inside , but guide very informative.
    About a 30 minute stop.
    A further hour or so to Rila.
    Excellent location at the foot of the mountains.
    Great photo opportunities apart from the inside of the chapel , not allowed.
    Plenty of time to climb up the tower , look in the museum , have a short walk in the woods and have lunch.
    Back to Sopia by about 4pm
    Written 23 November 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Friend! Thank you for sharing your feedback with others here on TripAdvisor! We are lucky we had you as our guest! Looking forward to many new trips! Best regards, Maria Kamenova
    Written 2 December 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Cristiano André Lenz
    Lajeado, RS12 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2022
    The starting point was from the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral in Sofia, where I boarded the very comfortable bus. Martin was our guide and he made every effort in the world to make this tour as fun and enjoyable as can be possible, always inviting us to participate and interact, also being very instructive and promptly answering any questions, truly a wonderful guide without equal. The Rila Monastery itself is the most beautiful monastery that I've ever seen in my life, with outstanding architecture, heavenly frescoes and surrounded by a breathtaking scenery, really living up to the status of UNESCO World Heritage Site.
    Written 22 January 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Christian! It's a pleasure for us to read your feedback! Martin will be also very happy to know you enjoyed the time with him! Thank you for sharing your review of our services! Our team is looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Maria Kamenova
    Written 24 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 268

    Rila Monastery and Boyana Church Day Trip from Sofia provided by Traventuria

    All Sofia HotelsSofia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sofia
    All things to do in Sofia
    Day Trips in Sofia
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire