Tours and Tickets

San Blas Island-Hopping Day Trip from Panama City provided by Joe Brown Adventures

San Blas Island-Hopping Day Trip from Panama City

San Blas Island-Hopping Day Trip from Panama City
4
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Face masks provided for travellers
About
You have plenty of time to work on your suntan during this San Blas (Guna Yala) island hopper. This is a popular day trip from Panama City for any paradise seeker. Crystal-clear waters are ideal for snorkeling on coral reefs or meandering sugar-white sands, and you’re served a catch-of-the-day lunch.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Island-hopping day trip to San Blas from Panama City
Visit the best beaches in the Panamanian Caribbean
Learn about the Guna people in their indigenous home of Guna Yala
Hotel/port transport, dock tax, snorkel gear, and lunch included
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 42430P1
Call 800-130-2207
Important information
Inclusions
Shared transfer by car from your hotel to San Blas (maximum 4 per car. The car has 7 spots) • Maritime transportation from San Blas dock to Islands(We fill only with 50% of the capacity) • Meal - the catch of the day. If you would like a different dish, please ask your guide (other dishes may be at customer's expense) • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
Exclusions
Entrance Fees: Panamanian and residents $5, Other: $20 • Meals other than the catch of the day • Drinks • Gratuities • Use of Snorkelling equipment
Duration
12h
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
Albrook, Panama City, Panama Supermarket
Tocumen, Panama City, Panama The internation airport of Panama
Panama City, Panama Panama City includes: El Cangrejo, Casco Viejo, Obarrio, El Dorado, Paitilla, Punta Pacifica, Caseway, Costa del Este, Costa Sur
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Inclusions
Shared transfer by car from your hotel to San Blas (maximum 4 per car. The car has 7 spots) • Maritime transportation from San Blas dock to Islands(We fill only with 50% of the capacity) • Meal - the catch of the day. If you would like a different dish, please ask your guide (other dishes may be at customer's expense) • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
Exclusions
Entrance Fees: Panamanian and residents $5, Other: $20 • Meals other than the catch of the day • Drinks • Gratuities • Use of Snorkelling equipment
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
Albrook, Panama City, Panama Supermarket
Tocumen, Panama City, Panama The internation airport of Panama
Panama City, Panama Panama City includes: El Cangrejo, Casco Viejo, Obarrio, El Dorado, Paitilla, Punta Pacifica, Caseway, Costa del Este, Costa Sur
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
12h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Not recommended for pregnant travellers
No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
Not recommended for travellers with back problems
The maritime transfer is a shared transportation
It is recommended that you bring a towel, sunblock and extra cash
No ATM's available during the tour
The provided lunch is the catch of the day (other meals may be at own expense)
Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
Before booking review the weather forecast
Not recommended for child aged 5 and under and adults over 60
A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
For the following Hotels we will apply extra charge because are outside from the City($10.00): Radisson Gamboa Hotel, Hotel Gamboa Rainforest, Westin Playa Bonita and Dream Delight Playa Bonita
We don't pick up in Colon City.
Not wheelchair accessible
Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
Itinerary
  • You’ll have 3 starting options
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Joe Brown Adventures
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Puerto Carti - Niga Kantule
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    San Blas Islands
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Isla Perro
    Stop: 6 hours
    See details
  • You'll end at
    See Important Information for details
+
Popular mentions

4.0
42 reviews
Excellent
29
Very good
4
Average
2
Poor
3
Terrible
4

Kenny M
1 contribution
Scam?
Jan 2020
Nobody contacted me before the trip and I thought it might be the way how it works.. I waited in the lobby of my hotel since 5:00, and after 1 hour’s waiting without anyone picking me up and several messages without response, I decided to go back to my room to sleep.
Written 14 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your comments, we had published in all our social networks the cancellation of all tour to San Blas since January, 11th to 15th 2020 due bad weather. We noticed your booking the next day at 8:00 am for this reason we couldn't inform you at time. We had cancel all booking for that week. We contacted to you inmediatly and we informed you about the bad weather and apply the refund inmedialtly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joe B
Keller, TX6 contributions
Gorgeous
Nov 2019 • Family
Did this excursion while staying at a resort in Panamá. The only negative we had that day was the travel to San Blas. Many options to pick from.
Written 24 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenic51097596919
Thank you for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karyn A
2 contributions
Terrible Single Traveler Experience
Aug 2019
I went to San Blas leaving out of Panama City as a single traveler. I was in Panama for business and had a couple days to explore so decided to take this tour. Firstly, it took forever for them to confirm the pick up time the night before. I was picked up by a driver that spoke no English and luckily was allowed to sit in the front seat. The drive there was fine but on winding roads. When we arrived and boarded our fishing boat, I made the mistake of sitting near the front and regret it to this day still having a sprained wrist from holding on. The guides did not seem to care about the discomfort of their guests and the bumpy ride made many sick. The stops at the islands were relaxing and lunch was good. When returning to the dock, I decided to sit in the back with the 20 plus empty beer cans that the driver had strewn all over. The ride was better but the smell was not. As a single traveler, I was forced to take another car back. In that car, the driver again spoke no English and I had to sit between 2 people who knew each other but they wanted the windows. The middle seat had no seat belts and the driver was aggressive in maneuvering the curves and hills while I was trying to hold on in the middle and not hit either person on my sides. They spoke over me the entire way back. Everyone in the car was on their phones and eventually the annoying email notifications coming in from one of the others caused a headache. All around - this was a terrible tour! I do not recommend at all. When I told Joe Brown Adventures about it - they didn't seem to care or offer any explanation for their poor service.
Written 15 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Before to give you an answer, our apollogies in behalf of Joe Brown Adventures Team. We had contact you the next day of the tour to know your experiences and we received your comments, gave you an apollogies and proceed to investigate what happened in the tour. This was a isolate case, we took actions and always listen our customers experience and we are open to improve. We have an assistance line 24/7 to support for any incovenience, we could prevent this situation and we would have given you any refund or free service in Panama City. Again, our apologies and surely we will not repeat that situation as now
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stephanie
Los Angeles, CA5 contributions
1 day in San Blas
Oct 2019 • Couples
It was a beautiful experience although a very long and draining day! I went to Panama with my bf to celebrate my birthday. We were picked up at five in the morning to start our long journey to the islands! The journey consisted of a car ride, a stop for coffee and a breakfast sandwich, and a boat ride. San Blas is made up of dozens of islands. This tour stopped at 3: one private, small open island with some vendors, a natural pool in the middle of the ocean and finally the island of perro Chico where we were fed lunch. It was a nice day overall. The waters in all 3 islands were super clear! We seen different types of fish, birds, starfish and even an octopus! What I wish they would’ve told us is to pack snacks and drinks, I even recommend bringing a small cooler. Somehow people knew to do this. Not much is sold on the islands and you’re there for hours. Also bring lots of sunblock, a hat to shade yourself, and something to sit on the sand.
Written 6 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you stephanie for leave a message with the details of the trip. We appreciate your time and we are so happy for served you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daryl C
10 contributions
Must "Do and See" Excursion
Oct 2018
San Blas Island hoping is one of the most enjoyable excursion you will ever experience when traveling to Panama. The view of the Islands as you travel to them by water (small boat) are breathtaking, there is a spot in the ocean that is shallow enough for one to stand and even swim. I highly suggest this excursion!!!!
Also, the Panamanian people are awesome, will certainly go back to visit, as we had the best Uber driver in the city. Way to go Marlon.....
Written 3 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your time and beautiful words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rachel E
2 contributions
Great experience
Aug 2019 • Family
It's definitely a long day and am early start, and the road to the east coast is no joke. But our driver Elvis was wonderful and we had a wonderful time relaxing on the islands. If you are looking for beautiful views and a very chill day, this tour is great. Pack snacks, drinks, sunblock and a towel, enjoy!!
Written 21 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you... We hope see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark H
3 contributions
Panama for 7 days
Jun 2019 • Couples
Be ready for the a 1 1/2 hour thrilling car ride to the boat location that starts early in the morning.
Written 29 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JCR
12 contributions
Gorgeous and beautiful!
May 2019
LOVED IT!! Beautiful islands, gorgeous views. All employees were professional and it was great to be picked up in Panama City. Just know the drive is bumpy and it may rain during the rainy season.
Written 22 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for take your time to leave a comment and we are very happy for your experience and we hope see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

barnagirl13
Barcelona, Spain39 contributions
Not worth the money at all
Las Islas San Blas are lovely but Joe Brown Adventures is not the way to go. Pickup at 5 a.m. for a 2 hour car trip with a stop a a supermarket for coffee and supplies just before to the Guna territory border where you have to show passports and pay $20 each. Then there is another hour of an incredibly winding road - anybody who gets carsick should be forewarned to take dramamine. You get to the port where you wait for the boat (the boat was wet inside and had junk strewn all over) - then ride about 35 minutes to an island (the brochure says Big Dog Island - but I didn't notice the name anywhere) where we spent 3 hours at a beach. The island had a large hut that sold drinks and souvenirs as well as reasonably clean bathrooms. The beach was quite nice with crystal clear water but there was a lot of seaweed farther out. Various boats showed up here as well. At noon, we departed for another island for lunch - OMG what a dump - the bathrooms were atrocious and filthy with doors that didn't lock. The "dining room" was a sweat box with dirty plastic curtains half hanging off - keeping the heat in nicely so it was sweltering. Then came a true tragedy - on an island where the fish should be fresh, we were served what tasted like fried rubber instead of fish. It must have been cooked the day before. There was also dry coconut rice, and patacones or fries. All washed down with warm water. I couldn't wait to leave there. Finally at 2 we left for the natural pool. This is a shallow warm clear area in the middle of the sea - about 18 inches deep - where we were able to swim. It was quite pleasant except that you had to jump out of the boat to get in and there was no ladder to get back on the boat. We stayed about an hour and then headed back to the docks to change and drive back. We were ready to go by 3:20 but our driver said we had to wait for 2 more people to go back. We had come alone - asked why - the driver gave us a big song and dance about 2 women who had not been ready at 5 a.m. and had come later and were put on another boat and were coming in shortly. We waited til 3:45 - asked how much longer we'd have to wait. To make a long sad story short, we wound up waiting til past 4:30 - the driver had lied - the 2 women had spent 3 days on the islands - they weren't late - the boat picked them up at 3:30 but one of it's engines was out and it took them an hour to get back. They had paid for the ride back only. Instead of explaining the problem, the driver had us fuming that we had to wait for people who arrived late - when in fact, it was his company's fault. The fact that we were inconvenienced was not even considered. We got no apology. Another 30 minute delay at the border because the women had a giant suitcase that had to be gone over by the drug dogs and police. The driver then decided he had to make up time so he flew down those infernal curves - thank goodness for dramamine but I wasn't sure even that would work. We arrived back at 8 p.m.
Joe Brown Adventures should be renamed Joe Brown DISADVENTURES. Beware.
Written 19 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your comment, before all, our apologies if we have given you any inconvenience. As you know, the package that you bought has 2 options: Private and Shared transportation. You bought the shared land transportation. Yes, we had a late departure for external causes that are out of our hand but all our clients deserves the same respect and tolerance. We completed our tour on time, but we had to wait two clients that came from another company. That company had problems with engine of the boat and came late. Regarding police control, it is neccesary for control ilegal inmigration and trafic drugs. Again, we are really sorry for your experience, adding to the comment , you hotel was outside to Panama City and usually the clients return between 7:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. depends on traffic jam. For avoid another incovenience in the future, we recommended you to take the private transportation. We are Joe Brown Adventures, the best tour of San Blas Islands...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca S
Boston, MA20 contributions
Absolutely an amazing trip
I travel a lot and this was the best excursion I have ever been on by far. I got a text (via WhatsApp) from Joe Brown Adventures for my confirmation. I found it great as I was able to text them about any questions I had before the trip and they were very responsive. I was picked up around 5:15am. Our driver Jorge did not really speak English but then again his job is to drive us to the port so I don’t mind. He stopped by the grocery store so we could grab some snacks for the trip. I highly recommend grabbing water and snacks there as you are only provided food and one drink free during lunch. You can buy on the islands too for about $2, but it’s basically limited to water and beer.
The ride itself is about 2 1/2 hours. You drive up through the rainforest. Yes the ride is bumpy so if you are not used to small curvy roads then I suggest you don’t look outside. With that said, Jorge was a great driver. He knew the roads and drove great. He also stopped at a couple of places for us to take great pics of the rainforest. You will get to a checkpoint where you have to show your passport as well as pay $20. The Kuna’s control this area.
Once we arrived to the port, we were treated by Blanco. He was our English translator and is a Kuna so he is immersed with the indigenous people. We took a speedboat to the first island which was about 30 minutes away. During this time he gave some background of the Kuna people and the islands which were very interesting. The first island we went to was Dog Island. Ummmmm...can I say paradise? We spent about 3 hours there. I decided to snorkel in the coral reefs there for a little bit before playing in the water and laying out in the sun. After we went to a sand bar in the middle of the ocean. It was absolutely breathtaking. Please know they have no ladders to get back on the boat so we had to help each other jump onto the boat. Little inconvenient but hey it’s about the experience right? We all had a good laugh about it. I want to say after 45min—1hour we went to our last stop. We were served grilled whole fish, rice and some slaw. The fish was bland but they provided some hot sauce to kick it up. I also got a beer as my free drink while there. After lunch we relaxed at the beach here. I was admiring the 5-6 hits that were located right on the shore and was a little jealous I didn’t stay the night. Around 3pm we left back to the port.
This excursion is a MUST DO!!! It was my favorite part of my week long trip to Panama. Everyone was so courteous and it’s an experience I’ll never forget.
Ps. Make sure to bring A LOT of sunscreen. There is minimal shade in the first island, none in the sand bar and none on the third island, unless you stay at the restaurant.
Written 14 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your post, we appreciate your time and the way of you have describe your experience with us. For us was a pleasure to serve you and we hope see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 24
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Joe Brown Adventures
Pupasaurus
Pupasaurus
00
Great company, professional drivers
My family took to the San Blas Islands. We hired Joe Brown adventures to drive us to the beach, where we took a pre
lookin4luxury
lookin4luxury
00
Commute is not worth it
This is about 7 hrs of commute including unnecessarily nauseating herky jerky driving over hundreds of potholes. T
Frank-a-doodle
Frank-a-doodle
00
Rough ride to the San Blas Islands
The ride through the park is rough. Winding roads for about 1 hour. Boat ride was enjoyable, island is beautiful an
brunos267
brunos267
00
A paradise at the end of a rough trip
San blas Islands are a paradise at the caribean sea. This trip starts at 5 AM leaving from the hotel for a 2,5 hour
Monica_W1970
Monica_W1970
00
Know What You're Getting Into
This is going to be a two part review- day trip to the islands and then the company we went with. Islands~ 3.5 st
Connector291330
Connector291330
00
Take your own snorkel gear
While we enjoyed the scenery and boat ride out San Blas, we were disappointed by a non-communicative driver from ou
Alberto L
Alberto L
00
Excellent Service from Joe Brown Adventures!
Tour guide, staff, and service was superb! We were lucky it was a beautiful day, although it was rainy season in P
Beata C
Beata C
00
Beautiful place and great trip
The trip was organized very well. We spent great time during the one day tour to Guna Yala territory. We have a lot
C_and_A_OnTheRoad
C_and_A_OnTheRoad
00
1 day tour to san blas: agency top; tour ok
If you decide to go to the san blas islands we can definetely recommend to book with this company. Elvis was very f
PierQ59
PierQ59
00
Tours
Their Sun Blas tour was initially a little disorganised. They pocket us up from the hotel with a driver who woke n
James B
James B
00
A unique experience of Panama.
A very professional and punctual company. Although the journey from Panama City to the port is fairly long and at t
yungdymes
yungdymes
00
Excellent experience
Beautiful beaches with great tour guide. The catch of the day was delicious and the snorkeling was well worth it. D
tali130
tali130
00
Unforgettable adventure with a truly amazing guide
Can't thank Joe Brown adventures enough.By far one of the special days we had in Panama, the tour , the organizatio
Travis K
Travis K
00
San Blas was the best
This tour was 5 stars...they pick you up at your hotel or place you’re staying early in the morning around 5:30-6:3
Audrey C
Audrey C
00
A beautiful experience
I'd like to thank Joe Brown Adventures for providing my 11 year old daughter and I with such a wonderful experience