Tours and Tickets
Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari
4.5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari

By Native's Way
About
from
S$62.80
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 15 per group
Duration: 2h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English, Spanish
More


  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • National Park fees
  • Bottled water
  • Local guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off in Tamarindo/Langosta area
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Transportation from Playa Brasilito, Flamingo, Potrero, Las Catalinas
  • Transportation from JW Marriott/Hacienda Pinilla
  • Transportation from RIU Hotels/Playas del Coco/Hermosa/Panama


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • Option 1
    Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
    Hotels, Condos, & Houses in Tamarindo/Langosta area
  • Option 2
    Guanacaste Province, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    If you do not need transportation from your hotel in Tamarindo/Langosta, please meet us at the entrance to the Estuary - We can arrange pick up from other areas such as Conchal/Flamingo/Potrero for an extra fee if you like.
Pickup details
  • We include transportation from hotels, condos and private residences in the following areas: - Langosta - Be ready 30 MINUTES before the start time of the tour - Tamarindo - Be ready 20 MINUTES before the start time of the tour Pick up times above are an estimate. Please be ready outside 5 minutes before your scheduled pick up time, but it can take up to 10 minutes longer depending on the day's pick up schedule and traffic. If you need transportation from another location, contact us for more information.
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    Additional pickup options
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included pickup points.
    • Native's Way Costa Rica - Tours and Transfers, 200 meteres south of Diria, Guanacaste Province, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Infants must sit on laps
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 17279P30

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Please wear comfortable clothes, sunscreen, insect repellent
      • Most travellers can participate
      • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      How much is Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari?
      Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari price starts from S$61.31. Discover and book Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari on Tripadvisor
      What is the Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari cancellation policy?
      Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari on Tripadvisor
      Which company provides Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari?
      Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari is hosted by Native's Way. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Native's Way on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari on Tripadvisor
      How much time do I need for Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari?
      On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari on Tripadvisor

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 17279P30

      Reserve your spot

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • You’ll have 2 starting options
        Or, you can also get picked up
        See departure details
      • 1
        Las Baulas National Marine Park
        Stop: 10 minutes
        Join us for the beautiful safari boat tour in Las Baulas National Park to explore the flora and fauna of  the Guanacaste province in Costa Rica. We will take you on a two hour tour through the mangroves of the National Park with the chance to see howler monkeys, crocodiles, birds, iguanas and more. Enjoy the amazing landscape and nature on a relaxing trip with our local tour guide.  The boat is shaded, ideal for days when the sun is extra hot! Tour time is dependent on high tide, and your pick up time will be sent to you upon booking. • Includes Water • Includes Hotel Pick up in Tamarindo and Langosta area • Great for kids and those with limited mobility • No long bus ride! Starts at the rivermouth in Tamarindo!
        Read more
        Pass by
        Playa Langosta
        Tamarindo
        Tamarindo Beach
      • You'll return to the starting point
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Native's Way
        2,752
        Tamarindo, Costa Rica
        Joined in February 2013
      • Nish21
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing Tour
        The whole day was well organised and so much fun. I was picked up on time from the Riu Guanacaste hotel and we set off on our journey. We stopped off for breakfast before transferring to another bus. First stop was the waterfall where I’d suggest wearing your swim stuff under your clothes and bringing a change of clothes to change into after and there are changing rooms. After the waterfall we got back into the bus to go on the hike to the second waterfall. Definitely take insect repellent with you and I’d suggest being covered. We saw sloths, frogs, butterflies and venomous snakes. Such a great day!
        Written 20 April 2024
      • X1641EPannad
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Magnificent sunset awaits
        Prepare for paradise on the sunset cruise! This team of professionals don’t miss a thing. From their friendly demeanor and the willingness to create an excellent experience. The team went above and beyond to take care of our group on this trip. The food and drinks were wonderful and the snorkeling spot gave us ample opportunity to explore. The magic happened at the golden hour when we witnessed the most magnificent sunset. What a day! I’m ready to sleep
        Written 19 April 2024
      • mistyflannigan
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Caravan Tours—not like it was
        This was our third and last trip with Caravan Tours. We visited Costa Rica. On our previous trips the accommodations were nice, this time not so much. On our previous trip to Costa Rica the last night was at the Intercontinental in San Jose and was just fabulous. This time we were significantly downgraded into a budget hotel, Quality Hotel, while clean, not of what we were expecting. The main issue is my husband became violently ill after eating the dinner provided by the hotel. Since the rice looked sketchy to me, I did not eat it and did not become ill, but my husband did eat it. Several other guests were complaining the next morning of sickness as well. Since we were the only ones who bothered to write to Caravan, they refused to accept responsibility and will not remove this hotel from their vendor list. Since Caravan plans on continuing to use this establishment, it is very telling about the company and their lack of regard for the wellness and safety of their guests. Avoid.
        Written 19 April 2024
      • daniellesM250WV
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Highly recommend
        We had a great time. The tour guide was knowledgeable, kind, and patient. He kept us right on time. The lunch was delicious. We wish we had a bit more time at the Sloth sanctuary but we still really enjoyed ourselves. The hike was fairly easy except for the 260 steps to get down to the falls. That was no problem for our younger legs though. They provided us with plenty of water. I highly recommend.
        Written 19 April 2024
      • michaellR6484VS
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Hiking in the Rain Forest
        Great tour & guide! Alejandro did a fantastic job. He was very knowledgeable and had such a positive attitude! The waterfall was spectacular!
        Written 18 April 2024
      • caitlincY305VP
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Highlight of my Costa Rica experience
        The cloud forest hanging bridges were awesome! I love nature, so getting to walk through the forest and admire different wildlife was spectacular. We even saw some black Guam birds and emerald toucans! The zip lining was AMAZING. I’ve read some reviews who are disappointed the Superman isn’t included in the tour. Technically speaking, it is. You still do the zip line tandem, however, if you want to fly like Superman, it’s an extra $13. Well worth the price. I felt like I was truly flying and could have cried it was so amazing Photos of the experience was $20 for the whole catalog of photos they took. I also felt like this was a great value, considering that other places that do pictures like this charge the same price for one or two photos. Our tour guide, Manuel, was so friendly! This tour was definitely the highlight of my trip.
        Written 17 April 2024
      • 564kiaraw
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Vibe
        This was a great tour. The waterfalls were beautiful, the food was excellent and our guides were so knowledgeable about the wildlife and ecosystem of the parks. I love it. I came with a friend but it was also family friendly which is always a plus.
        Written 17 April 2024
      • J3057CKhollyg
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        You Won’t Be Disappointed!
        Don’t miss this adventure! The zip lining through the forest and canyon was amazing. The skilled operators kept us feeling safe—-even on the Tarzan Swing! Horseback riding was good, but we were very ready for the tubing, as our ride was very dusty. Tubing was terrific—again the men running it were great at keeping us moving and handling the easy rapids. The hot springs and mud bath capped off a perfect day.
        Written 16 April 2024
      • J3057CKhollyg
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Get to Know Costa Rica
        This tour was a great first day introduction to Costa Rica. Our guide, Kevin, was amazing. So enthusiastic and knowledgeable about everything we were seeing! Lots of walking up and down trails and steps, and he was very patient with everyone. Lunch was good. Lots of bus riding, though, so bring a book!
        Written 16 April 2024
      • paulhD9489QU
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        The Best In Tamarindo
        These guys are the best! Amazing Staff. Friendly, Attentive, and accommodating on all levels. Chute is the pinnacle of captains. Make this a part of your trip to Tamarindo!
        Written 16 April 2024
      • cristiansellsvegas
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Beautiful hike to a gorgeous waterfall
        The tour was wonderful and the staff was excellent. We got a chance to see a lot of different animals and the water fall was gorgeous. If you hit traffic on the way back, you may take an hour or so longer .
        Written 16 April 2024
      • andrewv591
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        A great day out getting close to wildlife
        We did this day tour with Harold and Jenner guiding and driving on 8th April 2024. We really enjoyed the pace of the trip and the jungle walks. Swimming at the first waterfall was excellent and refreshing and the jungle walk to the Llanos de Cortes fall with its azur water was not too strenuous at all. We even enjoyed the cooling light rain that fell as we returned for a delicious lunch. We were lucky, the heavens opened as we were eating and we watched the tropical downpour from undercover. The highlight of the tour was the visit to the sloth sanctuary where we could get up close to juvenile sloths in their natural habitat, safe in the knowledge that our visit was being curated such that we would not harm the wildlife (including the sloths). We learned that sloths are intolerant to mosquitoe repellent which can kill them. We were grateful for the advice of our guides throughout the trip and also their ability to find wildlife in places we could never see. We stopped at a coffee and chocolate plantation on the way back which was OK but not a highlight at the end of a long day. Overall it was a great day, well organised and guided.
        Written 15 April 2024
      • 832ginau
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fun time!
        Such a great tour! Highly recommend. Kevin is a great tour guide and very knowledgeable. Also thanks to Diego for driving! You do spend some time in the van, but that's when you get to know your group. The eco sanctuary was so fun. You can tell the guides there, Daniel and Wilton, love their job. They are excited to point out animals and will happily take photos through their monocular for you. Overall, great experience.
        Written 15 April 2024
      • X1641EPannad
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        A fun filled day of adventure and beauty
        An incredible day filled with so much fun, adventure, and beauty! Our tour guide was amazing, on the hike, they will locate amazing wildlife and exotic plants and stop to give some basic facts and help with photos etc. The tour offers delicious food, bathroom breaks and bottled water. They really do think of everything, so you can enjoy your day to the max!
        Written 14 April 2024
      • sydneygoodman
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        So many animal sightings!
        Our tour guide Michael was great at making sure we had a great time and got to see so many different animals and sights that are unique to Costa Rica! We had some initial confusion meeting up with the rest of the group since we drove ourselves, but after we cleared that up, Michael made sure to stay in constant communication and made sure we got to enjoy and see everything his tour bus did. If you choose to drive yourself, I would recommend contacting the tour company the night before to know exactly when and where to meet the rest of the group. We got a great taste of all Costa Rica has to offer during this tour, which helped us plan our activities for the rest of the trip. The hike down to Rio Celeste is a little wet, so be sure to wear sneakers with good tread, but overall, the hike is super doable! Michael also took every opportunity to pull over on the side of the road to point out local animals and plants including toucans, monkeys, and sloths! We would definitely recommend this tour!
        Written 13 April 2024
      See all 2 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles171 reviews
      Excellent
      119
      Very good
      31
      Average
      13
      Poor
      8
      Terrible
      0

      Jankathi
      Chelan, WA30 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2021 • Couples
      Ivan did a nice job on the tour and was very informative about the animals we spotted,
      The problem was the front office as the tour was originally scheduled for 7:30am then changed to
      11;30 which was fine as they gave us several days
      notice, Three days prior to the tour I called and checked the pickup time again still 11:30. So when poor Ivan showed up 9:30 as I was heading out for swim we obviously were upset about their lack of coordination.
      Tourism is starting to comeback in Costa Rica and
      I certainly would have the right people in front office
      so you wouldn’t have to receive these kind of reviews.
      BTW front office never apologized.
      Written 26 February 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Sebastian O
      1 contribution
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jan 2023
      The kayak tour through the mangroves was nice, and we saw a lot of birds. The tours are done at low tide because there is more wildlife to see at this time. In our case, the tour started at 8 a.m. (1h before low water), which was comfortable. At first we thought two hours to be a little short (also given the price), but in the end, it turned out to be enough because the sun really started to burn in the end. So we can recommend doing the tours in the early morning if tides admit it. The guide talked a lot and also gave us some interesting information on the plants and birds, but was in total much less competent in wildlife than other guides that we have experienced. If you have paddling experience and would like to get twisted paddles it might help to express this wish at booking time; they are more oriented to complete beginners and usually have straight, untwisted paddles.
      Written 18 February 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Greg B
      Santa Fe, NM272 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      DO NOT go on this tour. I’ve been in Costa Ica for 3 weeks and this by far my worst experience. The guide (Ivan) was late, and on the tour was just going through the motions.

      The guide stopped along the way and cut up a pineapple to share with the group (yum) but then tossed the peels and uneaten pineapple onto the shore and into the mangrove roots. This is a fragile and protected ecosystem and not for discarding waste. Also, such a bad example for the children on board.

      There was no safety briefing at the beginning of the trip and no life jackets on board. There was a big rusty sharp anchor in the bow that passengers had to climb over to get in/out of the boat when the guide stopped onshore to show monkeys.

      The guide kept making/taking phone calls during the trip.
      Written 10 May 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Rochelle F
      Randolph, NJ1,118 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mar 2020
      If you have a car, drive to the estuary and organize a boat as it is much cheaper. Go early as it is hot and wildlife is more prevalent early in the day, although even though we started early, we did not see as much as we did in estuaries in other parts of CR. The boat ride is approximately 2 hours; we did learn about the estuary and the mangroves. It was a nice way to spend the morning.
      Written 19 April 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Ken S
      2 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 2021
      I went on this trip w/ 4 other people. There was another couple that only spoke Spanish. David, our guide was excellent. He gave the whole tour in both English & Spanish. His ability to spot wildlife from 40-50yds away was unbelievable to all of us.

      We saw several cranes/birds/ and eagles. About 10-15 monkeys in a tree, including mothers & babies. Crocodiles, crabs, fish, and about 3-4 types of Iguanas, anywhere from 1 foot to about 5 feet.

      I would highly recommend this trip for the price.
      Written 26 December 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Tamara M
      3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      From start to finish, this excursion could not have been better! Great communication from the company, all the way from immediate confirmation of our reservation to notification of time change due to tide, to pickup time at our location. Ivan was our shuttle driver and boat tour guide; he was very friendly and so informative about the estuary and wildlife. He's an expert at spotting crocodiles, and took us on a short trail walk to see howler monkeys. I totally recommend this beautiful tour!
      Written 5 August 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Tom H
      Mason, OH5 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2022
      First off I wanted to give a shout out to Ivan, our tour guide, he was fantastic. He was extremely knowledgeable on the estuary and its inhabitants. The day of our tour we saw many crocodiles, some monkeys and a wide variety of birds. Ivan was not only sharp but he was also very funny and kept everyone laughing and engaged during the trip. Our group highly recommends this trip and Ivan as the guide.

      One thing I wished we had done in hindsight after the trip was drive down to the town of Tamarindo. It is supposed to be a really cool town, surfer town and very laid back. We did not do this as we were traveling from Papagayo region.
      Written 14 February 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Marianna P
      Norwalk184 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jun 2023
      This 2 hour early morning tour through the estuary was highly informative. We learned all about the mangroves and the entire estuary ecosystem. We did see a baby croc, and numerous interesting birds and crabs. The highlight of our tour was going on a short walk to see numerous monkeys. I enjoyed this experience and we returned by 10am so I had the whole day ahead of me!
      Written 29 June 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Michael S
      New York City, NY3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aug 2022 • Couples
      This was a wonderful tour for my wife and I on our honeymoon. Our host and tour guide Ivan was fantastic. Highly knowledgeable and friendly. Pickup and drop off at the hotel were easy. The tour itself was just about 2 hours and included the ride through the estuary with background and animal sightings. We ventured on to crab island and saw howler monkeys. Highly recommend this as an activity to take up just a portion of your day without being a full day commitment.
      Written 30 August 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Jasmine B
      9 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2024 • Couples
      We ran into a bit of trouble with this tour. We had booked for the 7am tour, but they canceled us via email 48 hours before the date, saying that the early morning tour wouldn't be possible because of high tides. We were invited to reschedule for the 1pm afternoon tour on the same day, which we did.

      Unfortunately, wildlife is less active in the afternoon, so we didn't get to see as much animals as we would have liked. Various herons and one tiny baby crocodile is all we saw while on the boat. A brief walk in the jungle mid-tour allowed us to witness howler monkeys and iguanas, which was nice, but we still felt a bit cheated of the trip we were supposed to have.

      While speaking with the guide, we learned that he had witnessed different animals while guiding the morning tour... what? There was a morning tour!? So why were we canceled? Overbooking? Or we were the only ones and they did not care to do a private tour? We'll never know...

      Although we were disappointed by the situation and the company, it's important to note that our guide did a good job at finding birds for us. But I do wish he chatted less with the customers and paid more attention to spotting animals in nature.

      Overall, an OK experience, but if I could do it again, I would try a similar tour with another company. I feel like I could have had a lot more for my money.
      Written 26 February 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello Jasmine! We have reviewed your reservation and we see that at no time was the tour cancelled. We sent you a message two days before asking you to reschedule at different time due to a change in the ocean tides. We received an email from you confirming that you wanted to join the 1:30pm tour. The message we sent said the following: Hello Jasmine, Thank you for booking the Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari Tour with Native's Way. Due to the change of the ocean tides, we are contacting you to adjust the start time of your tour so the boat can effectively maneuver through the estuary. The start time of the tour has been changed to 10:00 AM. If that time change does not work for you, we have another tour on the same day @ 1:30 PM, or we can rebook you to another day. Please confirm you received this change and we will send you your appropriate pick up time or self-drive meeting time/point. --------------------------------------- We are sorry if the message was not clear enough but at no time did we lie about schedule changes. Pura vida!
      Written 8 March 2024
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Showing results 1-10 of 157
      *Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

      Tamarindo Estuary Boat Safari provided by Native's Way

      All Tamarindo HotelsTamarindo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tamarindo
      All things to do in Tamarindo
      Day Trips in Tamarindo
      RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire