Tours and Tickets

Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour provided by Harlem Spirituals

Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour
4
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Spend a morning immersed in the rich and eclectic culture of Harlem. Meet your guide near Times Square in the morning and board a comfortable coach for the drive north to Harlem. Admire the stately homes and historic buildings of Strivers Row and Sylvan Terrace, and cruise by musical landmarks like the Apollo Theater, which has hosted some of the hottest names in jazz and R&B throughout the decades. Continue on to a local church to take part in an inspiring morning service featuring the soul-stirring vocals of the ARC gospel choir. This community choir helps support the drug treatment services of the Addicts Rehabilitation Center, New York State’s oldest drug-free recovery program. If you select the lunch upgrade, enjoy a delicious meal after the gospel service at Sylvia’s restaurant. Founded by the ‘queen of soul food,’ this Harlem institution dishes up beloved southern-inspired specialties like fried chicken, spicy ribs, collard greens, and cornbread.  At the end of your tour, you are dropped off back at the original departure point in the afternoon.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3453TG3
Call 800-130-2207
Important information
Inclusions
Gospel service • Stop at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture • Walking tour of residential sections of Harlem
Exclusions
Gratuities • Food and drinks (unless lunch option is selected)
Duration
4h
Departure details
690 8th Ave, New York, NY 10036, USA Near Times Square on Eighth Avenue
Inclusions
Gospel service • Stop at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture • Walking tour of residential sections of Harlem
Exclusions
Gratuities • Food and drinks (unless lunch option is selected)
Departure details
690 8th Ave, New York, NY 10036, USA Near Times Square on Eighth Avenue
Duration
4h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Not recommended for child aged 4 and under
Church services may be held in the Bronx, however the tour will still cover the Harlem itinerary
Shorts and tank tops are not allowed to be worn on this tour. Harlem Spirituals Inc. reserves the right to refuse clients improperly dressed and will not refund the service
What is "Soul Food"
Soul Food is traditional African American cuisine that originated in the South in the United States. Today it has become a highly sought after cuisine. It consists of spicy ribs, collard greens, fried fish and chicken, freshly cooked corn bread, and a few side dishes like black eye peas, okra, or macaroni and cheese to mention a few.
Do the tours include walking?
Guests are invited to take walks through the neighborhoods visited. The average walk is about 15 minutes.
Are the tours wheelchair friendly?
With advance notice, wheelchair bound customers with some mobility can be accommodated in the front rows of the tour bus with their wheelchairs folded away in the luggage compartment. It is mandatory that someone accompany customers with special needs to assist them onto the coach.
For passengers with no mobility or a non foldable wheelchairs we recommend giving at least 3 weeks notice so that we can secure a coach with a wheelchair lift.
Wheelchair lifts are 49" X 28" and can carry a maximum weight limit of 700lbs. We kindly ask that you submit the dimensions and model of the chair as our lift may not be able to accommodate scooters and other large sized electric chairs. A maximum of one person in a wheelchair can be accommodated per bus.
Private tours are available with accessible ramp transportation.
Many of the churches that we visit have steps. In order to accommodate their wheelchair bound congregation members churches use portable mobility ramps.
Wheelchair accessible
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    690 8th Ave
    690 8th Ave, New York, NY 10036, USA
    Near Times Square on Eighth Avenue
    See address & details
  • 1
    Harlem
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Apollo Theater
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • You'll end at
    690 8th Ave
    690 8th Ave, New York, NY 10036, USA
    Near Times Square on Eighth Avenue
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

4.0
22 reviews
Excellent
14
Very good
3
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
2

CcSwim
1 contribution
Gospel tour NYC
Nov 2019 • Solo
Wonderful experience. The choir and the church members could not have been more gracious and welcome. Each member of the choir is extremely talented and passionate about the music. A highlight of my visit and I have been to NYC many times. Our guide Anthony was a life time New Yorker who was a wealth of information and easy to hear and understand. Enjoy!
Written 7 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear CCseaSwim, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on our Harlem Gospel tour. Your feedback and recommendation mean a lot to us. As a frequent visitor to our city, we realize that you have many activities to choose from and we honored that you chose our Harlem tour. To learn that it was the highlight of your trip is the icing on the cake for us. Warm regards, Erika Elisabeth Vice president Harlem Spirituals / New York Visions
Written 7 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jill
10 contributions
Amazing Harlem Gospel Tour
Oct 2019 • Solo
This is a must for anyone visiting New York . Our guide was so engaging and lives and breathes this vibrant and beautiful part of the city. I am not a religious person myself but you don’t need to be to be moved and to understand the depth of feeling within this close community. I highly recommend if you can include this on any trip to New York you will experience the realness of New York. Jill Australia 🇦🇺
Written 22 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Jagraham57, Thank you for such an amazing review of our Harlem Gospel tour. We truly appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Best regards, Erika Elisabeth Vice president Harlem Spirituals /New York Visions
Written 4 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cris P
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
Great Harlem Experience
Sep 2019
This tour provides a great insight into Harlem. The online booking process was efficient as was the ticket collection on the day of our tour at Harlem Spirituals’ office in Times Square, which is the tour’s start and finish point. The office staff were friendly and welcoming. The tour itself was also well organised. Our tour guide was very informative about Harlem and its history – she provided a lot of commentary throughout the morning tour which took us through various Harlem neighbourhoods. First stop was the Apollo Theater. The only section we could access inside was the gift store, so a bit of a shame we couldn’t see the main auditorium. After some time browsing the area, it was back on the bus for more of a drive around Harlem while making our way to a church to listen to the ARC Gospel Choir. We had booked the Wednesday tour so it was choir only, no church service. The choir was the tour highlight – they were absolutely amazing! Such beautiful voices and so full of passion and enthusiasm. There was even the opportunity to join the choir in singing ‘Oh Happy Day’ towards the end of their performance. Following the choir concert, we headed back to the Harlem Spirituals office where the tour ended. The tour was an unforgettable experience and it gave us an appreciation of how awesome Harlem is. I’d recommend this tour to anyone visiting NYC.
Written 29 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Gottatravelalways, Thank you for posting such an awesome review of our Harlem Gospel tour. It really means a lot to us that you chose our tour among the many other sightseeing options to visit New York City. More importantly, we are thrilled to read that our tour of the Harlem neighborhood had a positive impact on you. We truly appreciate your thorough review and recommendation of our program. Sincerely, Erika Elisabeth Vice president Harlem Spirituals / New York Visions
Written 7 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joanne H
Sheffield, UK43 contributions
Sharing the Gospel in Harlem
Aug 2019
An inspirational morning tour of Harlem culminating in a performance of the ARC gospel choir. The tour guide was entertaining, knew Harlem as he grew up there and could provide us a with a myriad of facts about changes over the years. The gospel choir was amazing and we loved the fact that we could all join in at the end. Our kids will never forget the experience. Well worth doing if like us you had no idea how wonderful a place Harlem really is.
Written 4 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Joanne H, Thank you for sharing your feedback on our Harlem Gospel tour. Your recommendation means a lot to us. We are so glad to read that you and your children had an unforgettable experience in Harlem. Warm regards, Erika Elisabeth Harlem Spirituals / New York Visions
Written 7 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

derekharris2017
Peterborough, UK8 contributions
The performance by the ARC Choir was so moving!
May 2019 • Solo
A well managed tour. Following my booking in the UK I collected my ticket from the office the day before the tour. This was very efficiently handled by a friendly lady. Anthony, our tour guide was both informative and amusing, and as a Harlem native, was able to give us some insights into the area, past and present. The ARC Choir just blew me away! A most moving and emotional performance! And when they asked us to go and join them singing "O Happy Day" at the end, I was first in line! The brunch at Sylvia's was amazing – even though we were sharing the room with forty-odd children! Sharing a meal with French, German, Australian and Korean fellow travellers was enlightening. A great tour I would recommend to anyone visiting NYC.
Written 2 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Dekerekharris2017, We hope this email finds you well. We realize that there are many tours and activities to choose from in New York City and we are honored that you opted to join our Harlem on a Wednesday Gospel tour. Thank you for sharing your experience and joining in on the signing with the choir! We are so happy that you enjoyed the tour and are truly grateful for your wonderful recommendation. Sincerest regards, Erika Elisabeth Vice president Harlem Spirituals / New York Visions Maven Ameican Journeys
Written 16 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

harrodsfan
Newport Beach, CA296 contributions
The guide was rude the tour didn’t show much of Harlem!
We were very disappointed in this tour. First our hotel told us it was a small bus. It was a 56 passenger bus. We had to get there early and exchange our voucher for tickets and there was a lot of confusion. We got on the bus and waited a long time. Then we drive around the block to take something back to the office which took 20 minutes. Our tour was in two languages which we would never signed up for. On the drive up north the bus drive chattered about how Oprah Winfrey and made unnecessary disparaging comments about her and Robin Williams. He also made political comments. We saw the Apollo theater and drive about 6 blocks down 125 street but not a lot of commentary. We then went north to another area to see an old house and a row of wooden houses. By then we were over the whole tour. We went to the church and left the group. Don’t book this tour if you want to see Harlem!
Written 25 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Harrodsfan, Your comments about our tour are totally unjustified and your real quarrel should be with your hotel concierge who sold you the wrong tour. Your booking was made on our public bus tour, not a private tour or a van tour as sold by your concierge. We require guests to arrive 15 minutes prior to check in; we also take this time to answer any questions they may have. Our staff took this time to explain to you the content of our tour. You had the option to opt out since this is not what you ordered. In our literature, we do mention that we reserve the right to conduct the tour in 2 languages. Our guides are trained to deliver the same information in both languages. In order to go uptown, our coaches have to circle the block since they pass in front of our office, they collect your tickets and give us their final passengers counts. All of this is done before the scheduled departure time and not 20 additional minutes. The reason you did not see much of Harlem, is because you decided to leave the tour early. The wooden houses that you saw are part of the Jumel Terrace historic district; a New York City Landmark that is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. While we understand your frustration, lashing out at our staff and guide was extremely rude and inconsiderate to the other patrons. We truly hope that you are able to resolve this issue with your hotel concierge. Cordially, Erika Elisabeth Harlem Spirituals/ New York Visions Maven American Journeys
Written 16 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Leah M
Virginia Beach, VA89 contributions
After Christmas City Adventure
I visit family in New York every Christmas Day and follow up with a day after Christmas family visit to the city. For a change of pace , we went uptown instead of the usual midtown adventure. We had a great time and it was a perfect change of scenery. It was less touristy and we plan to go again on our own. We missed the bus and upon arriving at the tour company at 9:30 a staff member took us to the church via subway. She gave us some Information about Harlem on the train ride, which I appreciated since we were late. The church was beautiful. I loved it and the choir was amazing. It was an added bonus that the choir were volunteers of a treatment program. I was happy to be part of the audience and hear their testimonies. Sylvia’s was tasty soul food. My only complaint was the seating at the restaurant was cramped , but that is my only bad comment about the trip - so overall a great time.
Written 26 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Leah M, Thank you very much for your kind and honest words. We are glad that we were able to take you to Harlem by subway so that you could still experience Harlem, the choir and restaurant despite having missed the tour. Sylvia's is very popular with locals and visitors and during the holiday season, it attracts many more folks but their seating areas follow fire safety code. We are thankful to have been a part of your after Christmas city adventure. Wishing you a happy and Healthy 2019! Sincerely, Erika Elisabeth Harlem Spirituals /New York VIsions Maven American Journeys
Written 28 December 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

karenwT6683ZC
Durham, UK19 contributions
Up lifting singing
Dec 2018
Really enjoyed the atmosphere in the church. The singing was uplifting and joyful. The people were real and had had problems in the past but had overcome them and were inspirational.
Written 24 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear KarenT6683ZC, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our Harlem on a Wednesday Gospel tour. The ARC Gospel choir holds the "Hour of Power" service to give praise and thanks in addition to inspiring all of those in attendance with a message of hope. Like you said this is real and we are glad that you appreciated it. Sincerest regards, Erika Elisabeth Harlem Spirituals / New York VIsions Maven American Journeys.
Written 10 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris K
1 contribution
Pick a different tour company - you will thank me
Do yourself a favour and don’t use this company for the Harlem Gospel tour. The English tour is half in German. The tour guides, while authentic (born and raised in Harlem) and likely experienced - are incredibly poor. Glen spent the tour pointing out where he grew up but didn’t have a grasp of what tourists are actually interested in - aka the history. Also you are travelling everywhere on a bus, it’s not really a walking tour. If you are looking for an authentic experience highly recommend looking for a different company. Harlem was great but we regret not looking further!
Written 18 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DaphneTB
Walton-On-Thames, UK19 contributions
Great tour
I would do this again. The gospel choir are amazing and put on a fantastic and uplifting show. They had us all out of our seats dancing and clapping. I wish they’d done just one more number though, it was over too soon. The coach tour was good. Damien our guide is well informed and delivers a lot of information on the way to and around Harlem at a good pace. I have been to Harlem before, today I got to see more and found and the stop for the short tour around the “white” house really interesting.
Written 23 May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 13
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Harlem Spirituals
Telcomboss
Telcomboss
00
Free Brooklyn walking tour - awesome!
Free Tours by foot: Ornell provided an informative and entertaining tour of the Bridge, Brooklyn Heights and Dumbo
Macdonald2717
Macdonald2717
00
Gospel and Brunch- I believe!
This was amazing. The church service at The Greater Highway Deliverance Church was outstanding. The energy, thankfu
Hook911
Hook911
00
Fascinating Insight to the real NYC
This was a great way to see the real Harlem and an authentic Harlem Church Service. The tour leaves from just behin
Tony B
Tony B
00
Authentic Experience
Alvin is a warm, enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide and focuses on African American luminaries and their per
Ellie_Veee
Ellie_Veee
00
Complete waste of money and time and itinerary not followed as promised.
This tour is a complete waste of money and time! We stopped for way too log at some memorial. No explanation. Just
MARKLI
MARKLI
00
I gave 1 star because you cannot leave none this was horrible
This was $175 a PERSON ( $350 a couple) , and we were told that we would be taken by a bus from the meeting place o
RobbynaS
RobbynaS
00
Shouting not singing and way too loud
The bus tour to Harlem with Anthony's guiding and excellent information was very well received. He knew a lot and h
olivia l
olivia l
00
Interesting tour
We enjoyed the tour and Anthony, our guide gave us enough information about Harlem to keep us interested throughout
suber2016
suber2016
00
It was uplifting.
I highly recommend this tour we loved it. The staff we bought our tickets from were so friendly and happy to answe
jagraham57
jagraham57
00
Excellent Harlem Gospel Tour
This tour is a must for anyone visiting New York . So well organised and one of the best tours that I have been on
MarieC0406
MarieC0406
00
Harlem Gospel Tour Wednesday
Very interesting- Anthony is a knowledgeable and fun tour guide! The Gospel Choir is not a professional choir, so d
MarilynDun
MarilynDun
00
A truly spiritual experience
Bus tour from 8th Avenue to Hsrlem - Very informative commentary from our guide Ronny. Was very personable and made
John N
John N
00
Harlem tour
An interesting tour with guide Anthony who had personal knowledge of the Harlem district and gave an interesting an
frequenttraveller219
frequenttraveller219
00
Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour - PHENOMENAL
Firstly, let us say that our Tour Guide Anthony, was without a doubt, the best tour guide we have ever dealt with.
Mary C
Mary C
00
Wonderful experience
The service was amazing and we felt very welcome at the Thessalonica Baptist church. Anthony was our guide and he w