We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Herradura Divers

Features Animals
Ocean Plaza Mall on the Road to Los Suenos Resort and Marina | 2 miles north of Jaco, Herradura, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Save
Review Highlights
couldn't make it…ever

Spent 3 weeks emailing back and forth about diving with Herradura--I tend to dive every day, and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
knuckles2
,
Phoenix, Arizona
It's like they don't want your business

I would give this outfit 0 stars if possible because that is how many dives I was able to do with... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
arizonamike54
,
phoenix,arizona
Read all 45 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Herradura Divers is the first and foremost PADI Dive Resort in the Jaco Beach and Playa Herradura area. After 9 years of experience in this tropical setting we have gained the knowledge and professionalism to give you an unforgettable experience while diving in Costa Rica.
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good11%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“dive shop” (6 reviews)
“dive sites” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Ocean Plaza Mall on the Road to Los Suenos Resort and Marina | 2 miles north of Jaco, Herradura, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive shop"
in 6 reviews
"open water dives"
in 4 reviews
"dive sites"
in 5 reviews
"dive experience"
in 3 reviews
"poor visibility"
in 3 reviews
"padi certification"
in 2 reviews
"made us feel"
in 3 reviews
"his team"
in 2 reviews
"tortuga island"
in 3 reviews
"jaco area"
in 2 reviews
"fish"
in 2 reviews
"chris"
in 16 reviews
"pacific"
in 6 reviews
"turtles"
in 3 reviews
"instructor"
in 6 reviews
"visability"
in 2 reviews
"equipment"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Spent 3 weeks emailing back and forth about diving with Herradura--I tend to dive every day, and understand the cost/safety implications for a dive shop handling tourists. I was able to potentially book only one dive with them, and on my way to my condo,...More

Thank knuckles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerraduraDivers, Owner at Herradura Divers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We apologize that we had to cancel your tour, it's always frustrating having to cancel divers and tours, but unfortunately sometimes it is necessary. We informed by email 3 days before the tour that we have one instructor beeing sick and not able to dive...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would give this outfit 0 stars if possible because that is how many dives I was able to do with them. Girlfriend and I planned a trip to Jaco and contacted them about multiple diving days 4-6 days in total. I kept in correspondence...More

Thank arizonamike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerraduraDivers, Owner at Herradura Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We apologize that we had to cancel your tour, it's always frustrating having to cancel divers and tours, but unfortunately sometimes it is necessary. We informed by email 3 days before the tour that we have one instructor beeing sick and not able to dive...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

For my PADI Scuba Diving Certification I attended the classes at Herradura Divers to become an open water diver. I did both the pool and the open water sessions there. The pool sessions went pretty well. Chris is a very good instructor, patient and understanding,...More

Thank jokoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Excellent diving and great timing for a super cool dive! Plenty to see and photograph, also a good portion of adrenaline and ofcourse all in good, experienced and carefull company.

Thank CARICACO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerraduraDivers, Owner at Herradura Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank You Andres, it was a great pleasure to dive with you and your friends and we hope that the adventures continue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

My friends and I did our first two PADI certification dives with Chris and his team. The staff were very professional and did a great job with us. The equipment was great, the team was friendly, the dive sites were interesting and the experience was...More

Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We were in the Jaco area over Christmas this year and went on an excursion with Chris, Stefanno, Jose and Noella to Isla Tortuga. Chris and his staff were great. It really was a great experience to be in the hands of such professionals. We...More

Thank alanandann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerraduraDivers, Owner at Herradura Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thanks Rachel, your review makes us very proud and reflect that we are doing things right. Regarding visibility, diving here in Costa Rica and along the coast of the american continent is influenced by a high load of tiny algeas and plancton. This lowers visibility...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We drove out here from Puntarenas and discovered a post-it note on the door saying they are closed till for the rainy season and not back till December. I checked their website in advance and no mention of it. Kind of a wasted trip out...More

Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerraduraDivers, Owner at Herradura Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi Sara, i apologize for your travel from Puntarenas to Jaco to do two dives with us. There is a communication on our Facebook page and i will add this notification also on our webiste to avoid future confusions. The high swells and the heavy...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

I'm in Jaco for 3 months and was looking for a convenient dive company for frequent dives during my stay. Unfortunately, I don't yet speak Spanish, so when the Spanish recordings came on when I called both phone numbers, I was at a loss, but...More

1  Thank Notsoakedinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerraduraDivers, Owner at Herradura Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Notsoakedinseattle, we apologize for your bad experience with us as you found Herradura Divers closed. I would like to explain you why we are closed and how to avoid similar experiences somewhere else. As it is my mission to provide to our clients and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I went with Herradura Divers on a dive during my last full day in Jaco. The dive was nice and easy, with good visibility. Scheduling was easy, emailing directly with the owner. On the day of the dive, I just went to the office, where...More

Thank Cesar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I had 2 great dives with the team there. even though they were just local coastal dives everything was well organized. the dive masters were friendly and knowledgeable about the sights. The equipment was well cared for.

Thank frankiethebull2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerraduraDivers, Owner at Herradura Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thanks Frankie, it was a pleasure to dive with you and it makes us proud to hear that you enjoyed the dives with us. We hope to see you soon again, here or in Sardinia! Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John T
20 January 2018|
Answer
Response from HerraduraDivers | Property representative |
Hi John, yes we will be open and viz should be 40*-50 feet. See you then! Chris
0
Votes
Morty86NL
17 June 2015|
Answer
Response from HerraduraDivers | Property representative |
Hi Morten, thanks for contacting us. Unfortunately i have to inform you that we are closed during the rainy season as the river run off lead to very low visibility and the high swells can create dangerous situations. As it... More
0
Votes