We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox

Broad Lane, Yate BS37 7LD, England
+44 1454 227431
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Poor tasteless food

Haven’t visited here for a quiet a while and I remember why, the food is tasteless and bland and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wattage80
via mobile
Dinner

Awful! Food took a long time and was microwaved and tasteless! Not one meal was fresh! Overpriced... read more

Reviewed 2 May 2018
sarahmK1491RS
via mobile
Read all 142 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (22 reviews)
“pudding” (7 reviews)
LOCATION
Broad Lane, Yate BS37 7LD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1454 227431
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"steak"
in 22 reviews
"great value for money"
in 5 reviews
"pudding"
in 7 reviews
"my mum"
in 3 reviews
"nice meal"
in 2 reviews
"main course"
in 4 reviews
"gets busy"
in 2 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 2 reviews
"last visit"
in 2 reviews
"excellent service"
in 3 reviews
"mixed grill"
in 4 reviews
"buy one get one free"
in 4 reviews
"first class"
in 2 reviews
"sunday roast"
in 3 reviews
"a busy saturday night"
in 2 reviews
"wild boar and chorizo burger"
in 2 reviews
"food coming"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven’t visited here for a quiet a while and I remember why, the food is tasteless and bland and just poor quality. Chicken rubbery, burger cheap and nasty and the pizza totally tasteless and it was a curried pizza! Service was friendly though and the...More

Thank wattage80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, I’m sorry to read our food is not to your taste. Hopefully you’ll give us another try in the future. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Awful! Food took a long time and was microwaved and tasteless! Not one meal was fresh! Overpriced for the food!!! Awful awful awful! We will not be back!

Thank sarahmK1491RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello, thank you for the review, I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy our food. If you would like to discuss your visit further please send us an email or give us a call. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Popped into the Fox on the way home form shopping. Was shown to a table straight away. Drinks and meal were ordered from the table which is nice. Service was quick but not too fast with the food coming hot. Servers were attentive but not...More

1  Thank Loonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Loonuk, thanks so much for taking the time to post such a positive review for us, everyone is so quick to criticise but not so much to praise. We really hope you pop in and see us again soon, Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Visited the fox last night very disappointed sirloin steak full of fat and gristle burger overcooked there were 4 of us the other 2 enjoyed there meal we have visited many times over the years and all of us thought nowhere near as good as...More

Thank 222janettep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hello, thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with a couple of meals, I do hope you let us know so we could rectify it for you. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Went to The Fox for lunch ,very good food, service was second to none, served by young man called Andrew I think was extremely polite and nothing was to much trouble. Have been to this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed.More

Thank 379elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Elaine, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review for us, we’re really grateful. We love that you’ve never been disappointed and Andy will be delighted that you gave him a special mention. We hope to see you again soon. Regards,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Many visits to the Fox, never disappointed. Good food, great selection, wonderful attractions for children. Staff, especially Sam, a delight

Thank Gilbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Hello, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review, it means a lot. Sam will be over the moon that you took the time to give her a special mention. We hope you visit us again soon. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Went with my daughter and the starter was cold and my daughter had to send her burger back twice due to it being cold and over cooked! Won’t be going back.More

Thank foxy1234512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, im sorry that you were not happy on a recent visit. As you can see from our other reviews we have great feedback, so I’m very surprised you were disappointed. I do...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

I went here recently for a family get together I had the prawn cocktail, beef in a sauce with veggiesand chrisrmas pud with ice cream to finish. The prawns were tasteless, there was hardly any beef but the christmas pud was lovely. The atmosphere was...More

Thank PembrokeshireAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We hope you visit us again soon. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Met with a group of friends for pre Christmas meal. You cannot book in advance so best to get someone there early to secure a table as it gets busy. Once we hot a table we were told it's a 40min wait for food but...More

Thank Oakfieldtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hello, thank you so much for the 5 star review, it really means a lot to us all here. I’m so glad you and your friends enjoyed a festive catch up. We hope you visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Probably don't go here often enough, but when we do, we are not disappointed. Menu probably needs updating hence the VG score rather than excellent, but nice meals and have ben a number of times as a couple and with the kids in tow! Drinks...More

Thank Happy-Baz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to post a great review for us. We really hope that you do visit us again really soon. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Yate Hotels
The Portcullis Hotel
27 reviews
3.25 km away
The Sodbury House Hotel
54 reviews
4.89 km away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
739 reviews
6.29 km away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
669 reviews
6.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Swan at Nibley
550 reviews
1.33 km away
Codrington Arms
149 reviews
.43 km away
The Fox
197 reviews
.01 km away
Pisces fish and chips
83 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Rising Sun
36 reviews
3.39 km away
Chipping Sodbury Golf Club
19 reviews
3.77 km away
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
12 reviews
4.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
samentwistle
23 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Deb666888 | Property representative |
Yes we do. X
1
Vote
Marcia G
1 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from susrug1957 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Marcia, they normally only take bookings for special days i.e. Valentines or xmas, but I think as there will be 9 of you they probably will make an exception. It's worth a phone call! Just to add , we have been many times... More
0
Votes
;