We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Penha Longa Golf Course

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho, Portugal
Phone Number:
+351 21 924 9011
Website
Description:

Designed by Robert Trent Jones II, this 18-hole course features gently...

Designed by Robert Trent Jones II, this 18-hole course features gently rolling hills, stately groves of oaks and pines and magnificent views of the Sintra Mountains.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 200 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Exceleent

Great condition and well maintained. Both the 18 and 9 hole courses. Buggies available to rent which do come in handy for the 18 holes! Thoroughly enjoyable game by all!

Reviewed 1 week ago
L0ve2Travel2006
,
London
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The club's facilities and the attached hotel are both fabulous. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said about the course. After the first 3 holes, the course deteriorated badly. It was scruffy and unkempt - such a disappointment in view of the spectacular background scenery.

Helpful?
Thank happygoluckyUk
penhal0nga, General Manager at Penha Longa Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding our golf course. I sincerely regret to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the conditions of the course. We will revise your comments with the team and evaluate necessary actions to be taken. Look forward to your visit... More 

London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great condition and well maintained. Both the 18 and 9 hole courses. Buggies available to rent which do come in handy for the 18 holes! Thoroughly enjoyable game by all!

Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Travel2006
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would highly recommend this golf course. It's in a beautiful location among the forested hillside outside Lisbon. The course is very well kept and a good test for any keen golfer. Excellent clubhouse and top class customer service throughout.

Helpful?
Thank tim h
Olstykke, Denmark
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I complained about the service level our Group recived. Since then we got more service than ever before. So here we found out the manager took us serious and delived big time. Thanks for a great week and some really good golf.

Helpful?
Thank anubbi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I love playing this course it is challenging but also very beautiful. Expensive but worth it. The views are also spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Just played Penha Longa again after reviewing it in November and I have to change my opinion on it. We played on a fine day which always helps when reviewing the experience. I have to say that the course is one of the most scenic in the area and has some fantastic holes in it. The day we played was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe R
Bryce Canyon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We arrived at about 9AM. The staff warned us it was wet. We went out for 18 and got wet but had a great time. The course it set beautifully in the National Park.

Helpful?
Thank S7635DBdavidk
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2016

There appears to be a nine hole and an 18 of which you play one or the other and not a mixed combination of the nines. The 10th tee of the 18 is miles from the club house. All 27 holes are great to play. I played the nine holes on the day I arrived and took a pull trolley.... More 

Helpful?
Thank duncanpetty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Played there two weeks ago and the course was very wet with balls getting lost due to plugging on the fairway. Buggies very expensive at 55 euros each and with the fairways being so wet we were not allowed to go onto them which made for a very slow round.

Helpful?
Thank Joe R
penhal0nga, Manager at Penha Longa Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Joe R. We regret the fact that the Course was not up to your expectations. We assure you the continuous efforts of our maintenance team to provide an excellent golf course. Kind regards Susana Mata Quality Manager More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2016

This golf course has a wonderful layout but for whatever reason the condition of it in recent years has not been good. I visited a year ago and it was in terrible condition although one could see a lot of work was taking place. One year on it is in a lot better condition but still nowhere near how i... More 

Helpful?
Thank AB1957
penhal0nga, Manager at Penha Longa Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments. We work everyday to always improve our services, products and facilties. It pleases us to know we achieve our goals. We hope to provide you an even better course on your next visit. Kind regards Susana Mata Quality Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Penha Longa Golf Course also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Penha Longa Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Penha Longa Golf Course staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?