We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carding Shed- MOVED

Review Highlights
Recommended and we would recommend

First time we have been and we will definitely go again. The atmosphere is great with all the old... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
andypS7203CZ
,
Yorkshire
via mobile
Lovely

Called into the new address to buy some Father’s Day vouchers and decided to eat there. The food... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
Sally T
,
Hayton, null, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 802 reviews
304
All photos (304)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“vintage cars”(96 reviews)
“cakes”(89 reviews)
“vintage clothes”(27 reviews)
About
The Carding Shed is found in Holmfirth, a multi-venue attraction based around a vintage theme. It's a lovely place to visit for the car, coffee, and vintage enthusiast! Combining a Classic Car Display, Automobilia, Vintage Clothes Shop, Antiques...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Hepworth HD9 2RD, England
Website
+44 1484 680300
Call
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
448
205
81
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
448
205
81
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vintage cars cakes vintage clothes afternoon tea wait for a table china cups shops selling quirky place retro shops for sale peas on display unique experience step back in time pie lovely food old mill
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

First time we have been and we will definitely go again. The atmosphere is great with all the old car stuff, plus a real vintage feel to the place. We had the burger and the afternoon tea. Both were excellent. Too much to finish it.

Thank andypS7203CZ
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for the first time, there was 8 of us in total but we had to sit on 2 tables which was a little disappointing when we wanted to sit together as a family get together but never mind. Some of the party wanted breakfast...More

1  Thank KBW32
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Great tasting coffee and a good selection of cakes. We tried the Chocolate Snowball and Neopolitan cakes, which were delicious. The portion was generous and the buttercream filling was a little overpowering, so we were unable to finish. Friendly service, although I shouldn't have needed...More

1  Thank fiftyshadesofgraham
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

quirky little place. not the easiest to find on a steep hill. my mum had been to the old premises in hepworth but now they have new premises in holmfirth top end of dunford road. great if like vintage cars. my boys liked it,but only...More

1  Thank mcliff
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

A little disappointed , had to wait ages for a table camp bloke who was seating people asked us how many seats (3) then seemed to get lost to come back and ask us again , them said we had to wait a further 10...More

1  Thank Andy B
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Andy, Thank you for your review. Our service is always under constantt review and we can only apologise for the mix up here. However, the inappropriate and homophobic language you have used in your review is quite simply unacceptable. Please do not return to...More

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Called into the new address to buy some Father’s Day vouchers and decided to eat there. The food was lovely the place was busy and the service was excellent. Will return very soon.

Thank Sally T
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Sally, Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Been twice, once for breakfast and once for lunch. Breakfast was served on a sea of baked beans, and the potatoes and mushrooms were very oily. We attempted lunch and after queuing for 20 mins to place order, our drinks took a further 20 mins...More

1  Thank welovebarbados
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your review. Our food and service is always under constant review and we will most certainly take your comments on board. We are sorry you had to wait to order food and then for your drinks. We do try as hard as...More

Reviewed 25 July 2018

We were taken there by friends who live in Hepworth nearby. We enjoyed a late breakfast which was all good. The guys had the full breakfast and I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. This is an amazing place to visit because of all the...More

Thank heatherrjolly
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have been to the new place, the first was just a quick drive to find it and decided not to call in but give it time to settle. Well we're do I start, sign posting to the place is...More

1  Thank chalkiewhite58
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of putting in place signage to the cafe, so this should not be an issue much longer. We have designed our new premises to ensure disabled accessibility throughout. The disabled toilet is signposted within...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018

eventually got there after a bit of fun with the sat nav sending us completely the wrong way ending up on top of the hills around holmfirth.cafe area was very well done and the staff looked good in their uniforms food was excellent and with...More

1  Thank richard s
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Richard, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you return again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Old Bridge Inn
1,101 reviews
2.38 km away
Durker Roods Hotel
844 reviews
6.78 km away
Bagden Hall Hotel
869 reviews
8.50 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
732 reviews
9.43 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Spiced Pear
803 reviews
1.36 km away
The Olive Tree Bistro Cafe
182 reviews
1.24 km away
The Butchers Arms
207 reviews
.39 km away
The White Horse Inn
89 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Summer Wine Exhibition
180 reviews
2.49 km away
The Clothiers Arms
6 reviews
3.42 km away
Summer Wine Brewery Tap
23 reviews
5.20 km away
Woodlands Play Gym
36 reviews
6.40 km away