We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: D137, 05600 Mont-Dauphin, France
Phone Number:
+33 4 92 45 42 40
Website
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Dominating the valleys of the Guil and the Durance, which was based on...

Dominating the valleys of the Guil and the Durance, which was based on designs by Vauban, was constantly perfected from the 18th to 19th century. Mont-Dauphin is perhaps France’s finest example of military architecture in the classical style. Designated world heritage site by UNESCO. Open: > 1st June to 30th September: from 10 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. and from 2 p.m. to 6.30 p.m. > 1st October to 31st May: from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. Closed: > Mondays from 1st October to 31st May. > 1st January, 1st May, 1st November, 11th November and 25th December. Admission fees: Adults : 7,50 €; Concessions (18 to 25) = 4,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 126 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Visit the Vauban Fortresses

We didn't have enough time to visit the fort in-depth. You will need at least half a day or more ! We'll be back! Awesome place !

Reviewed 25 September 2012
Francois D
,
Umbria, Italy
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 6: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were with our small son between seasons. It was quite and very nice place to walk and have relaxed time.

Helpful?
Thank Александр Б
Manon A, Responsable relations publiques at Place forte de Mont-Dauphin, responded to this review

Thank you ! We hope to see you again someday. Note that we are planning to organize guided tours in English (start summer 2018) if you are interested. Best, More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Well we had a great time walking around we were there during the off-season. We did however find a few artists that had shops open and bought heart that we brought home with us. I'd say try to visit between June and September.

Helpful?
Thank kriswagner01
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Worth climbing to the top of the mountain (by car). A pleasant walk and a few reasonable restaurants - nothing extraordianry.

Helpful?
Thank Joram1935
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My 7 year old and I hiked to the fort, taking the groundhog "Marmottes" route. It was fun and there were lots of families with little children hiking the side of the mountain. We made it to the Fort and it was rewarding. We saw lots of local flowers and plants, and we got to see the famous Marmottes of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barb M
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Entering by car over a wooden bridge it's like entering year 1800! Mont Dauphin is on the top of a mountain, surrounded by high stone walls. Stunning view! This little town was empty as it is still low season, and this fact made the place even more interesting. Besides little hotel, restaurants, cafes and handicrafts shops there's also art ateliers.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wanguita
Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We didn't have enough time to visit the fort in-depth. You will need at least half a day or more ! We'll be back! Awesome place !

Helpful?
Thank Francois D

Travellers who viewed Place forte de Mont-Dauphin also viewed

Briancon, Hautes-Alpes
Montgenevre, Hautes-Alpes
 
L'Argentiere-la-Bessee, Hautes-Alpes
 

Been to Place forte de Mont-Dauphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Place forte de Mont-Dauphin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?