We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brackendale Spa

67 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Brackendale Spa

67 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
67Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 7
  • 8
  • 6
  • 9
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bozzly wrote a review Sep 2020
Chesterfield, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely birthday treat. We had a back massage and foot massage and came away feeling really relaxed. We rebooked for further treatments.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Helena P wrote a review Jan 2020
15 contributions1 helpful vote
7 family members enjoyed a lovely afternoon celebrating a 60th birthday! Afternoon tea was nice, with quaint crockery and a good selection of cakes and some sandwiches (unfortunately no vegan option available). Spa Therapist was friendly and treatments were relaxing. Setting is pretty and facilities have more of a cosy feel, than large chain spas, with changing rooms etc being a little dated. We had the place to ourselves so thoroughly enjoyed being able to move between the pool, sauna and loungers in peace. Would definitely recommend as long as you’re not expecting a huge modern complex.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Emma P wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
I would count myself a regular at this lovely little day spa. It’s a great setting but what really makes it stand out is the warm welcome you receive from the therapists, Lisa and Laura, who are smiling, chatty, kind and generous and go out of their way to put you at your ease every time. Oh, and also great therapists! I would definitely recommend the manicure, the pedicure, the hot stones massage, the reflexology... And great value too! Things to bear in mind: - you really do need to message for dates to book on Facebook or email. It’s a small spa and no receptionist so this is by far and away the best way to contact them - the pool, sauna and changing rooms are shared with the holiday cottages on the same site, and the changing rooms in particular are a bit basic. If you are after one of those spa days where the main activity is swimming and lounging by the luxury pool and sauna, this is probably not your best choice - but these facilities are great as an add on for an hour before your treatment and a fraction of the cost of the big spa places - you may have to wait outside the entrance to the spa for a bit, and it might be a bit chilly depending on the time of year... it isn’t usually for long but it’s probably good to leave a little extra time in case the girls are running behind. Also you can’t hear the bell but it does work so don’t worry about that! - Carsington Water is just a stone’s throw away and a lovely place to explore before or after your treatment - did I mention how lovely the therapists are?? The locals love this place, it’s a real find!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
jlt60 wrote a review Oct 2019
uk2 contributions1 helpful vote
My daughter bought me a voucher for a spa here including afternoon tea and swim and sauna. We arrived and were initially unable to get into the spa, eventually after a few minutes wait, one of the girls answered the door. There was no welcome or polite chat. We were ushered into a shared treatment room and after a look at our voucher, the girls said we had two treatments, we both chose a back massage and a facial. The girls set to on our back massage. This turned out to be a very poor treatment, using only coconut oil, and was more of a back rub than a massage. I only had one side of my back done!! The treatment only lasted about 15 minutes, and we were then told that our voucher wasn’t for two treatments after all and to put our dresses back on, no offer of a robe! We were served a mediocre couple of sandwiches, a scone and cake each and a mug of tea. I then asked where we could get changed for our swim and sauna we were told that we couldn’t use the pool now because we had chosen two treatments, one of which we weren’t given! The whole experience lasted less than an hour and was truly awful from start to finish. I challenged the girls about the cost of this 15 minute treatment and 'tea' and they agreed to refund the extra £15 each for the swim and sauna that we couldn’t have. It took a couple of days and several messages before we received part of the promised refund and are currently in the process of legal action to recoup the reminder owing. I only gave one star because it won’t allow me to give none.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from LauraH8628, Owner at Brackendale Spa
Responded 19 Oct 2019
Hello, We feel it is such a shame that you would write such a terrible review and omit the truth. We would like to respond to a few of the issues you have raised in this review. You were 25 minutes late for you appointment. It is clearly stated on our website that entrance to the spa is through a key coded door. There is a bell for you to ring to get the therapists attention. Also as mentioned on our website, arriving late may mean that there is no therapist to greet you straight away. Your daughter booked both of you in for a different spa package to the one that was stated on your gift vouchers. We offer several different spa packages and each spa package is a differnt length of time as chairman nations different things. Booking in for the wrong spa package is not our fault. We couldn't offer you the sauna and swim as we hadn't allocated the time for this. This was explained clearly stated to you on the day. Our therapists both have over 15 years experience and your comment about only massaging half of your back is absolutely ridiculous. As stated very clearly the 'Tea at the spa' treatments are 20 minutes long. We used coconut oil for your back massage as you mentioned to the therapist that you suffered with eczema. We find coconut oil the most suitable for sensitive skin/ skin problems. Any concerns regarding the treatments should of been raised at the time. Your complaint on the day was that you didn't get your sauna and swim. There was no mention about the treatment or the afternoon tea. We have agreed to part refund you £10 per person which we did on the day. We have answered privately our reasons why we are not refunding The remaining £10 that you are demanding. We find it extremely disappointing that you would continue your extremely damaging vendetta against a small business. We just hope that our regular customers can see through this vile and false review. The last email we sent to you, we did state that any further correspondence please be Through your legal team.
Read more
crazymumv4 wrote a review Sep 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom16 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I treated my sister for her birthday to the Friday Fizz pamper package. We were greeted promptly on arrival and shown where the pool was. We swam for around an hour and had the pool to ourselves. We also used the sauna. We were then taken upstairs for our treatments. We both chose the back treatments with a scrub to clear skin followed by massage. I was in heaven! Lisa was amazing at this and I was so relaxed it was wonderful. We then had afternoon tea which was lovely, the sandwiches were freshly made and the scones, cream and jam very nice indeed. My sister had a pot of tea and I had a cafftierre of coffee freshly brewed. We had prosecco too. Our spa day was rounded of nicely with gel nails. Lisa was on her own and had 2 other ladies come in after us. She was busy all day but we never felt rushed to leave. Lisa made us feel very relaxed and I loved the informal feeling of it (Im not that impressed with too much pomp and ceremony!). Only thing I felt was missing was a hairdryer in the changing rooms so we didn't wash our hair when showering for this reason. I would highly recommend Lisa, she was friendly, polite and very good at her job. Thanks again Lisa!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous