We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Klinker Opal Property

7879 Hwy 97, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3R9, Canada
+1 250-542-5173
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Wll worth the time and money spent!

We visited on Saturday, September 3, 2016. We communicated with Bob, the owner/operator via email... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2016
opalseekers
,
Kaneohe, Hawaii
No longer there!

Still advertised, and road signs are still up! Avoid trying to left turn into here as there is no... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2016
Jeffrey R
,
Chilliwack, Canada
Read all 29 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good13%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible41%
14 Aug 2016
“Seriously? ”
25 Sep 2016
“Wll worth the time and money spent!”
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
7879 Hwy 97, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3R9, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 250-542-5173
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016

We visited on Saturday, September 3, 2016. We communicated with Bob, the owner/operator via email before our arrival, securing a reservation for that date and all needed items to bring. The drive up the mountain was rough, but doable, in our small SUV. The area...More

Thank opalseekers
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

Thank you. Happy that you enjoyed your day!

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Still advertised, and road signs are still up! Avoid trying to left turn into here as there is no business there any longer. Very frustrating!

Thank Jeffrey R
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

Will have sold our business location but still offer trips to the mine to dig opals mid June to mid September

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

It's $50 per person. You have to drive up in your own vehicle. The road is not for the faint hearted. That being said we started out the day optimistically. We found lots of white rocks but none of it was opal. The guy didn't...More

5  Thank Bobbi81
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

You are correct, the road is rough; as you were advised. Rock-hounding is not for the faint of heart and some people and kids just don't like it. The white was common opal. I'm sure that somebody found some precious opal during the day. I...More

Reviewed 15 July 2016

I checked out the website before visiting the area and found they were open until 5pm weekdays. We visited just after lunch on a Wednesday...no one there, the place locked up tighter than a drum. No signs, no nothing. I had the distinct feeling that...More

1  Thank Gardiner W
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

Hello all. Yes, our business location has been sold and our Vernon shop is closed; however, we are still operating our opal digging day trips. E-mail for reservations and/or information Our product is now available in Whistler BC at Fathom Stone Art gallery on gallery...More

Reviewed 19 August 2015

I am a rockhound and member of three Lapidary clubs in BC. I am not an expert, but I am not naive either. I looked over the specimens of Opal cabuchons, asked for prices on a few and was given prices that I know are...More

8  Thank Tracy P
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

The trips need to be scheduled in advance but not for the reasons you so eloquently accuse me of. For the record -- the word is cabochons.

Reviewed 10 July 2015

This place has not changed the few tourist that are finding opals are not from the slag heap.Bob has a new way of doing things when your not looking he takes pieces from the gift store and throws them in the heap so that you...More

7  Thank tiffany p
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

The statements and accusation made in this review do not justify a response.

Reviewed 5 July 2015

Seven of us (four adults and 3 children all under 11 yrs old) left the shop on Hwy97 at 9:15 am. None of us knew what to expect. Bob gave us a brief rundown before we left as to what we would be looking for....More

Thank Gary B
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind response.

Reviewed 4 July 2015

I was more than pleasantly surprised. I thought Bob was very friendly,helpful, and informative. The trip to the mine was rough and steep in places but no problem with 2 wheel drive and good ground clearance.I got a few gem quality opals very happy!

Thank Richard S
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

Thanks for your review.

Reviewed 3 July 2015

On my cross country trip to Canada this June I specifically choose a route to take me to Vernon so I could go on the tour. I discovered that they are only done on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I would only be passing thru and...More

3  Thank Verdaf
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review

Because the trips are day long excursions they need to be scheduled in advance.

Reviewed 16 June 2015

Seems like we caught the gentleman at a bad time, he wasn't very helpful. Similar to most rock and gem stones, prices not great. Jewellery could have been cleaned for display, silver polished. May have been more interesting if we had the time to mine...More

1  Thank Gail A
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ranch Cafe
15 reviews
5.25 km away
Browns Socialhouse
119 reviews
5.61 km away
Pho Fusion
93 reviews
5.66 km away
Temptasian Restaurant & Lounge
159 reviews
5.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery
80 reviews
5.37 km away
Historic O'Keefe Ranch
182 reviews
4.62 km away
Silver Star Provincial Park
52 reviews
3.65 km away
Lake City Casino
67 reviews
5.77 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Mrslacy24
Wow how do you not realize that bad review's affect business. I was thinking about bringing my 6 yr old out this year for a trip but definantly am not now. The responses to peoples bad experiences are arrogant and excuses...honestly id hate my son to be around that example of character
4 April 2017|
Answer
Response from opalminer | Property representative |
Sorry, probably not the place for you; I'm sure your son would enjoy the day.
0
Votes
master c
why do you sound like a old kook and treat people like little kids
19 April 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from opalminer | Property representative |
Have we spoken or are you reacting some comment by others? I try my best to explain/clarify things in a way that is easily understood -- even by kids! Cheers P.S.That should read .."like an old kook"....
0
Votes