We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elmwood Spa

Neighbourhood:
Downtown
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 18 Elm St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1G7, Canada
Phone Number:
+1 416-977-6751
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 - 18:30
Mon - Thu 10:00 - 21:00
Fri 09:00 - 21:00
Sat 09:00 - 20:00
Description:

Canada's favourite urban oasis, located in the heart of downtown Toronto....

Canada's favourite urban oasis, located in the heart of downtown Toronto. With four floors of treatment and renewal options, retreat packages, couples retreats, Water Therapies (swimming pool, whirlpool and steam), two restaurants and a juice bar, Elmwood Spa offers more than any other day spa in Toronto.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 519 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 221
    Excellent
  • 139
    Very good
  • 67
    Average
  • 53
    Poor
  • 39
    Terrible
First couples day at spa

Hubby and I decided to treat ourselves to massages and facial. We started our treatment with water therapy it was enjoyable but it wasn't very busy O could see it getting... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
corrielou77
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 519: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I go every 6 weeks to see Greg the RMT. By far the best massage in the city. I use to go for my facials until my esthetician left. The experience is just not the same without her. I love using the steam room in the change room; to be honest I have never used the water therapies. Great service.... More 

Helpful?
Thank erinozorio
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! It is delightful to hear that you continue to enjoy your visits, and will pass along your kind words to Greg. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Marie Picton, Executive Manager More 

Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So the good...staff are friendly, the locker rooms are clean, spacious and the facial treatment (with my aesthetician) was good. My friends felt very rushed during their treatments. Robes are comfortable, flip flops and towels also provided. What they call "water therapies" are a bit of a joke. If you have been to other water therapies such as Scandinave or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travellingcdg
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your facial, yet are sorry to hear that your friends felt rushed. Our Water Therapies is something that our guests value and we continue to receive positive feedback about. We’re sorry that they did not meet your... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great relaxing time together at the water therapies and steam room, and we had massage and facial done separately but at the same time. All was great! If you want to have it together, you would need to request it when you make the reservation. All the staff was very nice, from the reception to the massage... More 

Helpful?
Thank hbcanada2014
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! It is lovely to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed the visit, including your services and our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Marie Picton, Executive Manager More 

toronto
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the worst experience attempting to book a couples massage at one of their spas. Booked a month in advance and they just could get their schedule together and cancelled the week of my appointment. They tried to offer me a 20% off only if I wanted a service other than the couples massage...not what I want people!! Marsha on... More 

Helpful?
Thank annaberrybella
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience that it has caused, and understand that this can be frustrating when scheduling a spa visit. We are sorry that we were unable to accommodate you during this time. According to our records, our staff has been in touch with... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with two other friends for a day at the spa. We were gifted a package from our workplace and booked it altogether. The only detail during our booking is i wanted to substitute manicure for another service as I just had my nails done. The call centre agents stated it would be a problem and I would have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kseniya M
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kseniya, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your services and our facilities, yet are sorry that we did not inform you at time of booking regarding the eligibility of the gift when modifying packages. We will speak with our Contact Centre agents to ensure this... More 

Guinda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A little pricey, but affordable as a special treat for yourself. You are treated like royalty here. It is very relaxing and pampering. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back. Best, Marie Picton, Executive Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely the place to unwind for a few hours. Along with a therapy session (massage, facial etc.) you can use the water therapy before and after each session for free. You get to unwind in the pool, sauna and jacuzzi in your plush spa robe. You can also have a lovely lunch in their excellent restaurant (in your robe of... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdst2016
ElmwoodSpa, General Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We are delighted to hear that you had a great visit, and enjoyed the services and amenities --lunching in your robe is certainly a treat! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best, Marie Picton, Executive Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby and I decided to treat ourselves to massages and facial. We started our treatment with water therapy it was enjoyable but it wasn't very busy O could see it getting overwhelming on a busy day. Massage was great. Then we had lunch and lunch was excellent food was delicious service was good. We had our facials next. Hubby fell... More 

Helpful?
Thank corrielou77
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your first couple's visit, including the facials, massages, and our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best, Marie Picton, Executive Manager More 

Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time my husband and I went there and I cant believe how terrible it was. I have heard good things about this place but there was nothing good about it. When we paid and were leaving they promised someone would call me to talk about our experience because they would love feedback and after a couple of emails and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleK28
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Elmwood Spa and apologize that there was a miscommunication with your massage therapist. However, it is often common practice when treating lower back tension to incorporate work on the hamstrings and glutes in... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This year is my 3rd year visiting the Elmwood spa. The layout is very nice and the change rooms as well. Each with a hot tub in the middle, and employees there to assist you with getting a robe and flip flops. They have a variety of services offered I usually do a massage, facial and mani pedi, and lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank lyndsricher4
ElmwoodSpa, Manager at Elmwood Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your continued loyalty and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoy our spa space and services, and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Marie Picton, Executive Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Elmwood Spa also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Elmwood Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elmwood Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Downtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown
At the heart of Toronto, Downtown is the destination for cheap eats and fast fashion. Cut through by hip and trendy Yonge Street, the vibe here is young, with a strong student influence from the Ryerson University Campus. As a result, the Downtown area is always in flux: undergoing the construction of new facilities, with fresh retail spaces and pop-up cafes. Home to Toronto's largest indoor shopping mall, a number of vintage cinemas, and a healthy nightlife centered on the area's Distillery District bar and clubs near the East End, it's both an easygoing daytime spot and a popular party place after sunset. It also features some of Toronto's best outdoor landmarks, including Yonge-Dundas Square and the Nathan Phillips Square: perfect for a concert, a skate, or a relaxing sit-down.
Explore this neighbourhood