We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterloo Central Railway

Waterloo, Ontario N2J 4A9, Canada
+1 888-899-2757
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Polar Express

I don’t understand all the negative reviews about this place. They try really hard and the whole... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
OttawaSenator
,
Montreal, Canada
Polar Express ride

We had an amazing time. While waiting to get on, we had our golden ticket and met the hobo and the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
wendymarie57
,
London, Canada
via mobile
Read all 84 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good41%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“steam engine” (9 reviews)
“st jacobs” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
LOCATION
Waterloo, Ontario N2J 4A9, Canada
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

I don’t understand all the negative reviews about this place. They try really hard and the whole experience was magical! We have done another polar express ride in New Hampshire and this one was way better. They had the hobo from the movie, the conductor...More

Thank OttawaSenator
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had an amazing time. While waiting to get on, we had our golden ticket and met the hobo and the conductor and the kids from the movie. Once on the train, it was just like the movie. Hot chocolate, cookies, dancing chefs and music....More

Thank wendymarie57
Reviewed 1 week ago

We bought tickets for the polar express train for our family of 7. We were very disappointed with the entire experience. We paid $480 for our family to ride "the magical polar express train". To start the chairs on the train were literally cafeteria chairs...More

Thank lind0504
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Attended with our whole family, kids, adults etc. Purchased the trip event on Groupon. We chose the pumpkin patch ride, thought it would be a nice day for the entire family...The train was a half hour late, the ride was extremely bumpy- you can not...More

3  Thank Lisa B
Neal M, Manager at Waterloo Central Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

If we had a real pumpkin patch your kids would be covered in mud.... their was 500 - 15 inch $5 pumpkins hand placed by volunteers it took en entire day to make it easy for your kids to take a fee pumpkin ..... and...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Do not waste your time. Awful, unorganized. Money grab. No colors if you take the exception when they stop at the forest on the other side of the street for 5 minutes. Take the Tottenham train if you want a good experience. Not an enjoyable...More

2  Thank itsmesp
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The website advertises that one will see be amazed at the beautiful colours as you travel through historic Mennonite countryside. This is not at all what we saw! We saw many corn fields, the back of some homes, untidy farmyards and quite a few factories....More

1  Thank Michelle d
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We drove over an hour to get to Waterloo just for the historic train experience and was it ever disappointing. While it's advertised for children, I would not recommend bringing small children. The instructions were to arrive 15 minutes in advance for a 10am train...More

1  Thank Smangal2014
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My boyfriend and I love to travel our own province and try new things. We especially love attractions. I got tickets to the "Fall Colors" tour through a Groupon as part of an anniversary gift for my boyfriend who loves trains. Thank goodness I did...More

3  Thank GREENQUEEN08
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The recent Magical Wizards Festival was clearly just a cash grab. I went with my fiancee, but feel terrible for families who were gorged in what clearly should have been a free event. Over the months previous, the coordinators sensationalized the activities on social media,...More

3  Thank Kyle P
Neal M, Manager at Waterloo Central Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you Kyle for your review posted here and in many other places, just a bit of an update, there were 30 vendors and over 90 volunteers as well as 20 plus paid performers. The tickets did in fact sell out very quickly and there...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

We took the kids (6 and 3) on the Great Train Robbery August 3, 2017. I read all the reviews before hand, so I was well prepared. Parking can be tricky if you are trying to park at the market. We parked at the back...More

2  Thank Shannon D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jack's Family Restaurant
591 reviews
.39 km away
The Crazy Canuck
464 reviews
.26 km away
Kara's Market Cafe
14 reviews
.69 km away
The Bistro at Courtyard
30 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Jacobs Country Playhouse
177 reviews
.54 km away
Market Road Antiques
43 reviews
.32 km away
St. Jacobs Antique Market
28 reviews
.30 km away
The Outlets at Jacobs & Market District
95 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sucharita S
11 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Michelle d | Reviewed this property |
Not worth it. Take a look at my review.
0
Votes
Linda B
1 July 2015|
Answer
Response from RescueTeam | Reviewed this property |
Tickets can be purchased online (Get Tickets button at the top of the page on the Waterloo Central Rwy. website, or onboard the train.
0
Votes
Linda B
1 July 2015|
Answer
Response from RescueTeam | Reviewed this property |
Tickets can be purchased in advance (via their website) or on board the train.
0
Votes