We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bygones

Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
+44 1803 326108
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Bygones Museum

What a splendid visit! Bygones is a treasure trove of memrorobilia and is sited near bus tops in... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Barry S
,
St Albans, United Kingdom
A step back into the past, like a time machine

Marvellous, you realise that you are older than you feel when you walk round here. You see things... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Alan k
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,395 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“victorian street” (104 reviews)
“steam engine” (41 reviews)
“victorian times” (43 reviews)
LOCATION
Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1803 326108
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"victorian street"
in 104 reviews
"steam engine"
in 41 reviews
"victorian times"
in 43 reviews
"world war"
in 30 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 21 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 133 reviews
"three floors"
in 36 reviews
"queen victoria"
in 17 reviews
"victorian era"
in 23 reviews
"down memory lane"
in 16 reviews
"family run"
in 15 reviews
"sweet shop"
in 19 reviews
"model railway"
in 34 reviews
"step back in time"
in 57 reviews
"blast from the past"
in 14 reviews
"sound effects"
in 26 reviews
"full size"
in 17 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

What a splendid visit! Bygones is a treasure trove of memrorobilia and is sited near bus tops in the suburb of Babbacombe. The museum is situated on three floors (to and three only accessible by stairs) and toilet facilities are limited but are soon to...More

Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your visit Barry, the new toilet facilities will be up and running shortly along with the all new model railway layout and some WWI and WWII exhibits. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Marvellous, you realise that you are older than you feel when you walk round here. You see things that you remember from the past and it seems like only yesterday. Very interactive and a great place for all ages. Got a cafe as well. Anmust...More

Thank Alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your visit and feedback... our intention was not to make you feel older but we are glad you could reminisce! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just to say an incredible experience at Bygones. The place is stacked with stuff to see. A fantastic area set aside for the trench war from WW1. I realised how old I was when I can seecountless objects, toys, household bits that I used and...More

Thank dianemweedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for all your positive comments, it is great you were able to relive some memories and reminisce. We hope you will visit us again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is amazing my children loved it. There is so much to see. It’s set up as shops inside with them all stocked as they used to be. The upstairs there is a full size train engine and cafe. Once upstairs it’s a walk...More

Thank TheTaylors9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for your visit and feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all the exhibits and the cafe too. We would like to stress however that our direction sheet is only a guide line and you are of course welcome to go back...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a marvellous place. 100’s of Artefacts from the early 1800’s to mid 1900’s. Interactive and very interesting displays, A great museum with a fun difference.

Thank shaza32017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to 1897, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is very unique and there is lots to look at - we spent an hour here, but you could easily spend much longer looking at all the unique items. The trench experience was immersive. Some of the mannequins were quite creepy but this...More

Thank Skyliner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your visit, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the immersive experience, it is designed to bring home the effects of the war. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very well stocked with memorabilia from mainly Victorian times. Streets, shops, medical facilities, first world war trench and even a real steam train are very authentic (including street noises from those days). Also visited the cafe for a welcome drink and a cake. Good value...More

1  Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your visit and positive feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your experience. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

SO MUCH to look at inside including a real steam locomotive!! once you're finished inside, take a look around the nearby shops in St. Marychurch. A value for money attraction, it will take the observant ones at least 2-3 hours inside as there really is...More

1  Thank mbenson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit so much and that you appreciated the vast amount of items and attention to detail! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

I visited Bygones recently with my family, and it didn't disappoint. I'm a lover of anything historical and this is definitely the place to visit if you are like minded. Staff were very friendly and I thought the ticket prices were fair. It lacks somewhat...More

Thank mamasausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks for your visit. We regret that due to access and the nature of the building we cannot fit lifts within it, and that our fire risk assessment restricts buggy access. We do get many families in and children of a young age. We hope...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Visited with my family just after new year - quite interesting but it only takes an hour to walk round, so at £9.50 I’d say it’s about twice the price it should be, hence the 2 stars. It’s also very cold in the winter!More

Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks for your visit, we recommend 1/1.5 hours for a visit but find many people stay a lot longer depending on interest in the exhibits. We set our prices at a comparable rate with other tourist attractions in the area and they are of course...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
123456139
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 85 hotels in Torquay
Summerbay Resort Hotel
5 reviews
.24 km away
Trecarn Hotel
1,320 reviews
.37 km away
Anchorage Hotel
421 reviews
.39 km away
Exmouth View Hotel
47 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Memories Bistro
262 reviews
.28 km away
Cliff Railway Cafe
415 reviews
.29 km away
Three Degrees West
259 reviews
.48 km away
Driftwood Cafe
144 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Babbacombe Model Village
3,061 reviews
.19 km away
Babbacombe Theatre
722 reviews
.71 km away
Babbacombe
1,200 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Craig L
6 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
Hi, yes we recommend 1 hour to 1.5 hours but as you can see from all the other positive comments, many people spend longer as there is so much to see across the 3 floors!
0
Votes
Jeannette J
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
Hi, there are about 8 stairs from the ground to 2nd level then 30 up to the top and 30 down however they aren't too steep. They are graduated and have hand rails. Unfortunately we cannot fit lifts in due to it being a 1920's... More
0
Votes
Sam D
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
£9.50 for our 3 levels (:
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123