We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devil's Dyke

Devil's Dyke Road, Brighton BN6 9DY, England
+44 844 800 1895
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to go

You feel on top of the world up here, wonderful views and walks . Easy distance of Brighton, highly... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
_suerobertson3
,
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Lovely brisk walk

We had a lovely bracing walk, the views are amazing and we watched the paragliders for some time... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Familytrips12
,
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Read all 875 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“the pub” (150 reviews)
“south downs” (75 reviews)
“open top bus” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
LOCATION
Devil's Dyke Road, Brighton BN6 9DY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 844 800 1895
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

You feel on top of the world up here, wonderful views and walks . Easy distance of Brighton, highly recommend it

Thank _suerobertson3
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your high rating! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!

Reviewed 4 days ago

We had a lovely bracing walk, the views are amazing and we watched the paragliders for some time. We then had a coffee at the pub which is excellant, although we did not eat there the food looked really good.

Thank Familytrips12
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 6 days ago

Wonderful day out. Bus stops at the door. Food is very good at reasonable prices. On a clear day well worth a visit.

Thank 142loism
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

142loism, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Devil's Dyke!

Reviewed 6 days ago

This area really needs to have a great venue as the view is so wonderful - sadly the pub is a major let down - reading some of other reviews most people are seduced by the view (which they should be) but forget to really...More

Thank Pete V
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Pete V, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Please reach out to us at 441273857256 so we may assist you in moving forward towards a resolution.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Dyke is a great place for walking as part of it is on the South Downs Way national trail. Steeped in history, the Devils Dyke will not disappoint. A place to watch hang gliders, a place to watch para-gliders or just sheep. walking west...More

Thank James W
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

James W, thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent location for off road cycling as it is part of the South Downs Way and with easy access to nearby towns and villages

Thank VeteranDen
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Veteranden, thank you so much for your high rating! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well worth the trip just for the views. At the top is a. Ice pub that has good meals and excellent service.

Thank Ros V
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ros V, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Devil's Dyke! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy to find and reasonable parking available if the weather is not too hot, however, it will be a huge problem if the sun is shining. Beautiful views across to Brighton, Worthing and inwards towards Burgess Hill, Haywards Heath and the surrounding hills. There is...More

Thank Joseph S
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Joseph S, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Devil's Dyke!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this place on a Wednesday afternoon. We booked for 13:00, upon arriving, there is no one to usher us to our table or acknowledge our presence. Catching the attention of a waitress, she pointed out to a lady by the bar. She was busy...More

1  Thank aricashaw
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aricashaw, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Please reach out to us at 441273857256 so we may assist you in moving forward towards a resolution.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely area, great hikes, The routes are well signposted. Lots of people with dogs and we even encountered a horse on one of our walks. Great views. Might be a bit steep sometimes, best to do the routes the left way around, so it's a...More

Thank Karen Z
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Karen Z, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Devil's Dyke!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Shepherd and Dog
426 reviews
1.19 km away
Rushfields Cafe
69 reviews
2.56 km away
Tottington Manor Restaurant & Bar
99 reviews
3.60 km away
The Plough at Pyecombe
242 reviews
3.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wayfield Park Farm
25 reviews
3.12 km away
Jill Windmill
36 reviews
4.83 km away
Clayton Wood Natural Burial Ground
19 reviews
5.15 km away
Washbrooks Family Farm
143 reviews
5.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TiggerParis
26 August 2017|
Answer
Response from 60alexandra | Reviewed this property |
I'd agree. Absolutely nothing like the Netherlands although I have a feeling there is a windmill not that far away.
0
Votes
TiggerParis
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from macrandolph | Reviewed this property |
Tree parking on the other side of the park / reserve, in the dip. I have parked there before, but beware, it's an uphill climb and quite steep in some cases.
1
Vote
Lottiegen
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from macrandolph | Reviewed this property |
Yes, absolutely, no problem. However, be mindful that it's still necessary to pick up and dispose of their droppings. If there are any sheep or cattle in the vicinity, then it's best to put the lead on your dog.
0
Votes