We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devil's Dyke

Devil's Dyke Road, Brighton BN6 9DY, England
+44 844 800 1895
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“the pub” (159 reviews)
“south downs” (78 reviews)
“hang gliders” (32 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
LOCATION
Devil's Dyke Road, Brighton BN6 9DY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 844 800 1895
Ways to Experience Devil's Dyke
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"the pub"
in 159 reviews
"south downs"
in 78 reviews
"hang gliders"
in 32 reviews
"open top bus"
in 30 reviews
"national trust"
in 33 reviews
"sussex countryside"
in 18 reviews
"kite flying"
in 13 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 16 reviews
"great place to walk"
in 9 reviews
"isle of wight"
in 11 reviews
"sunny day"
in 30 reviews
"nice walk"
in 11 reviews
"brighton pier"
in 15 reviews
"picnic"
in 75 reviews
"paragliders"
in 35 reviews
"weald"
in 21 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

I’ve had mixed feelings about this place. Both good and bad. Experienced a poor evening meal, so was put off returning. However I’ve been recently for a pie and a pint and have slightly changed my view. Occasionally a good guest ale can be found...More

Thank DAVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If the weather is good this is a lovely place. Great views of the Sussex Weald and beyond. National Trust car park £3 all day or free to Members if you scan membership card. Plenty of walks from here across the downs or down to...More

1  Thank Rabinhoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a lovely walk and day was ruined by the incompetence, food and the lack of basic general hospitality. After a lovely walk and roam around Devils Dyke we decided on a spot of lunch in the only pub present. What a shamble! On entering...More

Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Alice R, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. We'd like the opportunity to turn your experience around. Please reach out to us at 01273 857256 at your earliest...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great for walking and amazing views over the south downs. The landscape has changed over the last few years, more wildflowers and less sheep.

Thank BrightoniaWiesloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

... but this is a lovely area for a walk (and presumably for a picnic on a fine day). It is a very interesting topographic feature and there are splendid views - we even saw a smudge of the Isle of Wight at 46 miles!....More

Thank LARRY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful views and good walks for varying abilities, but being warm clothing as always windy no matter the time of year. National trust site so have your card for parking fee.

Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

My family and I have been visiting Devil's Dyke for many many years and it's such a shame to see the service and the food in the restaurant go down hill as much as it has done in the past 3 - 4 years. The...More

Thank Herbie025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Herbie025, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

great place for a walk in the Sussex downs, great views many different paths. Nice to walk to Fulking and have a drink in the pub before returning. Can be very muddy when wet.

Thank Arete49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Well worth a trip to see the rolling hills of the south downs and villages from the best view around. Sometimes paragliders take off from here. There is a path leading around the hills . Activities include Zorbing down one less steep hill. There is...More

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

There are some fantastic views from up here. We didn't go into the pub so can't comment on that but the walks are great. Go to the national trust caravan and ask for a map. Some parts of the walk are very muddy so go...More

Thank pete_laws231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Devil's Dyke, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 44 hotels in Brighton
Tottington Manor Hotel
120 reviews
3.61 km away
Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa
234 reviews
3.94 km away
Blagdons Manor
50 reviews
5.75 km away
Vinyard Lodge
4 reviews
5.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rushfields Cafe
77 reviews
2.57 km away
Tottington Manor Restaurant & Bar
111 reviews
3.61 km away
The Plough at Pyecombe
265 reviews
3.62 km away
The Glass House Restaurant
297 reviews
3.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wayfield Park Farm
32 reviews
3.53 km away
Hare and Hounds
25 reviews
4.83 km away
Clayton Wood Natural Burial Ground
19 reviews
5.15 km away
Hove Park
74 reviews
5.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TiggerParis
26 August 2017|
Answer
Response from 60alexandra | Reviewed this property |
I'd agree. Absolutely nothing like the Netherlands although I have a feeling there is a windmill not that far away.
0
Votes
TiggerParis
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from macrandolph | Reviewed this property |
Tree parking on the other side of the park / reserve, in the dip. I have parked there before, but beware, it's an uphill climb and quite steep in some cases.
1
Vote
Lottiegen
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from macrandolph | Reviewed this property |
Yes, absolutely, no problem. However, be mindful that it's still necessary to pick up and dispose of their droppings. If there are any sheep or cattle in the vicinity, then it's best to put the lead on your dog.
0
Votes
;