We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Funnel Ferries

Terminal 1 Town Quay | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
+44 23 8001 9192
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Very pleasant trip

We had a really nice, spur of the moment trip to the Isle of Wight and found the ferry clean and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Thewadeys
via mobile
Disappointing

The food is of poor quality and overpriced, even with the vouchers and so called discounts. Some... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Phil L
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
Read all 1,464 reviews
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Red Funnel has a proud history of serving the Isle of Wight since 1820, carrying 3.4 million passengers to the Island each year. We have won awards for safety, innovation & service including Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor every year since 2013. Choose between two stunning routes: our Southampton-East Cowes (former home of Queen Victoria) service takes 55 min, operates 365 days/year and carries vehicles & passengers. On board, enjoy free Wi-Fi, hot & cold food, a bar & coffee shops, or upgrade to the Signature Lounge, for a quieter club class experience. Our 2nd route connects Southampton to the world-famous yacht racing town of West Cowes. Our modern ‘Red Jet’ Hi-Speed catamarans take just 23 min to cross the Solent. Our entire fleet is dog friendly. Look to us for expert travel advice, accommodation bookings, attraction & event tickets.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“isle of wight” (464 reviews)
“east cowes” (105 reviews)
“earlier ferry” (68 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
Terminal 1 Town Quay | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8001 9192
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"isle of wight"
in 464 reviews
"east cowes"
in 105 reviews
"earlier ferry"
in 68 reviews
"red jet"
in 81 reviews
"car ferry"
in 62 reviews
"foot passengers"
in 28 reviews
"wight link"
in 24 reviews
"red falcon"
in 24 reviews
"loading and unloading"
in 22 reviews
"hour crossing"
in 17 reviews
"priority boarding"
in 16 reviews
"return journey"
in 46 reviews
"top deck"
in 27 reviews
"day trip"
in 66 reviews
"both ways"
in 33 reviews
"ferry service"
in 38 reviews
"efficient service"
in 18 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had a really nice, spur of the moment trip to the Isle of Wight and found the ferry clean and comfortable with lovely, helpful staff.

Thank Thewadeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

The food is of poor quality and overpriced, even with the vouchers and so called discounts. Some of the staff great, whilst others are downright uncooperative. The ferries are comfortable and usually very clean. The voyages to and from the Isle of Wight are smooth...More

Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Phil L, Thank you for offering your feedback following your recent travel with us. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the level of service received. However, we are incredibly sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with Food Service we offer...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Excellent service, I get the high speed service every day for work and I can’t fault the staff or how helpful they are. There is one member of staff that makes my whole week, a young blonde named Kath who is just the friendliest and...More

Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Rich T, Thank you for the glowing recommendation. As a regular commuting customer, what you think is very important to us and we much appreciate your valuable feedback. We'll ensure your comments are passed onto Kathrine and her Manager. We are very proud of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well organised and very happy with process at Southampton for our return trip with a car. Comfortable general seating, stable in transit, clean vessel (Red Falcon both legs) and polite staff. Actually left property on the ferry and a call to Erika when I noticed...More

Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Bruce Thank you for travelling with us and taking the time to share you experience with us on Trip Advisor. Here at Red Funnel, we strive to be the leading travel services to and from the Isle of Wight so it is always a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Used the ferry last weekend for a family visit . Boat wasn’t very busy . The new bottomless coffee offer was a good addition.More

Thank coughandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Coughandcath Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to read that you feel our prices are too expensive, we are always advertising various offers and promotions you may want to take advantage of, these are either through the post, on our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We use the Red Funnel quite a lot and the staff are always very helpful and very efficient. We travelled on Easter Monday and was expecting it to be noisy and busy. It was very busy but it was enjoyable non the less and managed...More

Thank susan952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Susan952 Thank you for choosing to travel with Red Funnel and leaving us such a kind review. Its great to hear you had memorable crossing with us, despite being a busy Easter! From all of us here at Red Funnel, we would like to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great staff and fantastic facilities. Would highly recommend. Ferry very clean and tidy and could not fault anything.

Thank Lee8504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lee8504, It is always fantastic to know when we have done well and we very much appreciate that you have, so kindly, taken the time to say so. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Warm Regards, Sandra Customer Services Red Funnel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

my experience with red funnel was awsome i loved the car ferry journey on the red falcon and i enjoyed seeing jim o reilly helping us get on board the ferry staff were freindly when i brought food and im might see them again and...More

Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Charlie M, We are really proud of all our staff especially Jim and I'm glad that they collectively helped you to enjoy your time with us. Please be assured that your comments will be forwarded back to the staff on the Red Falcon and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fast. Efficient. Friendly. Perfect service for a weekend break. Car ferry 55 minutes, passenger ferry 25 minutes. Staff at both sides very helpful.

Thank MJBarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MJBarratt, We certainly always try our very best and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Efficient and friendly is exactly what we strive to achieve. Thank you. Warm Regards Sandra Customer Services Red Funnel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Efficient service and friendly personnel. Smooth sailing!!!! I had to call to change the time of my sailing and it was quick and great customer service!

Thank abpd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Abpd79, Naturally, at Red Funnel, our mission is to ensure our customers are very happy, so it is fantastic to read that you are. Kind Regards Sandra Customer Services Red Funnel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Southampton
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,063 reviews
.44 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,664 reviews
.46 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,295 reviews
.46 km away
Star Hotel
521 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Restaurants
BAYLEAF kitchen
247 reviews
.17 km away
The Jetty, Ocean Village
186 reviews
.07 km away
Everest Cuisine
583 reviews
.33 km away
Ennio's
772 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hythe Ferry
525 reviews
.08 km away
Tudor House and Garden
508 reviews
.26 km away
Southampton Town Walls
336 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bear_Claire86
30 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Derek A | Reviewed this property |
No, if you have a booking and arrive at least half hour before the boat sails you will get on. I have arrived 10 minutes before the earlier boat leaves and been bumped up many times as I have to leave well in time in case... More
1
Vote
Rachel S
29 December 2017|
Answer
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Rachel, Sorry for the late reply. In future if you have any questions that need an instant answer please do not hesitate to give us a call on 02380 019192, or alternatively reach out to us by Facebook or Twitter and... More
0
Votes
Ontariosue
7 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Sue. We have 2 services to the Isle of Wight. The car ferry (taking an hour) or the Red Jet taking 25 mins. The ferry goes into East Cowes which is very close to Osbourne House, the home of Queen Victoria. The Red Jet... More
0
Votes