We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
+44 23 8083 4242
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Timeweaver

Brilliant little gem, witch Marks on the walls, it's a full audio guided tour which includes the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Fay G
A gem of a musuem

A fascinating insight into the development of the house, built in 1492 on a medieval site. Although... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Shipahoyahoy
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Read all 531 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive technology and fascinating displays a winning combination.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide” (29 reviews)
“herb garden” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
LOCATION
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 29 reviews
"air raid shelter"
in 19 reviews
"herb garden"
in 15 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 6 reviews
"creaky floorboards"
in 6 reviews
"banquet hall"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 13 reviews
"piece of history"
in 6 reviews
"own pace"
in 5 reviews
"step back in time"
in 8 reviews
"main hall"
in 6 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 11 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 7 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 15 reviews
"interesting history"
in 6 reviews
"visited today"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 483 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Brilliant little gem, witch Marks on the walls, it's a full audio guided tour which includes the gardens and what was the poorest street in Southampton, it feels extraordinarily eerie as you walk around.

Thank Fay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

A fascinating insight into the development of the house, built in 1492 on a medieval site. Although not immediately central, it is not hard to find and worth looking for. The sound and light presentation in the main hall gives a very interesting introduction to...More

Thank Shipahoyahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tudor House is an odd experience as it's a bit of a jumble of different things, reflecting the various uses to which the building was put by an assortment of eccentric owners over the centuries. The formal garden is lovely and if you pay this...More

Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been wanting to visit this for a while. So this week, on a trip to Southampton, whilst my youngest was enrolling on a course at the College, I did. Just 5 minutes from the Isle of Wight Ferry Port, and just a stroll from...More

1  Thank lindabits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife came here at the weekend as she has often told me about it, saying it is a very old building with lots of interesting things to see. She wasn't wrong. With the massive refurbishment that took place a few years back, the house...More

Thank batshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The house itself is certainly worth a visit - very beautiful and stripped back in places so you can see the original plaster, beams, and historical graffiti. It provides a fascinating insight into Southampton's history. Some of the rooms are a little cluttered and could...More

Thank Alice2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Many people dont know that Southampton was badly bonbed during WW2. It is an amazing testimony that this example of a Tudor merchants house survived. It is located in the old town bordered by the original high town wall fortifications which once formed the sea...More

Thank postscript65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

This restored Tudor House is full of History, backing on to the Ancient Town walls and a ruined Palace. Visits help to pay for the upkeep. Staff are volunteers, open 10 till 3

Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great way to spend an hour or so when in Southampton. Well worth the few pounds they charge. Be sure and go out in the gardens and look around as well.

Thank lwhippler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

An interesting place to look round. Helpful members of staff. Nice cafe peaceful garden. Take care with creaky floorboards.

Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,240 reviews
.19 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,366 reviews
.25 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,736 reviews
.26 km away
Travelodge Southampton Central Hotel
634 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
BAYLEAF kitchen
286 reviews
.18 km away
Ennio's
807 reviews
.21 km away
Duke of Wellington
516 reviews
.04 km away
Coriander Lounge
1,606 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Red Funnel Ferries
1,590 reviews
.26 km away
Southampton Town Walls
362 reviews
.35 km away
Holy Rood Church
96 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bidsagogo
3 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Julie M | Reviewed this property |
I don't know
0
Votes
edwardwoodward147
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
29 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
1
Vote
Google Translation