We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
+44 23 8083 4242
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Very good

Very nice museum, amazing garden. The Tudor House is the oldest house in Southampton, very good... read more

Reviewed 13 February 2018
Alchemistis
Tour with American relatives.

Very interesting and atmospheric,easy to imagine living in those times.Plenty to see and ponder at... read more

Reviewed 31 January 2018
Carolyn B
,
New Forest, United Kingdom
Read all 525 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive technology and fascinating displays a winning combination.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide” (29 reviews)
“herb garden” (15 reviews)
Opens in 23 min
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
LOCATION
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 29 reviews
"air raid shelter"
in 19 reviews
"herb garden"
in 15 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 6 reviews
"creaky floorboards"
in 6 reviews
"banquet hall"
in 5 reviews
"main hall"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 13 reviews
"entry price"
in 5 reviews
"piece of history"
in 6 reviews
"own pace"
in 5 reviews
"step back in time"
in 8 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 7 reviews
"lots of history"
in 6 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 9 reviews
"visited today"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 15 reviews
Filter

21 - 30 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018

Very nice museum, amazing garden. The Tudor House is the oldest house in Southampton, very good location and the staff very warm. The cafe in the garden was fantastic.

Thank Alchemistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Very interesting and atmospheric,easy to imagine living in those times.Plenty to see and ponder at your leisure.

2  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The innovative audio presentation in the main hall set the scene perfectly. Audio guides added further interesting information. Displays were clear and appropriate, giving sufficient information without overload. The plants in the garden were very well labelled and the area looked well tended, even in...More

2  Thank elainehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2018

What a wonderfully set up museum, full of information and using some innovative ways to set the scene and impart information. We used the hand held audio sets, which worked perfectly and gave just the right amount of detail. We finished off with lunch in...More

Thank sahanben55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We collected a hand held audio set at the entrance and after a dramatic introduction in the "Hall" set off to explore. The commentary was easy to listen to and interesting. Well worth a visit whether you are a Southampton resident or a visitor.

Thank Gillianred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

I took 24 of my cubs and scouts here to learn about the house, and its history and local Tudor history. The staff were amazing putting on activities for them to do to learn about the history of the area and geology. After the tour...More

1  Thank Trudie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Beautifully conserved Tudor House and garden with modern aids, which transport you back to the days when the house was in its prime. A real gem and the oldest pub in town is nearby too !

Thank NickC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

On a visit from the IOW to see my sister on a rough day with no real plans we came across this museum. We paid under £5.00 each and spent 2 hours enjoying seeing and hearing all the very interesting rooms and objects on view...More

1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

My husband and I toured the Tudor House which we found to be very interesting. We spoke with a couple people who work at the house who were quite informative. Glad the house was saved so those of us today can enjoy touring it.

Thank lrow53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Museum is very informative about the history. Very pleasant & interesting garden, Friendly Staff Excellent Coffee in the cafe, also Friendly Staff Free entry to Cafe and garden

Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,172 reviews
.19 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,345 reviews
.25 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,706 reviews
.26 km away
Travelodge Southampton Central Hotel
616 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
BAYLEAF kitchen
269 reviews
.18 km away
Ennio's
792 reviews
.21 km away
Duke of Wellington
505 reviews
.04 km away
Coriander Lounge
1,583 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hythe Ferry
536 reviews
.27 km away
Red Funnel Ferries
1,538 reviews
.26 km away
Southampton Town Walls
355 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bidsagogo
3 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gillianred | Reviewed this property |
Not sure as we had only a coffee there. We went to The Pig for lunch as it is close by.
0
Votes
edwardwoodward147
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
29 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
1
Vote
Google Translation
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor