We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn Pub

27 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

The Barn Pub

27 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
27Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 7
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
strawberrywhip wrote a review Oct 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom197 contributions80 helpful votes
Lovely meal this evening , excellent service. Milo looked after us very well. Great attention to social distancing and all COVID precautions taken.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
James wrote a review Oct 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
Came in today for some lunch with friends and after I’d heard a lot of people big this place up I have to say I wasn’t overly impressed, the beer garden was very nice and the service was fairly good, though the hake was cooked nicely and very tender the curry tasted like something from the chip shop and was full of hotspots so I’m guessing was microwaved, the Eton mess tasted good but the presentation wasn’t great and was all mixed together with a small amount of meringue, shame as with a place like this you could do so much more with it, I would return but probably only for drinks as there are much better places around town to eat.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Karen west wrote a review Feb 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom2 contributions
Always stellar service especially Maria with the glasses, and lots of regulars who make a nice atmosphere. But please get bar stools!!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review and awarding us 5 stars. It was good of you to highlight the quality of the service which we provide and to especially mention Maria, who was delighted that she made such a good impression on you. Yes we do, thankfully, have lots of regulars which greatly contributes to the great atmosphere for which The Barn is well known. With regards to bar stools we have, in the past, had bar stools but found that when we are busy this makes it difficult for customers to get served and, therefore, slows down the service, hence our decision to remove these, and to rely on lots of tables and chairs. We very much look forward to seeing you on a future occasion. Philippe General Manager
Read more
Harry wrote a review May 2019
Maidstone, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very astounded by the manor a friend and I were served! A boy named Matt served us and was unbelievably rude! First drink was served with the most pathetic amount of ice. Obviously have ran out of ice and couldn’t be bothered to go to restock. Not what you expect when paying £19 for 2 drinks. Second drink we ordered seemed like a massive issue to serve us. Most definitely will not be spending any more money in this establishment!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub
Responded 22 May 2019
Thank you for your review albeit I was disappointed with your observations I have discussed your complaint about Matt with him and he is adamant that he was not at any time rude to you or your friend. Yes, at the time he served your first round the ice had run out and he went off to fetch some more so there would be no reason for you not having the correct amount of ice in your drink. I understand that you had two further rounds and as you highlighted you paid £19 for two drinks. I would like to mention that this was for double gin and tonics and therefore I do not feel that the price charged was excessive. I very much regret that you felt Matt was rude and hope that I can reassure you that this would not have been his intention and if you got this impression I apologise on his behalf. Philippe General Manager
Read more
339Sharon wrote a review Dec 2018
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom42 contributions11 helpful votes
I have been to The Barn several times and have always had absolutely fantastic food. We have also been for Christmas meals in the past which have been superb. This time however I can't say I enjoyed the meal particularly. The brussels sprouts had the most peculiar taste and the roast potatoes although soft inside, had very hard outers. Hopefully it was a one-off as it is so convenient to go there for meals.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub
Responded 12 Dec 2018
Thank you for your review albeit I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy this particular visit, having been very happy with the quality of food on previous occasions There is no excuse for either the roast potatoes or brussel sprouts not being properly cooked and to your satisfaction and please accept my apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion. Thank you for being so understanding in considering this disappointing visit as a “one off” and we very much look forward to seeing you again on future occasions. On your next visit please ask to speak to me so that I can apologise to you personally With best wishes for a Happy Christmas Philippe General Manager
Read more
Previous