Aquilla Health and Fitness Club

Aquilla Health and Fitness Club, London: Hours, Address, Aquilla Health and Fitness Club Reviews: 3.5/5

Aquilla Health and Fitness Club

Aquilla Health and Fitness Club
3.5
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tours and Tickets
The area
Address
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Popular mentions

3.5
66 reviews
Excellent
25
Very good
19
Average
7
Poor
3
Terrible
12

Ac646
129 contributions
Not bad
Feb 2020 • Friends
Booked a package that included a massage and afternoon tea. The massage was very good and the staff were lovely. The afternoon tea was also lovely with a good range of sandwiches and teas. The spa itself was alright. The pool is tiny and was full of kids so wasn’t very relaxing. The jacuzzi and steam rooms were good though.
Written 22 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

shoelace
55 contributions
Very pleasant
Jan 2020 • Couples
Went here to use the spa facilities. I very much enjoyed using the steam rooms the jacuzzi and pool.overall It was a very nice atmosphere with good service. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that it could be cleaner and could do with a couple more members of staff to make sure that the spa itself is kept tidy. Overall and enjoyable experience
Written 7 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ABC
32 contributions
Little disappointed
Oct 2019
My daughter and I were given a SpaSeekers voucher for afternoon tea and use of the spa facilities at the Rembrandt Hotel. (I have reviewed the afternoon tea separately), The Aquilla Health & Fitness Club is right next door to the Rembrandt and we were greeted by a very pleasant girl who showed us around the Spa, which was not large but perfectly adequate. We had both booked a back, shoulder and neck massage and were shown to separate rooms. I explained to my masseuse, Meera (not sure of spelling) that I liked a firm massage and that is exactly what I received. She was friendly and my massage was excellent. I felt really relaxed at the end of the treatment. My daughter wasn't quite so pleased with her massage, as for some reason her masseuse chose to run her oily hands all through her hair and over her head rather than concentrating on her neck. We then headed for the pool area, which is small, but very attractive. Unfortunately there were so many small children in the pool, with their little high-pitched voices, that we couldn't hear one another when lying on the loungers and had to settle for sitting at a small table with a couple of chairs in order to have a conversation. Consequently, we didn't go in the pool at all and, after half an hour, decided to get showered and changed, so it didn't turn out to be quite such a relaxing afternoon as we had hoped. We did think that the use of the pool by so many children should have been pointed out clearly at the time the vouchers were purchased. Could not limited times be allocated for children (or for adults), so that an informed choice of timing could be made? This is the only reason we wouldn't choose to use Aquilla again for a spa day, which is a shame as we enjoyed the afternoon tea at the Rembrandt and the spa would have been a very pleasant place to have spent an hour or two relaxing together were it not for the cacophony of noise surrounding us. We both love children, but just not in this particular setting.
Written 7 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca B
Carlisle, UK89 contributions
Could have been much better
Jul 2019 • Friends
This spa was a little disappointing. We went for a spa day for a hen party and it wasn't that relaxing as the pool was full of kids. When we booked it we were told there would only be a maximum of two children in the pool at a time and they would be having swimming lessons in one lane of the pool but in actual fact there was more kids than adults and half the pool was sectioned off for lessons, but there were also many kids in the other section messing around. When I went for my treatment the therapist said I wasn't on her list even though we had the treatment times on an email. She agreed to do the treatment but I felt as if she wasn't happy about doing it. The treatment itself was disappointing, I felt the therapist just wanted me in and out and didn't listen to my preferences. I said I liked firm pressure but she gave me medium at best. At the end there was no time to relax it was just "that's the end of the treatment" and she left me to get changed. Also, slightly frustrating in the changing area as we were told all toiletries were provided complimentary but there was only shower gel, no shampoo, so several of us had to go without washing our hair when we would have brought shampoo had we been told there was none to use. One of the most disappointing things was that as part of the package we each received a glass of prosecco; as the bride was pregnant she couldn't drink this and rather than being given a non-alcoholic alternative she was only allowed orange juice. We asked if she could have a mocktail instead but were told that would incur an extra charge. An orange juice is not equal value to a prosecco.
Written 27 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear F5754ORrebeccab, Thank you for your review of your recent spa day with us. We always ensure that we inform all our spa days that children's swimming lessons do take place in our pool. We do also allow hotel guest and members to bring children to use the pool during certain times, due to the hot weather on the day of your visit we had an unusually high number of hotel guests bring their children to the pool. I will ensure we discuss how we manage this demand for usage in the future and the impact it has on our spa days. I am sorry there appeared to me some confusion with your therapist over your booking, this should not have impacted on your day or your treatment. I will speak to the therapist team. Your comments on the toiletries have been noted. I have spoken with the hotel's Food and Beverage Manager, he has asked me to convey his apologies to you over the issue of the non-alcoholic drink. Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review with us. Kind regards, Matt Berry
Written 3 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stardust_Lau
London, UK12 contributions
Last minute booking
Jun 2019 • Friends
I booked this Spa very last minute for me and my 2 friends and the photos make it look a lot bigger than it is. The staff for friendly and you got 2 treatments and use of the little Spa facilities all day for £75 each. The treatments where a facial which was lovely and a back massage. I did not enjoy the back massage as much as the facial but the lady was lovely. It says the spa is part of the hotel but it’s more next door. My friends had a good time and that was the main thing. I would not book this spa again even as last minute booking.
Written 23 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Stardust_Lau, thank you for your review of your last minute spa booking with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your facial and will pass your kind comments regarding the therapist onto the team. Kind regards, Matt Berry
Written 3 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

carolinec629
London, UK9 contributions
3rd & 4th visit
Jul 2019 • Friends
It was a 3rd visit for me a 4th for my friend with undertaking the twilight package. The spa experience & our treatment was excellent as always but we were disappointed by the dinner. From a simplistic pub style offering on our first visit, subsequent visits saw an improvement with wondeful varied restaurant quality food. The food on this visit had gone back to being very basic & not as tasty, a disappointment.
Written 9 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear carolinec629, Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I'm happy to read your spa experience and treatment were excellent. I have passed your comments onto the hotel Food and Beverage Manager, he has asked me to pass on his apologies that you did not enjoy your dinner with us on this occasion. I hope you return to visit us again soon, Kind regards, Matt Berry
Written 3 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jade H
330 contributions
Warm, welcoming & friendly staff
I booked a mini spa day for me and my friend at the Rembrandt. The booking was a bit confusing to start of with as it was t directly with the hotel and waiting for return phone calls to confirm treatments was frustrating. But we eventually got there. On the day we arrived and was greeted by some one in the spa reception area aside to the hotel. We were given s dressing gown, slippers and a token for the locker. We were shown around and it was nice an clean. The facilities were very well looked after although we were disappointed that the ladies room didn’t have hair straighteners. The sauna and steam were very nice and a good size. Everywhere was so clean and there were plenty of towels to use that were available. We wondered over to the swimming pool and spent some time there. It was quiet that meant we could absorb it all in and forget the huddle and bustle of our daily grind. We relaxed in the seating area after before attending our boxersize class. The class was a small in size (4 pole including us) and a reasonable size studio. We really enjoyed the class and found the instructor to be very welcoming and friendly. Also pleasing to the eye ha! We then got showered and ready for our massage treatment that was included in our day. My masseuse was fantastic. Her name was Adele and she definitely catered for my needs regarding where I had problem areas. Friendly, helpful and professional. We then got ready after and wondered across to the hotel for lunch. Lunch was also include. We were offered a menu where we were informed that we could choose anything up to £15. We chose the burger that came with a small side salad and fries. It was well presented however I felt the burger to be unusually salty. I did tell the waiter however because we were so hungry we didn’t want to make too much of a fuss. I also got a lovely slice of chocolate cake as a birthday treat which was a lovely surprise from the hotel. I was so grateful for everyone who made this rare opportunity special for me (us). I recommend the Rembrandt. Thanks again everyone. We will be back soon!!
Written 5 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hannah W
London, UK129 contributions
Great morning spent at the spa
Jan 2019 • Friends
I visited the spa yesterday with my sister. We had a revitalising spa package from Spa seekers which included use of the spa, treatments and lunch. We had a great morning, all the staff were really friendly and the treatments were lovely. We were aware the spa was quite small after reading other reviews but this wasn’t an issue for us. I probably wouldn’t visit with a partner as the steam room and sauna are separate for men and women, the treatments are also done in separate rooms. Even though it was a Saturday we managed to get the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna to ourselves. There is a also a relaxation room with tea and coffee which we enjoyed. Lunch was also great as we were able to choose what we wanted and pay for any extras. I’d recommend this spa for groups of 2 friends but I think couples or large group would struggle a bit. We didn’t feel the need to spend all day there but our relaxing morning was just what we needed
Written 27 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear K1426UZhannahw, Thank you for your review of your spa morning at Aquilla Health and Fitness Club. I'm glad to read how friendly you found the staff and that you enjoyed your treatments. I will ensure the team are made aware of your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Aquilla soon. Kind regards, Matt
Written 29 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Penny-Jane T
London, UK145 contributions
Perfect spa day
Dec 2018 • Friends
I booked a spa day here through spabreaks.com for myself and my mum. Which included afternoon tea in the Rembrandt hotel and a 25 minute massage as well as full use of the spa. Excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful. Spa was nice and peaceful. Massage was amazing, wish i'd had the 60 minute one, didn't want it to end. Afternoon tea was so good too, excellent selection and generous portions. I would 100% recommend booking a package day here. I can't wait to return.
Written 10 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Penny-Jane T, Thank you for your excellent review of Aquilla and your kind words about the staff. I'm glad how much you enjoyed your massage and will certainly pass on this feedback to our therapist team who i know will be happy to hear their treatments described as amazing. I look forward to visiting us again in the future. Kind regards, Matt
Written 17 December 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chummy147
London, UK32 contributions
Excellent value for money
Dec 2018 • Family
Came to the Aquilla, in South Kensington, with family and friends for a spa day which included two treatments and afternoon tea. I had previously visited a couple of venues in London and chose this one for its facilities and staff politeness. We had no trouble checking in and were taken round to look at all the facilities and made to feel very welcome. The pool had a couple of children taking swimmers no lessons but were not disturbing. Quiet room ideal, very warm, coffee tea facilities and soothing background music. The treatments were very good on par with other facials and back massages I have had at more expensive venues. The afternoon tea in the hotel lounge/bar was just the icing on the cake...lovely high back chairs to sit and indulge in the very tasty food. We have decided to return for our next pre Christmas treat.
Written 2 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Chummy147, Thank you for your great review of Aquilla, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to know that our guests feel welcomed and looked after in the club. I am glad you enjoyed your treatments on the day and will look forward to you returning to us soon. Kind regards, Matt
Written 17 December 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 65
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing