We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellington

Open Now: 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Excellent range of ale

This pub is a little gem that I’ve seen grow in popularity over the years. If you like decent ale... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
bluenoserainbow
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Friendly pub with great ale

The pub is central so easy to get to with many restaurants nearby. We went on a Saturday lunch time... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JudgeMental49
Read all 459 reviews
50
All photos (50)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“real ale”(80 reviews)
“the pub”(47 reviews)
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
See all hours
As featured in 3 Days in Birmingham
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
12°
Oct
Nov
Dec
Contact
37 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5SN, England
Website
+44 121 200 3115
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Birmingham
from US$106.40
More Info
from US$26.60
More Info
from US$21.22
More Info
from US$13.30
More Info
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
314
98
18
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
314
98
18
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real ale the pub plates and cutlery city centre pub upstairs bar great selection of ales ales on tap plum porter wonderful pub pork scratchings favourite pub beer festival black country rooftop terrace tv screens huge choice bar staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub is a little gem that I’ve seen grow in popularity over the years. If you like decent ale, this is the place. It is not a flash establishment with fancy hipster fittings/furnishings, it is a friendly corner of Birmingham city centre to enjoy...More

1  Thank bluenoserainbow
Reviewed 1 week ago

The pub is central so easy to get to with many restaurants nearby. We went on a Saturday lunch time so it was very busy but we got served quickly. There are a lot of fabulous real ales and ciders on and there was a...More

1  Thank JudgeMental49
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Both meetings room in use, pub full upstairs & downstairs. Real ales were lovely. Staff were friendly. Various books to read & games to play in first floor side room. Toilets upstairs. Cat was hiding on our visit yet again.

Thank sportybirmingham
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ah....Welly is so old now, and likes a quieter life! Come back soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great range of beers, well kept, no sparklers. Hurrah! Good service, friendly staff and customers, bring your own food. We never come to Birmingham without a visit or two.

1  Thank Cynthia N
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That is great to hear. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located within a few minutes walk of new street station, the Wellington is an interesting building with bars on two floors and a handy outside space on the second floor for smokers or just if you'd rather sit outside. They always have a good selection...More

Thank BevAtHome
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are pleased to hear that! Thank you for taking time to write such a full review. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant place. Beer choice, Great. Another bar upstairs with a roof terrace, cracking pub. If you take food in with you, they will offer you plates and cutlery. If had a criticism, I can't remember it. Relaxing, you can actually forget that you are in...More

Thank Darlojacko
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your warm comments.

Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Be careful when bringing in your own food which they say you can, the staff were very rude. Literally Hadn't sat down 5 seconds and they were aggressively telling me to buy a drink at the bar, almost shouting at me. Which I was going...More

2  Thank ChrisTommyE
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That is disappointing to hear. We will investigate and we apologise for your poor experience.

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Prior to moving I always used to come here with my dad to watch the football, however having moved to the coast I don’t get to go as often, however I stopped by Saturday night with friends on a boys night out to show my...More

Thank MrRobP
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That is great to hear. Thank you.

Reviewed 7 September 2018

Hadn't been for a few years as I don't work in Birmingham anymore, but was meeting up with an old chum and decided to check it out. The range of beers and service are still second to none and fairly priced for the location. What...More

Thank brotherwhitters
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What lovely comments. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 September 2018

Sunday morning swift pint and very good it was too. Always an interesting selection of beers from here and there.

Thank Brian M
BCAles, Owner at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great! Thank you.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 116 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
2,194 reviews
.07 km away
The Briar Rose Hotel
1,161 reviews
.10 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
1,814 reviews
.18 km away
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
3,220 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,497 nearby restaurants
Adam's
2,321 reviews
.10 km away
Damascena Coffee House | Delicatessen | Bakery
244 reviews
.06 km away
Amantia
623 reviews
.09 km away
Buffalo & Rye
395 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 621 nearby attractions
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery
3,487 reviews
.23 km away
Birmingham Cathedral
306 reviews
.10 km away
Flat 8 Gallery
31 reviews
.14 km away
Victoria Square
392 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Grant01971
18 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BCAles | Property representative |
No, but you can bring your own and we will provide crockery and cutlery......and wash up afterwards! We don't do food as we specialise entirely on our ales, but many customers enjoy our open offer to bring their own snacks... More
1
Vote
Paul B
14 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jenny H | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure about Brum, but there's one in Coventry 17th/18th March Butts Park Arena
0
Votes
Emilie T
8 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BCAles | Property representative |
I'm afraid we cannot allow dogs other than disability assistance dogs within the pub.
0
Votes