We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Goodwood House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Chichester PO18 0PX, England
Phone Number:
+44 1243 774107
Website
Description:

Nestled in the spectacular Sussex countryside, surrounded by mature...

Nestled in the spectacular Sussex countryside, surrounded by mature parklands, and home to the Dukes of Richmond for centuries, Goodwood House combines the glamour of a great English country house with the warmth of a family home. With an outstanding collection of art on display, the House is open to visitors from March to October.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 204 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 135
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
A guided tour of the house then afternoon tea in the ballroom.

Interesting, informative and entertaining summarises the tour of the house. The artwork and artefacts here are of international quality and the history of the family and it's... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
ChrisBenham
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Stoke by Nayland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It wasn’t the best of starts. Before our visit to Goodwood, I had contacted the estate office several times (both via email and telephone) to determine exactly when house tours were starting and how to book. Repeatedly, I was told that the information would be put on the website in due course, when in fact it had already been declared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Goodwood E, Public Relations Manager at Goodwood House, responded to this review

Dear Alan B, Thank you for your feedback, I am saddened to hear that your experience with us at Goodwood was not everything that we would have hoped that it would be. With regards to your comments I would like to assure you that we do take these matters seriously and we will fully investigate your journey here with us.... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Interesting, informative and entertaining summarises the tour of the house. The artwork and artefacts here are of international quality and the history of the family and it's interaction with our national history is fascinating. The afternoon tea is copious and good quality, nicely served in a beautiful room. We spent just over three enjoyable hours here on Sunday afternoon. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisBenham
Goodwood E, Public Relations Manager at Goodwood House, responded to this review

Thank your for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea and that you were pleased with the outcome of your House tour. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Katie More 

Evanton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

We had the pleasure of attending our nieces wedding here in February, situated in a beautiful rural location this beautiful stately home with it's fine a art collection and beautiful antiques. This was the ideal venue for a wedding. We enjoyed a beautiful meal with first class service nothing was too much trouble and we were fortunate enough to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shuttersister
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

Attended a family wedding in the plush grounds of Goodwood. It was a classy occasion from start to finish. The venue was unbelievable, steeped in history with 5 star treatment. The whole day was memorable as everything was planned in fine detail. The wedding was special in lots of different ways; the drinks flowed all day; food and service were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank davidwilliambarnes
worthing
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

Unusual house and not as large as many country piles but an amazing collection of art including a couple of Canalettos. The newly restored Egyptian dining room is probably the best. Lord March has contributed much to British sporting life but if you are hoping to see wonderful sweeping lawns and herbaceous borders then this is not for you. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank David D
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

Had a guided tour as part of the Christmas break at Goodwood Hotel. The lady who showed us round was very knowledgeable and friendly. A very interesting tour with all the history in the house. The stories about the 3rd and 4th Lords were particularly interesting! Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Nibbs007
Goring by Sea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

The Goodwood estate is an awful place to work. Considering the amount of money they must make with their events they only pay minimum wage yet expect maximum output from the staff. Turnover is very high. The staff accommodation is terrible-I'm surprised some if it hadn't been shut by the environmental health department. Management are only interested in their own... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lemon123456
Goodwood E, Manager at Goodwood House, responded to this review

I have messaged you directly with my contact details as I would like the opportunity to discuss your opinion further. Many thanks Shelley More 

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

We had a tour and afternoon tea package and arrived in time to join the first tour group. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. We had tea booked but it seems a shame that if it's not pre booked you probably cannot have anything. Some people on or tour wanted to indulge but were told they should have booked.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank newts62
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Had a guided tour that lasted about 1.5-2 hrs, £9.50, beautiful house and grounds. Guide was very knowledgable. You can have afternoon tea in the ballroom which looked beautiful but the tour cokes through there which I would have found off putting.

Helpful?
1 Thank lougrover
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
202 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

We had wanted to visit Goodwood House for some while. We had pre-booked a guided tour of the house for 1pm with afternoon tea in the Ballroom to follow. We had a small group of 14 and our lady guide was superb. I believe she said she had been involved with the House for 20 years and it came over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul H

Travellers who viewed Goodwood House also viewed

 

Been to Goodwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Goodwood House and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Goodwood House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?