We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Edinburgh Dungeon

Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood:
Princes Street and Gardens
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 31 Market Street, Edinburgh EHI IQB, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 871 663 1672
Today
11:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 16:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together...

The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary.

Your 80 minute journey will take you through 1000 years of Scotland's dark history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits!

WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.11*
and up
Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 3,695 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2047
    Excellent
  • 930
    Very good
  • 326
    Average
  • 105
    Poor
  • 100
    Terrible
Excellent experience

My husband and I have visited many dungeon attractions over the years but this is the best. The actors are excellent and really bring to life the gruesome history of Edinburgh... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
Davier30
,
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

3,695 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,508: English reviews
Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

there are no signs as you enter the entrance to say how much the cost of entry is, but it costs £17.50 per person. I thought this was a bit steep and don't think it is really worth it. It is fun but would work out costly for a family

Helpful?
Thank LeonaIreland
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I have visited many dungeon attractions over the years but this is the best. The actors are excellent and really bring to life the gruesome history of Edinburgh. There are many more rides and attractions and this Dungeon than any other we have been to. Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Davier30
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It starts interestingly but somewhere in between get a little bit of a drag , however the little tricks they have done with leeches and the drop at the end is fun . I don't scare easily so if you looking for something very scary this isn't for you.

Helpful?
Thank cusum
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's been a year since my last visit to The Edinburgh Dungeon and I'd heard that a new show was arriving soon, so I expected a little change inside, but I didn't expect to see that the entrance had been changed as well! Gone is the staircase with it's swinging blade and there is now the "toll booth" in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank BermondseyBob
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely loved this place. Awesome atmosphere, quite creepy. Well worth a visit followed by creepy bus tour.

Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having never visited the London Dungeon, I had know idea of what to expect except that it involved live action and role play. Its Edinburgh's version of the dungeon and take of the dark side of town with stories and characters based on real events that existed hundreds of years ago and does not disappoint. It had its jumpy moments... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went here with an open mind not knowing what to expect. Was pleasantly surprised. Be prepared for audience participation and some jumpy moments. Some parts are a bit difficult to see dependant on where you stand/sit, (back of the boat is defiantly better that the front ;-)). I would recommend this tour but would warn the easily scared and young... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Coldwater2511
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a great day. The staff really got into character. It was well worth the money which was very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you for your horribly good review, Lesley. We're delighted you had a good time. Hope you had a grand day out in Edinburgh. ;) More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Thanks for a great visit, lots of laughs and a few scares for the jumpy ones. Don't bother if you are pregnant, got a serious heart condition or worried about your back as you will get excluded from some activities. Actors are knowledgeable and enthusiastic and I would recommend this attraction to those of you with an interest of history... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Hi Neil - you are a most forgiving and understanding man. I am sorry you have been transported to Australia, although on the plus side our cannibals can't swim that far, so you're safe. Thanks for the horribly good review. ;) More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went with a group of 8 adults on a Saturday afternoon - thoroughly enjoyable experience. Most definitely not for the faint hearted - the boat ride was one of the highlights as was the surprise at the end of the tour....!! Definitely warrants a visit if in Edinburgh. You will not be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Garycol365
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

NICE alliteration, Gary. And even nicer review, thank you! Hope you had a gorgeously grand and horribly happy day out in Edinburgh. See? We're all at it now! ;) More 

Travellers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Edinburgh Dungeon and other visitors
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Edinburgh Dungeon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood