We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cabaret Voltaire

Neighbourhood:
Old Town
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 36 Blair Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QR, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 131 220 6176
Website
Today
17:00 - 03:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 17:00 - 03:00
Sat 12:00 - 03:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 50 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Where we ended up on my stag do

My best man organised a booth on the bar area while we waited for the club to open. The drinks were great, my dirty pint wasn't however this is no fault of the establishment. He... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 April 2016
Jchambers86
,
Bromley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stumbled across this place and saw two comics here. What a funky venue! the first comic we saw in a tiny room upstairs and the second were deeply down in the depths of the building. It's like a tardis. The toilets were quite dire and my husband was almost knocked out with the stench in the men's but apart... More 

Helpful?
Thank melons2014
Cabaret V, Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hello Melons2014, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your visit to Cabaret Voltaire and I am glad to hear you and your husband have been making the most of the free Fringe variety in our venue. Here at Cabaret Voltaire we strive to provide an excellent experience for our customers at all times. I have taken... More 

Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We booked a booth for my sister in laws henny where we were informed was in the "nightclub" on arrival I asked the door staff about this who were extremely nice and told me to grab one of the bar staff! After waiting about 20 mins one of them finally told me our table was over the back of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph290590
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hi Steph, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your visit. I would like to apologies that your visit wasn't to excellent experience we strive to provide at Cabaret Voltaire. I have reviewed your booking and this was for the bar not the nightclub and this should have been communicated to you at the time... More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I am absolutely disgusted with the service I was given at my second visit to this club. First of all, after going outside I was refused re-entry as apparently I had been kicked out, I was stone cold sober and had not been. Then when waiting to be let back in a man stood on my foot and turned round... More 

Helpful?
Thank Em M
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your visit. I am extremely sorry that your visit was not to the high standard we strive to prove at Cabaret Voltaire. If you can please provide me with the date of your visit and a description of staff members you spoke with I will look into... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

My best man organised a booth on the bar area while we waited for the club to open. The drinks were great, my dirty pint wasn't however this is no fault of the establishment. He only gripe was the state of the toilets on Saturday evening, no attention there as well as 8 pounds to get into the club. Paying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jchambers86
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hello Jchambers86, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us! In respect to the toilets we will make sure this is a focus for the team going forward. We hope that you visit us again soon and good luck for the big day!... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2016

Refused entry on a Tuesday evening by an idiot of a bouncer for no reason, presumably we're too old at mid 30s. We weren't abusive, we didn't speak, yet were stopped with the bouncer proclaiming that whistlebinkies up the road was 'more relaxed' and they were preferring students tonight. Absolutely shocking.

Helpful?
Thank GraemeBlenkinsopp
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Dear Graeme, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am sorry that you where refused admission to the venue and if this has caused some distress. However as a licensed premises we do reserve the right to refuse admission, although this should be done with a valid reason and in a respectful manner I do... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I was looking forward to going here after booking two tables which cost £50. The customer service I had on the phone was fine although they seemed to need various things repeated to them several times. On arrival I was challenged by a bouncer who insisted I was lying about my age. I look fairly young but had produced two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mhairi S
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Dear Mhairi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your visit. I am sorry that you didn't have the great experience we strive to provide. I would not expect any member of staff to be rude towards customers. If you can please proved me a description of the member of security staff who you spoke... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately I attended this venue yesterday evening, the venue is poor and the door staff / bouncers thought it would be a good idea to push me over for no reason. I have hurt my back and damaged my jacket and shoes, this was unacceptable and a form of bullying. I would never recommend this venue and will not be... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Paul A
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. Here at Cabaret Voltaire we strive to provide the best customer experience possible and I apologies this hasn't been the case on your visit. If you could please email us at managment@thecabaretvoltaire.com with more details on the incident we will ensure this is investigated. Kind Regards Cabaret Voltaire Management More 

Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2015

Over from Northern Ireland. Came to visit and typed 'Techno Edinburgh' into google and found this place The Cabaret Voltaire, its street name is 'cab vol' so if your out and about ask for directions to cab vol rather than cabaret voltaire. Anyway onto the important part. Greeted by a lovely young gentleman with a disarming smile at cashdesk, great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jasper M
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hi Jasper, Thank you to taking the time to leave feedback on your visit. I am glad you had and enjoyable night at Cabaret Voltaire, I will pass you feedback on to the our cash desk staff. We hope you can join us again in the near future. Kind Regards More 

Lancaster
Level Contributor
409 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2015

Lovely relaxed pub upstairs offering cocktails a good range of beers and sandwiches. Downstairs are three venue rooms for Free Festival Comedy Fringe, offering a wide variety of performances in a cellar setting. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Bootess
64manager, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hello Bootess, We are thrilled that you love the look of our venue and that our cocktails are up to scratch. For someone to recommend us so highly is what we aim for! Come visit us again soon and catch some more of our free comedy shows! Cab Vol Team More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Love this place and have been going for years. Went last night for a boogie. But it is now a sausage fest and nobody dances anymore. Not even to club classic born slippy.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
64manager, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, We are pleased to hear that you are a regular customer at Cab Vol and that you enjoy having a little boogie from time to time with us! We can tell you that we love a bit of Born Slippy the same as you and if we could've we would have been on the dancefloor with you! Come... More 

Travellers who viewed The Cabaret Voltaire also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Cabaret Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cabaret Voltaire and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Cabaret Voltaire staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood