We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cabaret Voltaire

36-38 Blair Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QR, Scotland
+44 131 247 4704
Website
Save
Review Highlights
The friendly staff and the interesting space....

My experience of Cabaret Voltaire has been great. The staff are friendly and were amazingly... read more

Reviewed 28 July 2017
alexdunedin2017
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
"This place has potential but unfortunately we had a poor experience"

We landed early so we had a few beers until the nightclub opened. I had booked a booth for my Bro's... read more

Reviewed 23 February 2017
Gareth D
Read all 54 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible20%
28 Jul 2017
“The friendly staff and the interesting space....”
23 Feb 2017
“"This place has potential but unfortunately we had a poor experience"”
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
36-38 Blair Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QR, Scotland
Old Town
CONTACT
Website
+44 131 247 4704
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

My experience of Cabaret Voltaire has been great. The staff are friendly and were amazingly responsive to my requests, and the space is absolutely unique. A beautiful vault in the heart of old town Edinburgh, pretty cool. The music is good with live dj's mixing

Thank alexdunedin2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We landed early so we had a few beers until the nightclub opened. I had booked a booth for my Bro's 40th. When i mentioned the booth entering the nightclub they had no record of it. We eventually got down and into the booth, then...More

1  Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Visit here regularly when out in Edinburgh. Great small club with a brilliant atmosphere, banging tunes and helpful friendly staff.

1  Thank cass1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stumbled across this place and saw two comics here. What a funky venue! the first comic we saw in a tiny room upstairs and the second were deeply down in the depths of the building. It's like a tardis. The toilets were quite dire...More

Thank melons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabaret V, Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Hello Melons2014, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your visit to Cabaret Voltaire and I am glad to hear you and your husband have been making the most of the free Fringe variety in our venue. Here at Cabaret Voltaire we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We booked a booth for my sister in laws henny where we were informed was in the "nightclub" on arrival I asked the door staff about this who were extremely nice and told me to grab one of the bar staff! After waiting about 20...More

1  Thank Steph290590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Hi Steph, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your visit. I would like to apologies that your visit wasn't to excellent experience we strive to provide at Cabaret Voltaire. I have reviewed your booking and this was for the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I am absolutely disgusted with the service I was given at my second visit to this club. First of all, after going outside I was refused re-entry as apparently I had been kicked out, I was stone cold sober and had not been. Then when...More

1  Thank Em M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your visit. I am extremely sorry that your visit was not to the high standard we strive to prove at Cabaret Voltaire. If you can please provide me with the date of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

My best man organised a booth on the bar area while we waited for the club to open. The drinks were great, my dirty pint wasn't however this is no fault of the establishment. He only gripe was the state of the toilets on Saturday...More

Thank Jchambers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hello Jchambers86, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us! In respect to the toilets we will make sure this is a focus for the team going forward....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Refused entry on a Tuesday evening by an idiot of a bouncer for no reason, presumably we're too old at mid 30s. We weren't abusive, we didn't speak, yet were stopped with the bouncer proclaiming that whistlebinkies up the road was 'more relaxed' and they...More

1  Thank GraemeBlenkinsopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear Graeme, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am sorry that you where refused admission to the venue and if this has caused some distress. However as a licensed premises we do reserve the right to refuse admission, although...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I was looking forward to going here after booking two tables which cost £50. The customer service I had on the phone was fine although they seemed to need various things repeated to them several times. On arrival I was challenged by a bouncer who...More

Thank Mhairi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Dear Mhairi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your visit. I am sorry that you didn't have the great experience we strive to provide. I would not expect any member of staff to be rude towards customers. If you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately I attended this venue yesterday evening, the venue is poor and the door staff / bouncers thought it would be a good idea to push me over for no reason. I have hurt my back and damaged my jacket and shoes, this was unacceptable...More

6  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabaret V, General Manager at The Cabaret Voltaire, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Hi Paul, Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. Here at Cabaret Voltaire we strive to provide the best customer experience possible and I apologies this hasn't been the case on your visit. If you could please email us at managment@thecabaretvoltaire.com with more...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 151 hotels in Edinburgh
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
2,395 reviews
.06 km away
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
2,598 reviews
.08 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
1,495 reviews
.13 km away
The Inn on the Mile
1,292 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Piemaker
609 reviews
.08 km away
SPATCH
289 reviews
.08 km away
Roti of Edinburgh
225 reviews
.10 km away
Civerinos
529 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Mile Market
155 reviews
.10 km away
St Cecilia's Hall & Music Museum
15 reviews
.08 km away
Stevenlaw's Close
7 reviews
.04 km away
SANDEMANs NEW Europe
14,830 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cabaret Voltaire staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit