We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Andrews Aquarium

Features Animals
The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
+44 1334 474786
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Nice

It was a nice experience for 2 couples but nothing extraordinary. Better suited for children. The... read more

Reviewed yesterday
George T
Hidden Gem !!!

I have visited the aquarium many times over the last few years and no visit has been a let down. It... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DDAL0701
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 473 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Step through our doors and be transported into an underwater world of adventure and discovery. Come face to face with some of the most beautiful, fascinating and dangerous creatures of the watery worlds. From British sharks to spiders, lobsters to lionfish, poison dart frogs to piranhas, loveable seals...... and not to forget our fabulous meerkats. Get up close and personal with our daily interactive demonstrations which include Seal feeding at 12 noon and 3pm, Penguin feeding at 2pm, reptile and snake handling sessions at 11.20am and 2.20pm and an informative talk and feeding sessions with our family of Meerkats at 12.20pm and 3.20pm.
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good27%
  • Average22%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“feeding times” (26 reviews)
“seal feeding” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1334 474786
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"feeding times"
in 26 reviews
"feeding sessions"
in 14 reviews
"seal feeding"
in 12 reviews
"bearded dragon"
in 6 reviews
"sea life"
in 15 reviews
"rainy day"
in 11 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 7 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 13 reviews
"cakes"
in 12 reviews
"great value for money"
in 10 reviews
"day pass"
in 5 reviews
"soup"
in 5 reviews
"penguins"
in 144 reviews
"talks"
in 41 reviews
"meerkat"
in 26 reviews
"exhibits"
in 56 reviews
"handling"
in 24 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 461 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

It was a nice experience for 2 couples but nothing extraordinary. Better suited for children. The staff there really care for the animals and that is cool. The meerkats are the best.

Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have visited the aquarium many times over the last few years and no visit has been a let down. It is quite small but full of many amazing creatures such as seals,penguins,sharks and meerkats. The Staff are all extremely welcoming and are enthusiastic and...More

Thank DDAL0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your kind words. I too cannot understand how anyone can get round in 10 minutes. But it is true some people really do and I can understand their disappointment. I just can't see how they can do it; I could easily spend...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven’t visited for a number of years And looked forward to taking my daughter for her first visit. Bitterly disappointed, the building just appears tired. It was relatively busy when we went but we made it around the exhibits easily. Most were nice then I...More

1  Thank genie_19820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Reviews like this always leave me feeling confused. If the reviewer hasn't visited in a "number of years" how is it possible to not notice things like; a new Penguin pool, a new Amazon area, a new Tropical Marine area, a new Native Marine area,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its fabulous to come to a "local" aquarium where the staff so obviously care about their residents. Had a lot of fun during the feeding of the Penguins, and really enjoyed looking at the exhibits.More

Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your lovely review. Yes the atmosphere is a bit different here-we are a privately owned unique aquarium/zoo. Not a giant chain and we do genuinely care about our animals. It's not uncommon for us all to be in tears when they pass...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meerkats, Sealions, fish, crocodiles, Penguins and more. Really worth visiting this beautiful place. Good place to enjoy seeing these creatures. You can see the live feeding for Meerkats which is really fantastic. Have been to many aquariums around the world, but this one is really...More

Thank Ragavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review and we are glad that you had a great time. We are certainly not the biggest or the best funded but we do really try to make the most of what we have and it's nice to hear that we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yesterday was very windy in Fife thanks to Storm Hector! So we sought sanctuary at the lovely attraction in St Andrews. Great value at £11 for a day pass. Lots of fish 🐟 to see plus other reptiles 🦎 and sea 🌊 creatures, lobsters, rays...More

Thank 19ianp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review and I'm glad we could provide some much needed shelter and an interesting time for you. Very impressive emojis- i didn't know half of those!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm a support worker for adults with learning disabilities and I came here on a day trip with a couple of my service users. When we arrived, the girl behind the ticket counter apologized and told us that the part of the aquarium where the...More

1  Thank Nic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry you are right our wheelchair access is still poor although improving. The joys of an old historic site built into a cliff! We make no secret of it and we try to inform folks using our website and signage; we even offer free exploratory...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my 9 year old granddaughter, we saw the feeding of the seals and mercats . My grandaugher loved the mercats. The ants collecting leaves to make their nests is something else.

Thank reds1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely review and I'm glad your granddaughter enjoyed the Meerkats (don't tell the Seals but these are my favourites too!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We called here because we are suckers for fish! I am so glad we did as it was very informative. Tanks for the Amazon.Lake Chad coral reefs.and the North Sea, all pis atrial life is here, Watching a class of 6 year old son running...More

Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thanks for your nice review and it sounds like you had a great and informative time which is fantastic. Yes the Amazon fish are huge and keep in mind all of these were rescued from folks trying to keep them at home having bought them...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We had a really good time. The food in the cafe was fresh and tasty. I must admit, the coleslaw wasn't a big hit, but everything else was snapped up. The displays were interesting, with lots keeping our 2 year old engrossed. I'm kind of...More

1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are glad you had a really good time. Yuck! I'm not surprised; in my personal opinion coleslaw and Brussels sprouts are an offense to humanity and should be banned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in St Andrews
Hotel Du Vin
649 reviews
.10 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
731 reviews
.11 km away
Hazelbank Hotel
107 reviews
.13 km away
The Russell Hotel
311 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at The Russell
257 reviews
.14 km away
Playfair's Restaurant
870 reviews
.19 km away
Golfer's Corner Lounge Bar at Dunvegan
315 reviews
.22 km away
The Seafood Ristorante
1,194 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Eden Mill
885 reviews
.26 km away
The Swilcan Bridge
640 reviews
.43 km away
St Andrews West Sands Beach
596 reviews
.27 km away
University of St Andrews
208 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ruthpatersonx
24 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Fraser K | Property representative |
Your entry fee is included in the price of the feeding experience...any other visitors would need to pay however.
1
Vote