We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gallery of Modern Art

Neighbourhood: City Centre
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Royal Exchange Square | 111 Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3AH, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 141 287 3050
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 17:00
Mon - Wed 10:00 - 17:00
Thu 10:00 - 20:00
Fri 11:00 - 17:00
Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Fee: No
Description:

Housed in a grand iconic building in Royal Exchange Square, the GoMA...

Housed in a grand iconic building in Royal Exchange Square, the GoMA (Gallery of Modern Art) hosts art exhibitions and special events throughout the year. The Library at GoMA houses a café, free internet access terminals and an extensive collection of art and design books.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.99*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 458 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 65
    Excellent
  • 102
    Very good
  • 107
    Average
  • 57
    Poor
  • 62
    Terrible
Not expected

I visited this gallery as I normally like art but... I just enjoyed parts of this one, mainly the building.

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Angielondonct
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I know art takes many forms and each to their own, but the exhibition we saw was not to my taste, I'm open minded, not prudish, but the exhibition on now was dull dull dull and in now way thought provoking or interesting, sadly a no from me.

Helpful?
Thank Chuckles001
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I'm sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy our galleries of exhibitions. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located building of interest. There's also... More 

Level Contributor
242 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this gallery as I normally like art but... I just enjoyed parts of this one, mainly the building.

Helpful?
Thank Angielondonct
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I'm sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy our galleries of exhibitions. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located building of interest. There's also... More 

Inverness
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The museum staff were not particularly helpful with our group, they could have been considerably more accommodating. The gallery itself was not all suitable for children. However, some elements were good, the various rooms for drawing, the quizzes etc.

Helpful?
Thank mouseinverness
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Really sorry to hear about your experience at GoMA. I'm sorry that you felt the staff were not accommodating. As you say, some of our displays at present are not suitable for children but I'm glad that you discovered the trails and activities that were. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays... More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A big disappointment. Caught the last half hour having flown in late afternoon and we needn't have rushed. Interesting building and very pleasant, helpful staff. But otherwise than an ornate staircase and a decent view from the loft gallery there was very little art on show. A few video based exhibits and that was that.

Helpful?
Thank Ybabobmij
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I'm sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy our galleries of exhibitions. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located building of interest. There's also... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yes! all the poor reviews are true . I didn't come in to look at the building , the cafe or the library or eat cake..I came to see some art. I am interested in art having spent 3 years doing a fine art degree but the blank wall thing has been done ad nauseum by many other artists historically.... More 

Helpful?
Thank parcelforce
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I'm sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy our galleries of exhibitions. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste nor the museum's curatorial practice. We have many visitors who, if they do not enjoy the exhibition programme, do find the iconic, centrally-located... More 

Kolkata
Level Contributor
241 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in a former Grecian style mansion in the heart of the city, near George Square and Buchanan Street, the Gallery of Modern Art displays Glasgow's extraordinary range of post-war art and design. Glasgow's most recent gallery, it was opened in 1996 and includes works by Niki de Saint Phalle, David Hockney, Sebastiao Salgado, Andy Warhol and Eduard Bersudsky as... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArghyaKolkata
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for lovely comments. We're really glad you enjoyed your visit. For the avoidance of confusion that although we have in the past exhibited Niki de Saint Phalle, David Hockney, Sebastiao Salgado, Andy Warhol and Eduard Bersudsky as well as Scottish artists such as John Bellany and Ken Curry we only currently have a permanent installation from de Saint Phalle... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoy modern art and had planned to spend some time here but were out in 10mins. Not a painting or sculpture to be seen, only 2 videos. 2 galleries were closed. We were told that they rotate open galleries and that we were unlucky.

Helpful?
Thank SJR126
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I'm sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy our galleries of exhibitions. You were indeed incredibly unfortunate to visit when we only have two galleries open. It's been a mixture of gallery change round and facilities maintenance. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I know the risks institutions take when exhibiting controversial or edgy contemporary art. I give this gallery five stars for showing the work of artists that push the boundaries and encourage us to think. Your experience will entirely depend on your relationship with contemporary art and on the work that's on view during your visit. During mine, I discovered the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DadaCabaret
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thank you. We really appreciate the point you make that your experience at the gallery may depend on your relationship to modern and contemporary art. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they... More 

Macon, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Imagine being an amateur photographer and seeing that there was an exhibition by a know photographer ...... but then in one area, a long gallery, just, 7 photos. Similarly in the adjacent long gallery. The photos themselves were drab and uninspiring. My camera club has put on 3 exhibitions in the last 4 years with far better quality of work.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brent1950
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I'm sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy our galleries of exhibitions. Like all museums and galleries, not just contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located building of interest. There's also... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The gallery itself is on many levels with some good spaces, but your view of the experience will be affected by what is on show - so caution it you might not like it. The John Samson exhibit is adult in nature - and not to my taste, the photo on the next floor were quite appealing and the exhibit... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeFo
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and balanced review. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located building of interest. There's also an opportunity to visit our great shop, lovely library, family Create Space and cafe and the recently installed Visit Scotland iCentre tourist information hub. We try really hard to provide... More 

Travellers who viewed Gallery of Modern Art also viewed

 

Been to Gallery of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gallery of Modern Art staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?