We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallery of Modern Art

Royal Exchange Square | 111 Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3AH, Scotland
+44 141 287 3050
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.85*
and up
Glasgow's Must Sees 5-Hour Private Tour
More Info
US$20.27*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Housed in a grand iconic building in Royal Exchange Square, the GoMA (Gallery of Modern Art) hosts art exhibitions and special events throughout the year. The Library at GoMA houses a café, free internet access terminals and an extensive collection of art and design books.
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good28%
  • Average26%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“traffic cone” (25 reviews)
“free entry” (17 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Royal Exchange Square | 111 Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3AH, Scotland
City Centre
CONTACT
Website
+44 141 287 3050
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 482 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

What a beautiful building with original features but like a lot of people we were disappointed by some of the exhibits. There is the usual gift shop and it is free!

Thank swissmaid21
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Not much to say about this place. Not a lot of art on exhibit, and what is there isn't that notable. Honestly, I kept wishing that the library and museum that this replaced was what I was visiting while walking through. Way too much self...More

Thank Nathan F
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Approaching the gallery I was most impressed with the architectural style of this grand building. (The second floor has a small but informative exhibit on the building and its history over the more than 200 years in existence). I was disappointed however to see that...More

Thank backpacker31
Reviewed 1 week ago

It only took us about half an hour to make our way around it as there weren't an enormous amount to see but it was worth the visit as it was free. When we went the exhibition that had meant to be in the main...More

Thank Chelsea B
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

So disappointed with family visit . Few , very few exhibitions , none in main hall at all. Children quickly bored and adults searching for works of art . Come on Glasgow you can do better than this. Been here many times in previous years...More

Thank jed23
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. I'm sorry that you were disappointed. Granted, gallery 1 does not have a traditional display at present but...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointing. Having visited most of the major galleries in the U.K., this is the worst. Terrible use of a fabulous building, containing very few works of any real artistic merit. My advice, leave it a year or two before you visit.More

Thank timwhi1962
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had high expectations of such a fine-looking building and the promise of modern art in the centre of town, but were disappointed. We were probably unlucky with our timing because the exhibition that should have been on in the main space had been cancelled...More

Thank Laurie P
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your comments. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located building of interest. There's also an opportunity to visit our great shop, lovely library and cafe and the Visit Scotland iCentre tourist information...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were at George Square and this Museum was a block away and Great Place to get out of the Rain. I am not a Fan of Modern Art, but My Nephew is so He enjoyed it more than Me. Worth a Visit

Thank andypandaNashville
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that you had a good time! Gareth, Museum Manager, GoMA

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my visit here and despite the empty downstairs gallery, which was interesting in itself, I found plenty to see and delight in. In fact I went back to view some of the works again, especially the Taste exhibition and the top floor....More

Thank dottytee
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I'll mention your suggestion to the shop manager and your comments to the cafe manager. Always great to hear that that you found the staff friendly. Gareth James, Museum Manager, GoMA.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was our first visit and we found really interesting it was that interesting we were in nearly 2 hours I did not think I would like modern art but we both did. This is well worth a visit

Thank ELLRAY
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Always lovely to hear that we defied expectations and would recommend us as worth a visit. Gareth James, Museum Manager, GoMA.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Western Club Restaurant
324 reviews
.01 km away
CAU Glasgow
520 reviews
.07 km away
The Rogano
1,525 reviews
.07 km away
Di Maggio's
1,019 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Buchanan Street
4,054 reviews
.15 km away
George Square
961 reviews
.18 km away
The Lighthouse
734 reviews
.19 km away
Duke of Wellington Statue
426 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gallery of Modern Art staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit