We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chatelherault

Ferniegair, Hamilton ML3 7UE, Scotland
+44 1698 426213
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Evening trail run

Lovely place for a shaded trail run on a hot sunny night, great parking and lots of routes to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
TheOldChurch
,
Muirkirk, Scotland
via mobile
Superb Walks

Great location for walks and some scenery, 5 mins off the motorway and into Hamilton or Larkhall... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
RobbieBaillie
via mobile
Read all 345 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good35%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“hunting lodge” (26 reviews)
“country park” (20 reviews)
“play park” (21 reviews)
LOCATION
Ferniegair, Hamilton ML3 7UE, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1698 426213
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lovely place for a shaded trail run on a hot sunny night, great parking and lots of routes to follow.

Thank TheOldChurch
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for feedback and great to see you had an enjoyable day. hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location for walks and some scenery, 5 mins off the motorway and into Hamilton or Larkhall, good visitor centre for kids too

Thank RobbieBaillie
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for feedback and great to see you had an enjoyable day. hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on Sunday 28th May 2017 with my wife and 2 boys aged 8&6. The park area is really good and the boys loved it. It seems to have just had all the wood chip replaced which made it all nice and fresh which was...More

Thank David M
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for feedback and great to see you had an enjoyable day. hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to walk and eat. Lovely to visit the buildings and the beautiful gardens. Lots of dog walkers, but there is plenty of space for everyone.

1  Thank marylcma
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for feedback and great to see you had an enjoyable day. hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Good walking paths, beautiful countryside with great views, different levels of walks, pick up free map from gift shop. Coffee shop and gift shop staff very helpful and friendly. Play area near car park for children. Admission to grounds and car park are free. Great...More

Thank elaine m
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks you for your feedback, glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice place to visit with children play area nice place for a picnic weather permitting views are amazing

Thank Denise M
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for feedback and great to see you had an enjoyable day. hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Came here today with our grandchildren with the makings of a picnic!!!!!! No picnic area! Also the house closed. Only thing going for the area is the kids play park! Used to love coming here with our kids. What a let down!More

Thank Anne M
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear your experience was not an enjoyable one, on a nice day we have many people having picnics on the front lawn taking in the fabulous views. Chatelherault is becoming a very popular venue for weddings and...More

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Visit here with a running group where we go for a five miler before we socialise and eat - food fresh soup nice and nice wee deals to be had

Thank joom403
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for feedback and great to see you had an enjoyable day. hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 22 April 2017

Chatelherault used to be a little gem. A sort of semi wilderness area in the heart of industrial Scotland. A walk round the Avon gorge was a great way to relax and take in some lovely woodland scenery. Not any more though. Most of the...More

Thank Darrin F
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your response, I hope I can give you some information on our woodland restoration programme; A massive woodland regeneration project is underway at Chatelherault Country Park. Almost 20 hectares of non-native plantation conifers will be removed and more natural woodland introduced,...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Really good Easter Sunday fun, Easter egg hunt, crafts and most importantly a hill steep enough to roll eggs!

Thank saintcambo
lauracleland, Manager at Chatelherault, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you for your feedback, great to hear your visit was an enjoyable one, please come and visit us again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusti D'Italia
217 reviews
1.86 km away
Yee Hong Restaurant
70 reviews
1.85 km away
Ronzio
20 reviews
1.85 km away
Blue Chilli
143 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Strathclyde Country Park
296 reviews
2.48 km away
Low Parks Museum
99 reviews
2.23 km away
Hamilton Park Racecourse
91 reviews
3.58 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Pauline M
Can u get a bus there
9 June 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from RonaldoBurgundy | Reviewed this property |
yes. there is a bus that drives past the entrance from hamilton
1
Vote
elizabeth12342011
What's on today . Is there wheelchair access
30 January 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Colin G | Reviewed this property |
South Lanarkshire have spent a lot making venue accessible However woodland paths will be problematic at this time of year Check web site for events
0
Votes