We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Rosscahill, Ireland
Phone Number:
+353 91 550 218
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.46*
and up
Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour
More Info
US$12.52*
and up
Killarney National Park and Lakes of Killarney Boat Tour
More Info
US$250.44*
and up
Private Boat Trip on Lakes of Killarney

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 11 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 4
    Excellent
  • 2
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Interesting

This was not one of the most impressive castles we visited, however it was worth the visit. It is clean and well maintained. Many interesting stories of by gone history of castle... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2015
whack4
,
Rimbey, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here May 5th and 6th for my hen party and i cannot recommend this venue enough! Padraic and Margaret Mary were so helpful and the amenities were fantastic with a pool, billiards room, table tennis, tennis courts and even a church on site. We hired a local caterer for the Saturday night and there was plenty of room... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeonaB1602
Rimbey, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2015

This was not one of the most impressive castles we visited, however it was worth the visit. It is clean and well maintained. Many interesting stories of by gone history of castle, and its owners make for interesting reading. Surrounding grounds are beautiful. Swans and deer add to the scenery.

Helpful?
Thank whack4
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

For a castle ruin, this was well worth the fee for the tour. It was a fascinating castle with a tour guide that was so informative. Even my husband, who isn't a great fan of castle touring, enjoyed Ross Castle. My only regret is I'm now a retired teacher and have no class to tell about Ross Castle.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
512 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

It was built in the late 1400's. It stands in the Killarney National Park and is not far from downtown Killarney.

Helpful?
Thank trflyer
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We drove by this attraction several times and decided to stop in on one of our last days in Galway. Unfortunately, when we went to the door, there was no one there to give us a tour. However, on our way back to the car, the gardener spotted us and asked if we would like a tour of the gardens.... More 

Helpful?
Thank C M
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

what was promissed was not available and staff totally ignored attempts to contact them about problems.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1-Retired_traveler
rossestate, Manager at Ross Castle, responded to this review

I find it remarkable that this gentleman, after the litany of complaints posted, finds the property “Beautiful” and the rooms “Gorgeous”. But I find it mystifying that when he came in for “Tea and Tour” which we offer to our guests that he made no comment at all about problems he was having. Usually when our guests find a fault/problem... More 

Hustonville, KY
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The other reviews talk about the hotel, my review is about the attraction--The Ross Castle. Well, partly. Actually, we didn't get to tour the castle though I wish we would have. We visited with a tour group and came to the castle to take the boat ride. Don't bother doing the boat ride. It was a slow boat riding around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ljgordon
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed in the two cottages and the main house with our large group of 20. Our overall impression is the grounds are magnificent and well kept, with the exception of the tennis court which had so much moss on it it was dangerous to play. This was surprising to us as we had told the owner we slected her... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank advisorgal1
rossestate, Owner at Ross Castle, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, My husband joins me in offering our sincere regret that all was not to your satisfaction when visiting our property. I had thought you understood that "self catering" meant cooking, cleaning, and providing everything for yourself. Of course it would get messy if not cleaned daily and to that end we provide 6 vacuum cleaners, 6 brooms, 6... More 

chicago
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We had a magical time at Ross. It was a unique occasion for all the family (40 members) to get together under one roof in a very special environment. The property was awesome - they had done an incredible job on it. Elizabeth, her daughter and staff were wonderful. The biggest risk for me was that the food would not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bobmahoney
West Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2006

To be honest, we followed the signs from the road, as a detour on our trip between Aughnanure Castle and Kylemore Abbey. It wasn't on the national historic sites map, but we thought we might luck into another grand old castle or ruins. We came upon a sign indicating that Ross Castle was open until Sept. 30. It was mid... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank mcgervey

Travellers who viewed Ross Castle also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Shanafaraghaun, County Galway
 
Claddaghduff, County Galway
 

Been to Ross Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ross Castle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?