We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kent Life

#4 of 53 things to do in Maidstone Features Animals
Lock Lane | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AU, England
+44 1622 763936
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fun but food over priced

My friend and I took our children here for the day. Very reasonable to get in and the gift shop... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Charlotte M
via mobile
Poor value for money.

I visited Kent Life with my little girl, my friend and her son. It cost us £20 to get in and we... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Lucy D
,
Kent, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 567 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We are a 28 acre Heritage Farm Park and aim to be a memorable and fun day out for all the family. Step back in time and visit our Vintage Village, take in the smells and colours in the Kentish Gardens, get your boots muddy and explore our Farmyard & Nature then take a break and set the kids free in our Family Play! We have daily activities and regular seasonal events throughout the year.
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cuddle corner” (89 reviews)
“tractor ride” (68 reviews)
“bouncy castle” (50 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Lock Lane | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1622 763936
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My friend and I took our children here for the day. Very reasonable to get in and the gift shop offers stuff at a reasonable price. Didn't know till after we left that they had a soft play! Dotties tea room was a tad expensive...More

Thank Charlotte M
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review - glad you enjoyed your visit. We have taken your comments on board about the food, and will ensure it is appropriately covered. Don't forget to try out the soft play on your next visit. See you again.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I visited Kent Life with my little girl, my friend and her son. It cost us £20 to get in and we spent just one and a half hours in there. We saw three donkeys, two pigs, lots of goats and a few rabbits. Other...More

Thank Lucy D
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review - sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We do find that our guests normally spend several hours with us - on a weekday at this time of year we still have plenty of activities including cuddle corner, indoor...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value for money. Great staff and surroundings for children of all ages. A great day out. Highly recommended.

Thank Sarah F
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow - thanks so much or this lovely review and recommendation, we do appreciate you taking the time to leave us 5 stars. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kent Life seems to have an identity crisis. Is it a children's playground? Is it a farm? Is it a museum of historical buildings? It certainly tries to be all of the above, but doesn't do any of them particularly well. The name lends itself...More

Thank KatyHol
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. At Kent Life, we celebrate all things Kentish, and arrange these into 4 clear zones; Family Play, Vintage Village, Farmyard & Nature and Kentish Gardens. We appreciate that not necessarily all 4 zones will appeal to everyone, but we do...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cuddle time with rabbits, guinea pigs, lots of things to see the big top tent is good on a warm day you need to have lots of drinks handy and with you

Thank jane B
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review! It's great to hear you enjoy the Big Top - we have a packed schedule of entertainment in here during school holidays - our next acts go live from Saturday 22nd July. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had no idea bouth this place and my brother suggested driving down to Maidstone (where we were staying) from London and 'doing something' on a Sunday afternoon before lunch - there was a handful of options, most of which we had seen or visited on...More

2  Thank Mono_Jockos
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you! We are really pleased you enjoyed your "random" Sunday afternoon - thank you for your positive comments, they are appreciated.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For the money we paid was super boring to be honest, your probably thinking what can be so boring it's not the animals fault?! Which is true yes, but I've been to Christmas tree farm And I thought that was much better even for a...More

1  Thank toni b
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving your comments, which naturally, we are really disappointed to receive. We include a wealth of entertainment and activities in our admission fee (even more so at weekends and during school holidays) - so its extremely surprising to hear that you found...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So firstly for the price we paid (online) we were happy with what we got. Had we paid on the gate I don't think we would have been too happy. Kent Life is good but it REALLY needs some serious TLC. The place is showing...More

1  Thank Gary B
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review which is pretty disappointing for us to receive. We have made some vast improvements to the attraction over the last 12 months, and continue to do so. I can only apologise that you experienced some nettle problems, at this time...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've just invested in the yearly ticket and I'm really glad I did as I'm going to get good use out of it. We always get there early as it's gets packed and overwhelming later on in the day. However first thing there's a much...More

1  Thank Natasha H
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review. We were really disappointed to hear that you have had some cleanliness issues - we have raised this with our cleaning team and hope that you see an improvement on your next visit. Should there still be an issue, please...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not to much to do a few animals but a visit here doesn't last long enough. Not expensive so worth a visitMore

Thank Simpleguy37
Sarah H, Manager at Kent Life, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - which is a little disappointing to receive. It's not clear when you visited, but here's an indication of what's on offer during half term (and included in the price): Cuddle corner; family races; tractor and/or land train rides; owl...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Yew Tree Inn
335 reviews
.84 km away
Cobtree Manor Park Cafe
40 reviews
.94 km away
The Poppy Fields
897 reviews
1.51 km away
Aunt Sally's Kitchen
41 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cobtree Manor Park
277 reviews
.62 km away
Kent Owl Academy
37 reviews
.06 km away
Tyland Barn
29 reviews
1.06 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
lisa p
Can I take my dog?
29 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Sarah H | Property representative |
Dogs are allowed on site we just ask that they are kept on leads, cleaned up after and do not enter the catering areas. We hope you have a great day!
2
Votes
Robynm95
How is the animal husbandry and welfare? Do all the animals have hides? Especially the owls please!!
12 December 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Sarah H | Property representative |
Naturally, the welfare of our animals is of utmost importance to us, especially at this time of year, and I can assure you that all animals are extremely well looked after by our Livestock Officer and her dedicated and... More
0
Votes
Colin B
I thought I would contact you regarding the totally useless response to my review which I posted three days ago in which I pointed out facilities that were not working. We visited on 5th August. You state in your response that the toilets were refurbished in time for the school holidays, the problems i highlighted existed when we visited. The taps in the hand washing facilities were not working on the day of our visit, both these items are essential health related items and should be checked at least daily, preferably several times a day. If the village hall is primarily for weddings it should be marked as such on the map you provide, with a statement that will only be available when there is not a function. As for the toilets at the entrance, those are marked on the map you provide a lot of your visitors might decide to use them when they leave on their way back to the car, so appropriate signage should be in place. In opinion the whole site has gone badly downhill since our last visit several years ago.
11 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Sarah H | Property representative |
Thank you for re-raising your comments here. I can only apologise that there were some issues with toilets and hand-washing on your visit date, both of which have been rectified. Your comments regarding signage has been duly... More
2
Votes