We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carrani Tours

#115 of 755 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood:
Esquilino
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: Via V. E. Orlando, 95, 00159 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
+39 06 474 2501
Website
Description:

Carrani Tours | Italian DMC since 1925

Carrani Tours offers products and...

Carrani Tours | Italian DMC since 1925

Carrani Tours offers products and services throughout the entire territory of Italy operating with passion and professionalism.

Providing travel solutions for individuals and groups, specializing in the cities of art with attention to culture, history and regional gastronomy, incentive travel, leisure travel, guided visits in special interest destinations, conferences and events.

In 2012 the Company received special benefits under the new Partnership Agreement with the Vatican Museum and, in 2014, Gray Line selected it as its exclusive tour operator for the city of Rome.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.66*
and up
Skip the Line: Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Palatine Hill Tour
More Info
US$98.79*
and up
Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner
More Info
US$145.99*
and up
Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,113 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 310
    Excellent
  • 191
    Very good
  • 91
    Average
  • 42
    Poor
  • 134
    Terrible
Vatican museums and St Peters

Did a Vatican tour. Can't remember the guides name but she was knowledgeable and interesting. Spoke good English and easy to understand. We skipped the queues for museums and... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 January 2017
thegambler
,
UK
Add Photo Write a Review

1,113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 768: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Found this company to be excellent, staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Did not wait in line for anything just walked past the massive long queue of people. Tour was at a good pace. Would definitely use this company again. Also known as Grayline and I love Rome. They have the pink hop on hop off buses.

Helpful?
Thank Georgina A
Carrani_Tours, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear Georgina A, thank you so much for choosing Carrani Tours and for posting your glowing review here on Tripadvisor! We are really glad you enjoyed your experience with us. The Vatican Museums are so large and full of artistic masterpieces, that a good team and an expert tour guide could really make the difference... and we're pleased to have... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed this 3 hrs guided tour with our guide Marcello Vinciguerra who was very entertaining and knowledgeable! Our tour was in Spanish but he does English & Italian as well. A must do during your visit to Rome!

Helpful?
Thank Nikalamejor
Carrani_Tours, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear Nikalamejor, thank you so much for choosing Carrani Tours and for writing your nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day in the ancient Rome with us. Thank you by our Marcello, too! We hope to see you in Italy again soon. Arrivederci More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Naples & Pompeii - 5 Stars! This tour was great from beginning to end!! Our tour guide Valentina was amazing. Our driver was excellent, although I don't remeber his name. Valentina had all the information needed, she was upbeat and helpful. The local guides were excellent. The entire day exceeded my expectations and was well worth the money. Florence -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krystal D
Carrani_Tours, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear Krystal D, thank you for choosing Carrani Tours and for posting your review here on Tripadvisor. We are incredibly happy you enjoyed so much your experience in Naples and Pompeii with us, and we'll share your satisfaction with our team. We are sorry, instead, you had different expectations for our Florence tour. Please, about the lack of drop off,... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

They stole our money! they do not travel!tour guides unprepared! bad experience! I ruined holiday!!!! my complaint was useless! not returned the money!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank johnM4292JN
Carrani_Tours, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear johnM4292JN, thank you for choosing Carrani Tours and for posting your review here on Tripadvisor. We are sorry your experience didn't meet your expectations. Would you contact us at our email addrress, to explain exactly what happened? You'll find it in the contact page of our website, because we couldn't write it directly on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your... More 

East Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

Our family do not recommend travel with CARRANI. This is a mild review compared to what it would have been if I wrote it after we returned from our trip. Traveled with family Sept 2015, so excited to see extended family after several years. Oh what a bust. We had booked a couple of tours with Carrani and wish we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank onceinalifelove
Carrani_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear onceinalifelove, thank you for choosing Carrani Tours and for taking the time to share your detailed review here on Tripadvisor. We are sorry for any misunderstanding and inconvenience you met on our buses, because our first aim is always to satisfy our guests. So, we are glad you enjoyed your hotel and appreciated our Francesca. We hope to have... More 

UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

Did a Vatican tour. Can't remember the guides name but she was knowledgeable and interesting. Spoke good English and easy to understand. We skipped the queues for museums and basilica. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Thought the group was big (23 of us) but actually didn't matter. Would have liked to go in Pinacoteca gallery.

Helpful?
Thank thegambler
Carrani_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear thegambler, thank you for choosing Carrani Tours and for posting your nice review. We are really glad your enjoyed our tour and staff. Our first aim is always our guests' best experience. We hope to see you again in Italy soon! Arrivederci More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

We spent the day with Rogelio and our local tour guide Connie on an english speaking tour of Pompeii and Naples. We had to confirm our booking the day before and we rang the number on the voucher. The lady who answered only spoke Italian and hung up on me when I asked her if she spoke English. On the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
Carrani_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear Sarah V, thank you for choosing Carrani Tours and for taking the time to write your nice detailed review. We are really glad you liked your experience with us and enjoyed your time in Italy thanks to Togelio and Connie. We'll certainly share with them your so positive impression, because our guests' satisfaction motivates us to go on and... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

We have just completed the Fantasia Italia tour with Tour Manager, Miriam de Regt and found her to be exceptional in every regard- she combined a vibrant personality, great interpersonal skills, and professional organization with a deep knowledge of the Italian People, Landscape, History and Culture. We enjoyed Mirjam's stories, descriptions of the sites and the land and the history,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rona_Michels
Carrani_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear Rona_Michels, thank you so much for choosing us and for sharing such a wonderful review! We are delighted to read you deeply enojed your tour with us and appreciated our brilliant Miriam and Franco. Our goal is always to be both friendly and professional, to ensure our guests the best experience of Italy. We'll certainly share with Miriam and... More 

Madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

I booked with Carrani Tours/Viator and was very disappointed. Perhaps we were just unlucky. We got a terrible inexperienced tour guide with broken english, and he basically ruined our day. I understand people start somewhere...but i dont expect to prearrange our tour, paying top dolor with Viator and then get left to change on their sub contracting a third party... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
Carrani_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear Mary W, thank you for choosing our service and for sharing your review here on Tripadvisor. We are deeply sorry that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. It's the first time we read such a bad note about a guide of ours. Could you send us an email with your name and all the details about your... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

We booked two Carrani Tours. 1. Vatican: We were at the appointed place ten minutes early and we waited 20 minutes before someone showed up. He was in no way visually a Carrani tour guide (ie: no Carrani badge, shirt, hat, banner, lanyard) but he had our names on a small piece of paper. Our tour was good, though almost... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrisland
Carrani_Tours, Public Relations Manager at Carrani Tours, responded to this review

Dear Jerrisland, thank you for choosing Carrani Tours and for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your tour. Guests' satisfaction is our first goal, so we apologize for any inconvenience you've encountered. About subbing out, instead, Carrani Tours produces the tours and then Grayline - I Love Rome meets directly the guests: this... More 

Travellers who viewed Carrani Tours also viewed

 

Been to Carrani Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Carrani Tours and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Carrani Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood