We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
More Info
US$177.78*
and up
Private South Iceland Day Trip from Reykjavik
More Info
US$221.64*
and up
Private Glacier Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik
More Info
US$139.90*
and up
Southern Iceland Small-Group Full-Day Bus Tour from Reykjavik
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Peninsula of volcanic origin.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“light house” (33 reviews)
“the cliff” (77 reviews)
“black sand” (113 reviews)
LOCATION
Vik, Iceland
CONTACT
Website
+354 487 1480
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 916 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We drove up here to see the view, and were not disappointed. Even with the winds that day gusting over 90km/h, it was an amazing view. The lighthouse reminds me of the ones I've seen in other parts of the world.

Thank RaceRider
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

True force of nature revealed when the waves smashed into the boulders. Beautiful far reaching views of the glaciers, Black beach etc in the distance: especially from the light house. Don’t miss it

Thank StAlban123
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a view! What a powerful display of nature, the powers of water and the rough surroundings. Absolutely stunning!

Thank Max Z
Reviewed 1 week ago

Again great spot for photographers! Big rocks and smashing waves + rich bird life - love it. On one side you can see the glacier on the other ocean and on both sides long black sand beach.

Thank AroundTheBusiness
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This has some stunning views but the weather really is treacherous. The winds are very strong and could cause some real damage. One half of the area is only reachable with a 4x4. Cool place but not worth it if weather is really bad

Thank Jonathan M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quite beautiful clash of colours. Orane and green cliffs covered in moss over looking a black sand beach. White crashing waves highlight the magestic columns. Quite beautiful. Only negative was kr600 charge for using the toilet. Ridiculous!

Thank June C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While heading out on your South Coast tour of Iceland, it is well worth a stop and to get out of the car or bus for the wonderful coastal views from here. Even if the weather is not good, the scenery here from both left...More

Thank karenpammy2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the road is rather steep and narrow on the way up, it is well worth it. Beautiful views from the cliff and very nice lighthouse. We went at sundown and the views were still amazing.

Thank Yatzie G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We drove here not knowing what to expect but were blown away. first you have to drive up which can be a bit scary but was actually pretty cool. You can walk up to the lighthouse (you can't go inside), take some pictures and check...More

Thank Anish S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We accidentally stumbled across this gem when we took a drive off the Ring Road. A short drive and a short walk from the Car Park will leave you with beautiful views of black sand beach. It was totally worth it!

Thank brittyb10
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
150 reviews
4.77 km away
Hotel Dyrholaey
306 reviews
5.40 km away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
924 reviews
5.40 km away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
542 reviews
5.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Black Beach Restaurant
287 reviews
2.96 km away
Sudur Vik
1,033 reviews
5.19 km away
The Soup Company
85 reviews
4.74 km away
Halldorskaffi
1,168 reviews
4.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Black Sand Beach
2,887 reviews
3.06 km away
Reynisfjara Beach
996 reviews
2.90 km away
Vik Church
306 reviews
5.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GoodOldSpades
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sunny E | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I also wouldn't advise climbing up there. I've seen plenty of people climbing behind the barriers in various places (including some rocks right over Gulfoss waterfall which was actually almost too scary to watch... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
bettedavis85
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from bettedavis85 |
I am answering my own question.....Was able to use Google translate to find out that the nature reserve at Dyrholaey will be open 24 hours a day starting on 25 June 2017 at 0900.
2
Votes
c0nd0girl
13 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Sarah T | Reviewed this property |
Hmm, I wish I could answer this but we never actually made it up to the top due to our rental car's inability to deal with the rugged terrain/steep incline. I didn't realize there were puffins at this location! 🐧 I hope... More
0
Votes