We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stobo Castle Health Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1721 725300
Website
Description:

Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle...

Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 412 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 295
    Excellent
  • 67
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Excellent

Stayed here for 1 night .Room was great .With lovley views.Pool ,steam room,sauna and hot tub were all great.Our meals were terrific and served by very friendly staff.They had ran... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
duffy65
,
scotland
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 411: English reviews
scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 1 night .Room was great .With lovley views.Pool ,steam room,sauna and hot tub were all great.Our meals were terrific and served by very friendly staff.They had ran out of Creme brûlée but manage to find one as not to disappoint and the tiramisu was the best I've ever tasted. A walk to the Japanese gardens is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank duffy65
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my third visit to Stobo and generally I have been a fan, that said on this visit I feel a number of aspects fell short. This is not a cheap spa by any means and when spending over £500 each for two nights plus 2 treatments you do expect a few standards. The first is communication. We arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jojoredgal
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stobo on tripadvisor. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed the overall experience, however I must apologise for the two issues you raised which understandably took the shine off your stay. We have been particularly busy recently however that's no excuse for the delay in the... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight here (having done so 10 years ago), as it breaks our journey back to England. Felt at home immediately. Comfy bed, courteous staff and great amenities. It's had a bit of a facelift too.

Helpful?
Thank Helsibel
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the castle again after 10 years and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed seeing all the changes we have made during this time. Hopefully, it won't be so long until we see you again! Kind regards, More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A lovely relaxing place, great therapists and food but spoilt on checkout by finding out there's a surcharge £40 for staying a sat night after already paying £400 for our deluxe twin room and then saying u get a courtesy car wash and going out to discover my car was still dirty. When I went to reception I was told... More 

Helpful?
Thank Opalcallin
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your Stobo experience and your kind comments regarding the therapists and food. As with many other hospitality establishments, there is a surcharge for staying on a Saturday night - £25pp, not £40, and the total cost of £220pp, including dinner, breakfast, lunch and use of the spa facilities, was stated... More 

Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an overnight stay here with my Mum and everything was absolutely perfect. The staff, treatments, food and facilities are all excellent. Lots of lovely touches and thoughtful details. Could not have asked for anything to be any better. Our stay was bliss - thank you Stobo!!

Helpful?
Thank Gill_B_1985
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You're very welcome! We do aim for perfection so I was pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the Stobo experience. Hope to have the pleasure of your company on a future occasion. Best wishes, More 

Lochgilphead
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I treated my partner to a well earned chill out and where better than Stobo Castle Spa. We booked an overnight stay which included evening meal, breakfast and following day lunch. The Spa and accommodation were lovely and the treatments offered were varied. The meals were very good and served well by the staff. It is definitely a Ladies chill... More 

Helpful?
Thank AllanMacD369
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Huge thanks for your recommendation, following your overnight stay with your partner. We have invested heavily in catering for the increase in demand for couples facilities and, in truth, the only additional facilities available to ladies are the aromatic steam room and laconium. Please accept my apologies for any lapse in standards with regard to your booking confirmation... More 

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the privilege of staying here for one night in the cashmere suite,it was out of this world absolute luxury,the room is tastefully furnished ,it has a luxurious bathroom and the bedroom has two large double beds ,you have your own little private terrace with views over the Scottish countryside ,the castle itself is an impressive building with lovely gardens... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was an absolute pleasure to read all your lovely comments, following your overnight stay in the Cashmere Suite - it really is special! I was so pleased to hear you found the experience relaxing and hopefully you left us feeling fully revitalised. Best wishes, More 

Hawick
Level Contributor
370 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband took advantage of this great offer, use of the facilities for £34 per head. The pool is 25 m long and superb for proper swimming or bobbing about. The saunas, steam room, outdoor hot tubs are all spotlessly clean and well kept. We felt suitably relaxed and refreshed after our few hours chill out time.

Helpful?
Thank Hassendeanbandb
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, So pleased to hear you enjoyed your "Evening Escape" at Stobo and left us feeling revitalised! Hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just completed a spa day with my mum for her 60th. Perfect chill out day, the treatments were amazing. (Thanks Amy and Emma for mine and Colin (sorry can't remember the girls name who did mums foot) No complains everything we needed and wanted. Off to start a stobo fund for an overnight trip next time. Outdoor hot tubs in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leona D
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your lovely comments are very much appreciated, particularly your high praise of the therapists who carried out your treatments - I'm sure they will be delighted to read your review! Looking forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time around. Best wishes, More 

Moffat, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well worth going for a real treat that is both healthy and relaxing. I attended a stretch class, then into the pool for a swim and aquaribics class. From then on I chose to enjoy the poolside sauna and women's only steam rooms of various temperatures, and a final shower using lovely products provided. Feeling very relaxed I lay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moffatmum
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for reviewing your Morning Chill Out at Stobo Castle. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the spa facilities & lunch, and left us feeling revitalised! Hope to see you again, whenever the time is right for you. Kind regards More 

Travellers who viewed Stobo Castle Health Spa also viewed

 

Been to Stobo Castle Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Stobo Castle Health Spa and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle Health Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?