We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
83
All photos (83)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good31%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“ancestral home”(18 reviews)
“guided tour”(21 reviews)
About
Ancestral home of George Washington?s family is a fine example of a manor house and garden at the time of Shakespeare.
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Sulgrave Manor | Sulgrave, Banbury OX17 2SD, England
Website
+44 1295 760205
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Banbury
from US$108.70
More Info
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
100
50
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
100
50
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washington family ancestral home guided tour great grandfather well worth a visit serves lovely food dressed in period costume lots of interesting facts uneven floors ask questions gift shop beautiful building the link modern cafe interesting place cafe on site light lunch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

I wanted to see Sulgrave Manor during our trip to England in November but found it would be closed after the end of September. So I emailed them asking about a private tour. Thea was very helpful and arranged a tour for us, despite scheduled...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JL_2099
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This was a delightful manor to explore. The Manor was steeped in history and the rooms splendid. The cakes were delicious

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank chris504019
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Got here on a stereotypically foggy, rainy English morning, and it was worth the drive down narrow country lanes to get here. Cut e gift shop, but the tour - Wow! The docents were knowledgable. The period information, the detail about Washington ancestors, and some...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Scott Y
SulgraveM, General Manager at Sulgrave Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you had an interesting tour and found the stories of Sulgrave Manor fascinating.

Reviewed 25 September 2018

Staff here were friendly and very informative. The whole visit was extremely interesting. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ldjones186338
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Sulgrave is a recreation rather than a restoration and the link with George Washington is somewhat tenuous; the closest relative to have lived there was a great grandfather. It has been recreated, bringing in things from other houses, to resemble a typical Manor House of...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank UKHec
Sulgrave M, General Manager at Sulgrave Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review Sulgrave Manor and thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewed 1 September 2018

Wife and I decided to visit here on our way home from Staffordshire to Surrey. We are very glad we decided to do so. Sulgrave Manor is delightful; small, easily manageable, and very strong on the George Washington history. It was lovely to simply walk...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 641rogerg
Sulgrave M, General Manager at Sulgrave Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear your comments and will pass them on to our trusty team of staff and volunteers. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future. Best wishes Jo

Reviewed 1 September 2018

Despite the rain, I took my visitors to Sulgrave Manor. The gardens were looking lovely, and inside, out of the rain, was very interesting and had fun dressing up and taking photos. There were officials we could ask questions regarding the paintings, the rooms, etc....More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sue F
Sulgrave M, General Manager at Sulgrave Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Sue, many thanks for taking the time to review us and we are so pleased that you and your guests has a lovely time despite the inclement weather. Best wishes Jo

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We are members of HHA and were in the Banbury area and decided to visit. Interesting history, gardens disappointing but we have had a very hot summer so they are struggling. Manor interesting and we had lunch in the tea rooms, sandwiches reasonably priced and...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Cookiescot
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We visited during half term and were surprised at how quiet the place was. We were often the only ones in the rooms. The gardens are beautiful with different areas to explore. The displays in the house are well thought out, with useful information boards...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Catherine M
Sulgrave M, General Manager at Sulgrave Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Many thanks for your review and for the positive feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed our newly implemented interpretation within the Manor. Fear not, our back of house staff assist with the tea room when we are busy with group tours and busier days...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Little bit pricier than we expected for the size of the place, however, it's a quaint house and lovely gardens. The tearoom serves lovely food, although it took 20 minutes for our order to get to us (and we were only one of three couples...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jomatthews123
Sulgrave M, Manager at Sulgrave Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you for your review about your visit. We’re glad that you enjoyed the Manor House and garden and we will pass on your feedback to the Tea Room caterers.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
The Crown Hotel
417 reviews
9.06 km away
Premier Inn Silverstone
733 reviews
9.42 km away
The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel
58 reviews
9.69 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
703 reviews
9.93 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 219 nearby restaurants
The Star Inn
94 reviews
.23 km away
Forge Coffee
9 reviews
2.20 km away
The Crown Inn
241 reviews
3.15 km away
The Fat Landlord
42 reviews
3.41 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 67 nearby attractions
Tanks-Alot
282 reviews
3.16 km away
Canons Ashby
559 reviews
5.31 km away
Arkadia Alpacas - Great Ground Farm
23 reviews
7.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
archersfan2014
30 November 2017|
Answer
Response from AlisonR2191 | Property representative |
We aren't open on Saturday 16th, but we are open on Sunday 17th December for our Santa's Grotto and Crafty Christmas. Please see our website for details.
0
Votes