We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Features Animals
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Review Highlights
A good family afternoon out.

We all enjoyed the butterflies adults included, the chap at the reception was helpful Combined with... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Charles J
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Lovely but short day out

Took my two year old & 6 month old they loved the butterflies, but it was very small and after... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Magor, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 380 reviews
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good35%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We all enjoyed the butterflies adults included, the chap at the reception was helpful Combined with visiting the adjacent maze this was all worth the effort and made for a decent fun family afternoon out. Do beware and comply with the parking requirements here the...More

Thank Charles J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my two year old & 6 month old they loved the butterflies, but it was very small and after about 20 minutes we had already walked around 2 or 3 times and we were done! Was a lovely idea just needs a little more...More

Thank hooksie89
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter had long wanted to take the children to this attraction. Being a fair drive from Cardiff we would have expected a little more for the children. Not that they complained as they enjoyed the mini golf and the maze. The butterfly experience was...More

Thank Rashaaqa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

£100 parking fine for an ice cream. No obvious signs about camera clocking you in and out so as family were at car eating ice creams after the maze and golf they left slightly after the 4 hours paid for. If a warden had arrived...More

1  Thank Andy R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely experience with the butterfly's flying upon you. Our children loved the whole experience, even though very hot inside.

1  Thank uksayhello
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I visited the butterfly park as soon as it was open in the morning, the information sheet we were given was very useful, the staff were very friendly and helpful answering all our questions , the butterflies them selves were beautiful we...More

1  Thank Derneck
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little find enjoyed by all well worth a visit they have some stunning butterflies. You really do get up close my daughter loved looking closely at them through the magnifier glass given at the start

Thank Charlotte1231
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the butterfly zoo today. We bought the joint ticket for the maze, butterfly zoo and crazy golf. This made it better value for money. The zoo is quite small really. If you're expecting an hour out then you'll be disappointed. Think we lasted 20...More

Thank Lynnie1978
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked in advance to save on cost as it is pretty expensive for a family of 4. On arrival they didn't have a record of us booking online and said we would have to pay full price. Didn't even offer to discount for us as...More

1  Thank danzy100
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took granddaughter to the Butterfly Zoo for an afternoon trip. We only stayed in the zoo for approximately 20 minutes, which is all the time it took to see the butterflies and read the factsheets. Definitely won't be visiting this so-called attraction again.

1  Thank ddhwodys
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
56 reviews
.58 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
293 reviews
1.08 km away
The Crown Whitchurch
5 reviews
.37 km away
The Old Court Hotel Restaurant
245 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
13 reviews
.74 km away
Canoe the Wye
393 reviews
.76 km away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
223 reviews
.26 km away
Wye Canoes Ltd
108 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from wiilhunting | Reviewed this property |
DecisionSuccessful Assessor NameSophie Taylor Assessor summary of operator case The operator has issued the Parking Charge Notice (PCN) as the appellant has failed to purchase sufficient parking time to cover the period of... More
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HeyesBros | Property representative |
Dogs are unfortunately not allowed in any of the enclosures, the butterfly zoo included due to the zoo licensing laws, which apply to our zoo. Dogs, however, are welcome on the grounds and there is a nice riverside walk to... More
Sue C
25 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from cherhowells | Reviewed this property |
yes there are toilets and a cafe , also two pubs that serve teas ,coffees and meals with gardens within walking distance