Gauntlet Birds of Prey

Gauntlet Birds of Prey, Knutsford: Hours, Address, Gauntlet Birds of Prey Reviews: 5/5

Gauntlet Birds of Prey
5
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Gauntlet Birds of Prey – Eagle & Vulture Park in Knutsford, Cheshire is home to over 180 birds from 50 different species. At the park you’ll see a wide range of birds from Eagles, Hawks and Falcons to Vultures, Kites and Owls. We also have more unusual species such as Caracaras, Red-legged Seriemas, Marabou Storks, and Pelicans. The park is also home to Meerkats, Goats and Polecats. Each day at the park there are two flying displays – in these shows we discuss conservation, the habits of the birds, etc. There is a ‘Vulture Restaurant Talk’ where we chat about vultures in the wild and a ‘Meet and Greet’ session where you may meet our smelliest, cutest or largest feathered or furry friends. Join us for a fantastic day out! PLEASE NOTE: The park’s opening times vary throughout the year, please check our website for dates and times: https://gauntletbirdsofprey.co.uk/plan-your-visit/#opening_times
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

5.0
587 reviews
Excellent
501
Very good
69
Average
7
Poor
3
Terrible
7

Les G
1 contribution
A great day any time of the year.
Nov 2021
Every time we visit Gauntlet Birds of Prey we are blown away by the amount of species they have at the park. The Vulture talk, meet and greet are very interesting and we love the flying show as it’s a wonderful way to see the birds fly as they would in the wild. The staff are friendly and so passionate. We have visited many times and at different times of year.

We were lucky enough to be gifted an Owls Experience in early Summer – which was amazing. We would highly recommend it.

The weather was great today too, despite it being mid November. It’s well worth a visit and we will return!
Written 21 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SmittenMummy
West Midlands, UK22 contributions
Good fun - but not what it once was
Nov 2021 • Family
We visited Gauntlet today after being blown away a couple of years ago, when our son had a hands-on experience there for his birthday. We were really looking forward to returning, and couldn't wait for the 3pm show, which was amazing when we visited previously.

We had a nice time looking around the site and going to the earlier shows. The owners and staff clearly love their jobs and were very inspiring. The birds are beautiful and obviously very well looked after - they all put on a good performance.

I have to say we were so disappointed by the final show though, and it was a bit gutting. We'd brought relatives with us and had bigged up the performance, but it fell very flat. Previously it had been set to music, with lots of birds flying together - it was actually quite emotional to watch! Today it was nice enough - but nothing spectacular. There was no music, and only a handful of birds. I understand they need to rest during the winter but this should be explained on the website if it's going to be so markedly different to what happens at other times of the year.

We did have a lovely day, and were very impressed with the passion that the staff clearly have for the work they do. The birds were absolutely beautiful to look at and watch in flight. But it was a real shame that the grand finale didn't live up to previous experiences.
Written 20 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Simon Caulfield-Jones
3 contributions
Waste of money and time
Sep 2021 • Family
We took our niece there and it was brilliant - we had nothing but good things to say about the experience.

We decided to try and take our other younger niece here a couple of years later and the business has clearly changed.

We paid online as we did last time and we haven’t received a voucher - we rang them and got told they don’t send a voucher anymore and we should check our junk folder on our email. We did this and still nothing - we rang back and got to told to email them - we did this and still no response.

The bird experience itself was great when we did it and they clearly have passion for that side of the business - but the company is not set up for dealing with the commercial side of their business so beware of handing over money as it could fall into a black hole.

Great product just a really immature business. Photos are from our first experience which as great.
Written 27 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Simon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the experience and visit that you had with us. However you have raised some points that I would like to address. I would like to start off by saying as a small family run business, We have not changed only developed, whether that be in the park itself or the commercial side of, for example our new website. Within this new website, When purchasing a voucher, the system will give you a tick box option for a hardcopy printed voucher to be sent out to you, In your case this box was not ticked therefore a printed voucher was not sent out by one of the team. We are a small family run business that prides ourselves on the experience our visitors receive when they walk through the door whether it be just a day visit or one of our animal experiences. As I'm sure you can appreciate this year has not been easy, and still to this present time, our team work hard to get through the backlog that has been created through the pandemic, because of this we have been experiencing some problems with our emails going into clients spam mail or being deleted. As I'm sure you can appreciate we are just as frustrated as you, however our team continues to make sure that everybody gets there experiences booked in, so can therefore assure you that nothing slips into any blackhole. As a small family run business and team, a negative review is something that massively effects us, especially when we feel that unfair comments have been made. However we would like to get this experience booked in so your niece can come along and have a fantastic hands-on experience with our incredible bird team. Kind Regards, Daisy
Written 1 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

LindaJA
Isle of Skye, UK33 contributions
Fantastic
Oct 2021 • Family
Fantastic place run by lovely people who clearly care deeply for their birds. From children to OAPS … this is a place for all ashes. However, if you want to encourage young people to think about conservation then this is a great way of encouraging it. The display at the end includes dozens of birds flying at the same time, accompanied by music and was both beautiful and moving. We can thoroughly recommend!
Written 26 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we’re so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Written 22 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Natters
3 contributions
Absolutely fantastic experience
Oct 2021 • Family
First visit. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, learnt a lot about the birds. Very passionate, knowledgeable and personable staff. Loved the fact its family run.
Written 11 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lancashire_Freckle
Manchester86 contributions
Good few hours
Sep 2021
Really enjoyed our visit here, the amount of birds is incredible and like everyone says they all look very well cared for. Some of the cages look a bit worse for wear and the play area too, but after a tough 18 months where I guess all monies has been invested in the birds, I can understand why. Definitely, only a couple of hours needed to visit and you must stay for the 3pm show, but my 3-year-old was very scared, so maybe 4/5 years and older.
Written 28 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

REDS81
Yorkshire, UK12 contributions
Amazing place - would definitely recommend and will return if we’re ever close by again
Sep 2021 • Family
Absolutely amazing afternoon and really informative. You could rush round in ten minutes but we watched the first two shows, then we popped out for lunch and came back for the other two shows. You can see the love the staff have for the birds and We now have a new found live for vultures.
Written 10 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JacquiDarling
Bolton, UK6 contributions
Much better than i could have imagined
Aug 2021 • Couples
Absolutely wasn’t expecting to have the most fabulous day out. Arrived and greeted by a very enthusiastic member of staff whose passion for the business was palpable. Walked around several enclosure and thought i had exhausted all there was to see until i walked into a different area. Maribou Storks were huge. My joy at seeing a Bateleur and the Secretary Bird was very vocal. The eagles, vultures and owls are amazing. The vulture feeding, flying display, meet and greet and final flying displays were excellent and staff are well informed. Staff are mindful of conservation and animal poaching and are evangelical about good causes. We couldn’t touch birds (during the shows) due to Covid rules but staff were good at walking around so everyone got to see these birds. Part of me wants larger spaces for these birds and hope the Group who owns it improves and invests into this amazing venue. It really does deserve a higher profile. Finally to see and hear the final flying display was one of the best things i have ever seen. The size of Maribou Storks and Pelicans just flying with other Storks and Red Kites was a moment i will never forget. Will return to support this amazing venue/experience
Would love a Q&A session as i had lots if questions.
A number of birds are rescue birds too so well done for rehabilitating these magnificent creatures.
Written 1 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Gauntlet, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Feel free to grab any member of staff on your next visit who will be more than happy to answer all your questions! We look forward to seeing you again soon, Gauntlet
Written 5 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Holidayssssss123
Manchester, UK122 contributions
Amazing day!
Aug 2021 • Family
Visited yesterday as a group 2 adults, a 15 year old, 7, 6 and 4 year old twins. We all had a great day. We booked online, entrance was easy, just show your receipt for payment and you are in. Kids adored the climbing frame fort, walked round all the birds, we were all fascinated by them. They all looked well cared for and as happy as a bird can look! The shows were all amazing, the passion that the staff show is fantastic, you can tell they all adore their jobs and thrive on being with their babies. The toilets were lovely and clean. Bought some lunch here, not much choice for sandwiches but the kids managed on dairylea dippers and fridge raiders. We did go to the cafe next door for something no to eat but the manager barked across the cafe he had no space for half hour - it’s fine rather not eat here if you can’t remember your manners! All in all a great day and can’t wait to return.
Written 31 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Gauntlet, we're happy to hear that you all enjoyed your visit! We're sorry that on your visit you found the sandwich choice to be limited. We've had a super busy summer and some days we were waiting for a delivery as the sandwiches were proving very popular! We're sorry to hear about the next door cafe experience, however we would just life to make others aware that this cafe is not part of the Gauntlet centre. We look forward to seeing you all again soon! Gauntlet
Written 5 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ajmb
1 contribution
Amazing, informative, eye opening
Aug 2021 • Family
Absolutely amazing, at first I was taken back as I was uninformed and hadn’t yet seen how happy and comfortable and looked after these birds were later on in the shows. Happy to return back to their enclosure after given free reign entirely - very clever and well trained. All looked healthy, happy, and again the show were very informative taught me a lot I didn’t know. Would definitely recommend and would definitely return. Amazing!!
Written 25 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Gauntlet. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Yes the birds happily return to their enclosure after their flying displays, it's a partnership between the birds and us, we're glad you got to see this during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Gauntlet
Written 5 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 585
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing