We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandworld Sculpture Park

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Lodmoor Country Park Preston Beach Road | Lodmoor Country Park, Weymouth DT4 7SX, England
Phone Number: +44 7411 387529
Website
Today
10:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:30 - 17:00
Description:

Weymouth Sand Sculpture Festival aka Sandworld is a seasonal attraction set...

Weymouth Sand Sculpture Festival aka Sandworld is a seasonal attraction set within Lodmoor Country Park, Weymouth - next door to the SeaLife Centre, and next to a large car and coach park. Sandworld is an all weather attraction created by local artists to showcase the talents of International and UK Sand Sculptors undercover in a huge marquee. There is a large covered sand pit. Visitors are encouraged to "have a go" at sandsculpting having been inspired by what they have seen. It is sometimes possible to engage with artists as they work on new pieces which are added to the site from time to time, and always possible to relax with a drink, snack or icecream at the on site cafe. Activities such as filling sand bottles are available at extra cost, and a gift shop completes the experience where you can buy a postcard of your favourite sculpture or a souvenier of your visit. The attraction has a link to Weymouths long tradition of Sand Sculpting, as Mark Anderson - co-founder of Sandworld - is the grandson of Fred Darrington, who began sculpting on Weymouth beach back in the 1920's. Mark is an International Master in his own right, and can often be found in the sandpit at Sandworld helping aspiring sculptors - young and old - to engage in this most therapeutic of activities. Length of visit times varies widely depending on the individual or groups' level of interest and/or engagement with the art, and of course the weather (although most of the exhibits are undercover, a visit in November will not be the same as a visit in August). Some visitors stay 10 minutes, some stay all day, either way is cool. All are welcome at Sandworld - please come and see us!

Open between Easter and Halloween

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 599 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 310
    Excellent
  • 179
    Very good
  • 72
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
David Attenborough theme

All the family enjoyed the theme of this year. Didn't stay long as party of young children there not being supervised by parents so ran amuck near the sculptures. Still as a cheap... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
tink10000
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 590: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All the family enjoyed the theme of this year. Didn't stay long as party of young children there not being supervised by parents so ran amuck near the sculptures. Still as a cheap extra it's worth the money to see the effort that bas been put in :)

Helpful?
Thank tink10000
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Took our 3 year old little girl here (who was free by the way) and she really did enjoy it! Had a hard time getting her to leave to be honest! She loved having a go at sculpting and making a colourful sand necklace and also really enjoyed seeing the amazing sculptures. Although you probably wouldn't spend more than an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ley R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I just wanted somewhere to pop in on our way home after a family week in Dorset. Like some of the other reviews say it is lovely but really doesn't take long to go around so £18 seemed quite a lot. The sculptures are fantastic and the boards showing past sculptures are interesting but the rest of the place needs... More 

Helpful?
Thank funshine1234
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

For a budget attraction that is no more than two hours this works really well. My 15 year old and 10 year old both had great fun filling a sand figure after viewing all of the sculptures. Can only grow and get better with time! A great little attraction highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

One of the VERY best value things to do in Weymouth, the staff were kind, caring and very helpful. Our children (4,11 and 16) ALL loved this, as did we all. The exhibition of sand sculptures are amazing, the cafe is informal and the activities are really good fun. Giving our children the chance to actually try sand sculpture for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jesterfellow
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

a bit pricey for the amount you see but all the sculptures are very well made just a shame some of them are breaking up, nice coffee & tea cake was very welcome although pricey, access very easy for both wheelchair & pushchair

Helpful?
Thank whiterabbit2754
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

I really enjoyed Sandworld because the sculptures had lots of details and it told you who made them and something about the subject. I liked reading about how people got into sand sculpture. My favourite sculpture was the elephant one. I liked reading about the background and i thought the sculpture was beautiful and the detail was phenomenal. I didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickythomas-davies
Sandworld, Owner at Sandworld Sculpture Park, responded to this review

Thankyou Cedar, good job! Do you know, it's not just kids who grab the sand, it's adults too, but we understand that it happens because people are so fascinated, and cannot believe it is just sand! Keep up the good work with the reviews, and come see us again! More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

After visiting sealife centre we saw Sandworld which is next door... as it had been recommended by a friend we popped in. Some might consider it a tad expensive but you are seeing works of art mind so it's not bad pricing really. Me & my fiancé really enjoyed looking at these brilliant sculptures & doing the little quiz. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jentaria
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

This was our second visit to Sandworld and again we were not disappointed. The sculptures were amazing and completely different from our visit a couple of years ago. The staff were most helpful and courteous and had so much knowledge about the making of the displays and the artist involved – they come from all over the world to create... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilary T
Sandworld, Owner at Sandworld Sculpture Park, responded to this review

Thankyou for visiting us again and for the positive review. Each year we reinvest as much as we can afford into new sculptures, bringing some very talented people to Weymouth, and they love coming here. Happy sculptors make great sculptures - it's great that you appreciate their talent - thanks again. More 

Fressingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Having seen adverts for sandworld and read about the attraction online we were left extremely disappointed and rather cheated . We thought this might be a few hours out to help keep our little boy entertained but after paying just over £7 each to get in we had finished within 5 minutes. Don't get me wrong the sand carvings were... More 

Helpful?
Thank eavesw3
Sandworld, Owner at Sandworld Sculpture Park, responded to this review

Cheated? Why? We think our descriptions are pretty good, and do not seek to raise peoples expectations to set them up for a disappointment, why would we? Admission does not cost anyone over £7, none of our "tents" are "bolted together" and we do not have any sand castles. You really would struggle to get around in 5 minutes, unless... More 

Travellers who viewed Sandworld Sculpture Park also viewed

 

Been to Sandworld Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandworld Sculpture Park and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
3 months ago
charfield
4 months ago
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
greenville
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sandworld Sculpture Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?