We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Ghost Walk

St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
+44 1592 874449
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great night of stories and fun

Having been on this ghost walk a few years back it was great to revisit and hear the new stories... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Morag70
i have been a few times and all the stories keep you gripped.

Really good night out in the old town of Stirling. the stories keep you gripped and really get the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kenney R
,
Stirling, United Kingdom
Read all 277 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm, Tuesday-to-Saturday in July and August, each year, and at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays from September-to-June - all tours meeting at the gates of the Old Town Jail / SYHA Hostel in St John Street, Stirling. Private bookings are available throughout the year - and a 10% discount offered to patrons of local hotels, hostels and B&Bs.Visit our website or Facebook for details and updates.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“jock rankin” (18 reviews)
“david kinnaird” (12 reviews)
LOCATION
St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1592 874449
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been on this ghost walk a few years back it was great to revisit and hear the new stories and take part in the fun of Stirlings best ghost walk. A must if your visiting the area or a local looking to do something...More

Thank Morag70
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Morag. Hope to see you again, soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really good night out in the old town of Stirling. the stories keep you gripped and really get the mind racing when standing in the darkness in the local graveyard.

Thank Kenney R
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Kenney. I'm glad to say we have a great many patrons who come back to see us regularly - an indication, I hope, that we're doing something right!

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Went here for something different to do on our family weekend absolutely enjoyed the craic ,the tour guide was fantastic think his name was jock dressed for the role he was his costume was from years ago really felt we were back in time from...More

Thank brenda1963xx
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you, Brenda. Glad you enjoyed The Hangman's tall tales.

Reviewed 6 November 2017

we have done this walk a few times and it just gets better , Jock ranking , your host for the evening is scary funny and satirical all a the same time. His tales are very informative and he obviously has an amazing knowledge of...More

Thank phil a
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you, Phil. Always good to see familiar faces. It is - I hope - a sign that The Hangman is doing something right, that so many people come back time and time again.

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Enjoyed the SGW last night on a lovely but chilly November evening with a 'supermoon', clear skies & stars out and some fireworks going off in the background. Small group, the guide was superb, very interesting and knowledgeable chap, my brother and his wife who...More

Thank harveyhalloway
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you, Harvey. Glad you enjoyed the show. Off-season the GhostWalk is a one-man show - and it's rather difficult for me to jump out on myself!

Reviewed 1 November 2017

Have meant to go on this ghost walk for years, but finally made it on Halloween 2017, and it was most definitely worth the wait! The Hangman is fantastic - from his costume to his acting, to his wonderful way with the audience, it was...More

1  Thank Broons2012
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you, Broons2012! A wee bit of banter from the audiences is not a bad thing, but too much can be a little distracting for the group as a whole - thankfully, as you noticed, The Hangman has a few tricks up his spectral sleeve...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

We had a superb time on 31st Oct 9.30pm at Stirling Castle with Jock the Hangman Ghost tour, it lasted 75 mins and well worth the very reasonable cost. Lots of great tales from the Hangman and he involved the group in his story telling...More

1  Thank FMW64
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for reviewing the show, FMW64! Hallowe'en is always fun on the GhostWalk, and we get a great mix of people, which adds (I hope) to the uniqueness of the performance. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We took part in one of the hangmans halloween weekend ghost walks. Fully booked with around 35 people, many of whom were kids, I was a bit sceptical as to how well it would go. I needn't have worried. The hangman commands everyones attention and...More

3  Thank EssTee85
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Many thanks, Ess. Our Hallowe'en week shows are always very popular, but a good natured audience is a guarantee of a fun tour. Glad you enjoyed the show!

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Took this ghost tour with my husband and 12 year old son - was not disappointed! For a very reasonable price we thoroughly enjoyed an evening's entertainment. The guide had the crowd hanging on his every word, right from the word go. Highly recommended!

1  Thank Alison W
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you, Alison. We pride ourselves on being able to engage with audiences of all ages - with stories ranging from the scary to the downright silly. All part of Stirling's weird and wonderful cultural currency!

Reviewed 22 October 2017

went here tonight(Saturday)with my husband and son,(who is autistic)he loved every minute of it,what a crackin tour,the happy hangman is amazing,so informative and very very funny. well worth the money.

1  Thank Hyacinth B
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

You are all most welcome. It was a really nice group on Saturday.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Stirling
The Portcullis Hotel
188 reviews
.15 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,120 reviews
.23 km away
Hotel Colessio
770 reviews
.27 km away
Allan's Guest House
1 review
.28 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hermann's
587 reviews
.04 km away
The Smithy
210 reviews
.18 km away
Portcullis
553 reviews
.15 km away
Darnley Coffee House
245 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stirling Castle
6,813 reviews
.40 km away
The Old Town Jail
307 reviews
.07 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
322 reviews
.14 km away
Argyll's Lodging
267 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Melanie M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
£6 for adults, £4 for Kids, Students or Seniors
0
Votes
allison f
1 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
We start at the gates of the Old Town Jail, St John Street, Stirling (next to the SYHA Youth Hostel), at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays - tickets available from 7.45pm. Booking in advance is usually unnecessary - except for... More
2
Votes
Jake H
17 September 2015|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Hello, Jacob - I think I've already responded to your e-mails. TripAdvisor takes a day or so to flag PMs like this one. Just wantewd you to know I wasn't ignoring the message.
0
Votes